j?<
Digitized by the Internet Archive
in 2007 with funding from
Microsoft Corporation
http://www.archive.org/details/cornwallOOcoxjiala
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Other Volumes in this Series also now ready.
NORFOLK (2 Volumes, sold separately, 3s.
net each).
By J. Charles Cox, LL.D., F.S.A.
(Second Edition, Revised and Extended.)
SURREY.
By J. E. Morris, B.A.
ISLE OF WIGHT.
By J. Charles Cox, LL.D., F.S.A.
CAMBRIDGESHIRE and THE ISLE OF
ELY.
By C. H. Evelyn-White, F.S.A.
In Preparation
SUFFOLK (2 Volumes, sold separately).
By T. Hugh Bryant.
SUSSEX (2 Volumes, sold separately).
By P. M. Johnston, F.R.I.B.A., F.S.A.
Foolscap Svo, cloth, 2s. 6d. net per vol.
Bedfordshire, Devonshire, Kent, Lincolnshire,
Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxford'
shire, Wiltshire, and other Counties are in course
of arrangement.
.SOUTH PORCH, ST. MYl.OK
■ COUNTY JR3
ggj CHURCHES Eg
CORNWALL
BY
J. CHARLES CQX, LL.D., F.S.A.
Author of " Sanctuaries and Sanctuary Seekers of Mediaeval England,"
" Churches of Derbyshire " (4 Vols.), " English Church Furniture,"
"Royal Forests of England," " How to Write the History of
a Parish " (5th Edition), " Parish Registers of England,"
"Norfolk Churches " (2 Vols.), " Isle of Wight
Churches," Etc. Etc.
WITH NUMEROUS ILLUSTRATIONS
LONDON
GEORGE ALLEN & COMPANY, LTD.
RUSKIN HOUSE
3*
[All rights reserved]
Printed by Ballantvnb, Hanson <Jt» Co.
At the Ballantyne Press, Edinburgh
TO MY OLD FRIEND
GEORGE METFORD PARSONS,
FOR SEVENTEEN YEARS VICAR OF ST. CRANTOCK,
THESE PAGES ARE (WITHOUT PERMISSION)
CORDIALLY DEDICATED
AS A TRIFLING TOKEN OF THE DEBT DUE TO HIM
FROM ALL REVERENT CHURCHMEN
FOR HAVING RESCUED THE ANCIENT HISTORICAL CHURCH
OF ST. CRANTOCK FROM A STATE OF GRIEVOUS AND
MELANCHOLY DECAY, MAKING IT ONCE MORE
MEET FOR THE WORSHIP OF THE
MOST HIGH
PREFACE
THE object of the series of "County Churches,"
to which this little volume belongs, is to produce in
a handy and condensed form an accurate outline
account of the old parish churches of England, in
the hope that they may serve as a help to church-
loving visitors, and also prove of some trifling
service to resident churchmen.
So far as Cornwall is concerned, I have under-
taken this task with no little diffidence, for the
Duchy has ever been celebrated, far above all other
English counties, not only for its sturdy independ-
ence of character, but also, in its intense local
patriotism, for a somewhat contemptuous estimate
as to the worth of mere intruders from the shires.
These traits, I know full well, it still retains, though
mellowed by age, and with angles rounded off by
more frequent contact with appreciative visitors.
I also know full well how fortunate Cornwall has
been, from the days of Elizabeth down to the present
year of Grace, in the possession of men of letters
of her own kith and kin, especially of those who have
loved to write of her own local features so vividly
displayed both in nature and art, and which are for
the most part in striking contrast to the rest of the
kingdom.
viii PREFACE
Through force of circumstances, however, I can-
not look upon myself as a stranger in Cornwall.
My father's first exercise of his ministry was as
curate-in-charge of St. Sennen and St. Levan,
which were then (the " twenties " of last century)
subservient to the Deanery of St. Buryan. From
my earliest days I was accustomed to hear praises
of the stern beauty of Cornish cliff scenery, and
admiration of her sturdy fisher-folk. At a much
later period, I was strongly pressed to begin my
own ministry in the same county, and from the
"sixties" of last century up to 191 1, I have been a
frequent and keenly appreciative visitor to different
parts of Cornwall.
As to the old churches, I know something per-
sonally of them all, and many have been repeatedly
visited. In the very few cases where I have not
been able to see the churches since 1900, I have
depended as to recent changes, restorations, or
obliterations on the printed or written accounts of
others. With all the care that has been taken,
I am uncomfortably conscious that these pages are
not free from mistakes and oversights. The know-
ledge of my own previous books, and my experience,
of nearly forty years standing, as a reviewer of the
books of others, leads me to expect at least some
overlooked errors of printer or author, and most
probably of both. For any corrections I shall be
sincerely grateful.
The worst of writing one of these handy guides
PREFACE ix
to churches is the great amount of condensation
that is necessary to keep the book within due
limits. It is positively painful to write about
churches, brimful of interest, after the model of
a telegram ; but the strictest abridgment is essential
if the scheme of these books and their modest price
are to be maintained. It is, too, pleasanter to read
"thirteenth century" rather than " 13th cent.," but
the latter style and its equivalents have been adopted
on the score of brevity. For the like reason, the
cardinal points are indicated by initials, and
abbreviations are adopted for the architectural
terms Norman, Early English, Decorated, and
Perpendicular. For my own part I should have
much preferred, as in the case of some other books
that I have written, to drop altogether the two last
of these terms, for there is no doubt that they are
singularly infelicitous and misleading; but I have
yielded to the advice of several experienced friends.
By Early English, roughly speaking, I mean work
of the reigns of John and Henry III.; by Decorated,
work of the first three Edwards ; and by Per-
pendicular, work from Richard II. to Henry VIII.
inclusive.
One other abbreviation must be explained.
R.I.C., in notes or text, refers to the invalu-
able Journals of the Royal Institute of Cornwall.
The considerable store of topographical works
dealing with the Duchy, both ancient and modern
(such as those of Carew, Borlase, Polwhele, Lysons,
x PREFACE
Gilbert, Blight, Lake, Maclean, Dunkin, Collins,
Thurstan Peter, Langdon, &c.) have been con-
sulted. One special book of recent origin must
be named, Norman Architecture in Cornwall, by
Mr. E. H. Sedding ; it has proved helpful on several
occasions. Some trouble has been taken to supply
the correct dedication of each church ; but variants
sometimes occur in connection with re-dedications,
and it has not been possible to spare a single
paragraph for their discussion. On this subject
Mr. W. Copeland Borlase's Age of the Saints
(1895) should be consulted ; see also Rev. S.
Baring Gould's chapters in recent issues of the
Journal of the Royal Institute of Cornwall. A
variety of notes have also been excluded, for lack
of space, dealing with the more important of the
ruined chapels of the county ; the best book on
this subject is M. and L. Quiller-Couch's Ancient
and Holy Wells of Cornwall ( 1 894).
My sincere thanks are due to many of the clergy
of the county for kindly help both viva voce and
by letter; as the number is considerable, and
private acknowledgments have always been made,
no special names are here mentioned. I feel
bound, however, to make mention of two Cornish
laymen who have gone out of their way to give
me assistance, particularly the former ; I allude to
Mr. Thurstan Peter, of Redruth, the well-known
ecclesiological writer, and to Mr. Otho B. Peter,
architect of Launceston.
PREFACE xi
With regard to the illustrations, I am indebted,
as will be seen from the list, for three of the photo-
graphs from which the plates are produced to
Captain L. Ching, R.N., of Launceston, and for
three others to the kindness of my friend Mr.
Aymer Vallance. Eight of the text illustrations
are drawn by Mr. J. Charles Wall, and two by
my youngest daughter; the remainder are taken
from the last series of the now defunct Reliquary ',
when it was under the editorship of the late Mr. J.
Romilly Allen, who was so well acquainted with the
Duchy.
I should like, in conclusion, to mention that
Captain Ching, R.N., of I Tamar Terrace, Launceston,
has taken a series of beautiful photographs of the
whole of the parish churches of Cornwall. These
can be obtained from him at the modest price of
eighteenpence each ; the proceeds are devoted to
the cause of Home Missions.
Longton Avenue, Sydenham.
January, 191 2.
CONTENTS
PAGE
INTRODUCTION i
CHURCHES, IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER 52
APPENDIX OF MODERN CHURCHES . 247
INDEX 249
xiii
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
PLATES
The South Porch, St. Mylor
(From a photo by Aymer Vallance, F.S.A.)
The Church of Altarnun. In-
terior
(From a photo by Capt. L. Ching, R.N.)
The Font, St. Petrock, Bodmin .
(From the " Reliquary")
The Church of St. Constantine
(From a photo by Capt. L. Ching, R.N.)
The S. Porch, St. Mary Magda-
lene, Launceston .
(From a photo by Aymer Vallance, F.S.A.)
Bench-end, St. Levan
(From the "Reliquary")
Cresset Stone, Lewannick
Church
(From the "Reliquary")
The Font, St. Merryn's Church
(From the "Reliquary")
The Church of St. Probus
(From a photo by Capt. L. Ching, R.N.)
The South Door, St. Thomas-
by- Launceston
(From a photo by Aymer Vallance, F.S.A.)
St. Mary's, Truro, 1827
(From an old engraving)
Frontispiece
To face page
54
62
84
148
152
154
174
204
224
236
XVI
LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
TEXT ILLUSTRATIONS
Window, St. Anthony-in-Meneage
{By J. Charles Wall)
Window Cusp, Gunwalloe .
{By J. Charles Wall)
Typical 15TH Cent. Pier
{By J. Charles Wall)
Passage Squint, St. Mawgan-in-Meneage
{By J. Charles Wall)
Passage Squint, St. Cury
{By J. Charles Wall)
Porch Roof, St. Nighton
{By J. Charles Wall)
Bench-end, St. Ives
( From ' ' R eliquary ' ')
The Stocks, Lostwithiel
{By V. M. M. Cox)
Tympanum, St. Cury
{From " Reliquary ")
Font and Cover, Lanreath
{By J. Charles Wall)
Bench-end, Launcells .
( From " Reliquary")
Alms-box, Lostwithiel .
{By V. M. M. Cox)
Dedication Stone, 1261
{By J. Charles Wall)
South Door, St. Mullion
{From "Reliquary'')
Tympanum, Rame .
{From "Reliquary")
Bench-end, St. Winnow
{By J. Charles Wall)
THE CHURCHES OF
:, CORNWALL
INTRODUCTION
CORNWALL never thoroughly submitted to either
the Roman or the Saxon yoke. It was and still
remains emphatically Celtic; in fact, Professor
Huxley proclaimed it to be more Celtic than Ire-
land. Nevertheless, the evidence of the inscribed
monumental stones sanctions the belief that there
were here and there in "Western Wales" isolated
Christians or Christian families in the days of
the Roman occupation. But Cornwall knew little
of the Faith until the latter half of the 5 th cent,
and the dawn of the 6th cent., when the invasion
of the saints, as it may not irreverently be termed,
took place. British Christianity doubtless, as a
whole, took root from Gaul; yet the missionaries
who landed in considerable numbers on the Cor-
nish coasts came chiefly from Ireland and Wales,
rather than directly from the Continent.
A
2 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
The story of the saints of Cornwall and the
wonderful way in which they impressed their names
on the local nomenclature, as well as on the churches
themselves, is one of great interest and of no small
difficulty. It would be idle, in this brief book on
the old parish churches, to enter even upon the
threshold of such a subject ; 1 suffice it to say, that
in no other part of the British Isles are there near
so many actual remains of ancient crosses, chapels,
holy wells, and sanctuaries or oratories, all testify-
ing to holy and devoted lives, as is the case with
Cornwall. There is not a single parish in which
such remains cannot be found, in greater or less
degree.
It may, however, be succinctly added that Corn-
wall can boast not only of possessing a far larger
number of inscribed monumental stones than any
other county, but that it also contains a far greater
number and variety of EARLY CROSSES. The in-
scribed stones, from the 5 th or 6th centuries down
to the 10th or nth centuries, number 43. The
erect early crosses of great variety of design are
upwards of 350 in number. There are also four
coped stones in the respective churchyards of St.
Buryan, Lanivet, Phillack, and St. Tudy ; and five
early cross slabs in the churchyards of Lanivet,
1 The best and most recent work on this subject is Mr. W. C.
Borlase's The Age of the Saints : A Monograph of Early Christianity
in Cornwall (1893).
INTRODUCTION 3
Temple (2), and Towednack, and in the church of
St. Wendron.1
The place-names also testify to the early establish-
ment of definite churches. Upwards of a score of
places have the Celtic prefix Lan, meaning an en-
closure, and hence the definite enclosure of the
church. Again, Eglos Ros, Egloshayle, and Eglos-
kerry also tell of ancient houses for divine worship.
The great missionary bishop, St. Martin of
Tours, is said to have consecrated St. Corentin
(St. Cury) in the 5th cent., and sent him forth into
Cornwall as its first bishop. Passing by a roll
of more or less legendary bishops, there is docu-
mentary evidence of five Bishops of Cornwall in
the 10th cent, and of two in the 1 ith cent. Hence-
forward Cornwall was ruled ecclesiastically by the
Bishops of Exeter until our own days. The epis-
copal registers of Exeter often yield proof of the
active energy of the bishops in this part of their
diocese. Notably was this the case with Bishop
Branscombe (1258-1281); in the year 1259, be-
tween 24th of September and 25th of October, he
consecrated a score of Cornish churches, all of
which appear to have been older foundations re-
quiring re-dedication through rebuilding or material
enlargement.
1 On this subject, see the invaluable work of the late Mr.
Langdon, Old Cornish Crosses (1896); also the same author's
comprehensive article on Early Christian Monuments in vol. i. of
Fid. Co. Hist, of Cornwall (1906).
4 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
The churches of this western peninsula differ
considerably and definitely from those in any other
shire or district of England. Although they lack
the grace, beauty, and size of those in various other
parts of the kingdom, they have distinct attractions
and interest of their own, and are pre-eminently
local.
The late Mr. J. D. Sedding happily expressed
this in 1884, when he wrote: "There is in the
older Cornish church an indefinable something
which makes them seem more identified with the
local surroundings than is the case with church
architecture in other parts of England. These
simple structures seem to be part of the simple
nature of the moor and down which surround them ;
they have what painters call ' quality ' or tone in
them ; they are essentially human, and eloquent of
the character of the men who reared them." Else-
where he says : " Is the architecture of Cornwall
worthy of study ? My answer is ' Yes ' and ' No.'
Yes, to such as value character in art more than
nice detail ; yes, to the student with a healthy
instinct and a soul which will not refuse nourish-
ment from any wholesome art however local its type
or homely its savour. But for purposes of ' copy '
Cornwall is the worst place in the world to come to.
Cornish art is wild, rustic, moorish ; it is unique ;
its strong salt flavour unsuits it for other markets,
just as other markets will not suit Cornwall. The
unique flavour of Cornish art is, to me, one of its
INTRODUCTION 5
points of interest. It is pleasant in this welter of
cosmopolitan design to be reminded that time was
when art was local and parochial and provincial."
The Celtic fervour of Church feeling that ran
through Cornwall in the 15th cent., and continued
in full vigour until checked by Henry VII I. 's late-
born reforming zeal and by the severely Puritanical
leanings of Edward VI.'s guardians, manifested
itself with startling liberality in the fabrics and fit-
tings of the churches. In this it had a remarkable
counterpart, which has hitherto, we believe, gone
unnoticed, in western Brittany. Mr. W. H. Ward, in
his recently published (September, 191 1) fine work
on The Architecture of the Renaissance in France,
describes the Breton churches of the 16th cent, in
terms that might be almost transferred to Corn-
wall. He tells of churches differing entirely from
those of the rest of France, built of various granites
and therefore hard in feature, relieved with mould-
ings of the dark, close-grained stone of Kersanton
(like the Catacleuse of Cornwall), of low elevation
and destitute of clerestories, and usually consisting
of three equal-lengthed aisles. Then comes a differ-
ence, for he tells of the special cult of the dead so
rife among the Bretons, which led to the enclosure
with stately gateways of their churchyards, and of
the erection therein of costly ostuaries or bone-
houses, or elaborate calvaries. In Cornwall the
particular strain of warm Celtic devotion happily
took another direction, namely, an earnest endeavour
6 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
to realise the Death of Our Lord. Hence the
costly and beautifully carved rood-screen at one time
present in every Cornish church both great and
small, the older chancel arches being removed for
their greater display; hence, also, the symbols of
the Passion, in every possible variety and com-
bination, were everywhere the favourite designs,
emphatically of the wood-carver of the bench-ends,
but also of the painter of glass and the sculptor of
stone. Somewhat later, too, reference is made in
these pages to the appearance of the tools and
implements of everyday life on not a few of these
bench-ends, and their presence seems to signify
that the Cornish craftsmen were thereby devoting
all forms of honest labour to the Carpenter's Son.
And this must certainly have been their intention
when they painted on the walls of many of their
churches pictures of the Wounded, Suffering Saviour
shedding His Blood on the emblems of countless
trades — a subject not found, we believe, outside the
confines of Cornwall.1
With regard to the material of which the
churches are constructed, granite occupies the
first place. It abounds in Cornwall, running in
a direction N.E. and S.W. through the county,
coming to the surface in four large rounded
patches, and adding gloomy grandeur and dignity
1 Wall-paintings of Christ blessing Trades came to light at St.
Breage, St. Just-in-Penwith, Lanivet, Linkinhorne, and Pound-
stock, and may therefore be fairly assumed to have been common
in Cornish churches.
INTRODUCTION 7
to the cliffs between St. Ives and St. Just. The
earlier mediaeval builders avoided any general use
of this material, recognising its unsuitability for any
work requiring high finish or delicacy of treatment.
When, however, the desire for greater church
accommodation set in with full vigour throughout
Cornwall in the 15th cent., the supply of local stone
other than granite for arcades, for the extended
lines of walling with their windows and doorways,
and especially for western towers, was quite inade-
quate, whilst the cost of importing great quantities
of material from a considerable distance was pro-
hibitive. General resort was then made to native
granite, with a good result so far as permanence
was concerned, particularly in the interior of the
buildings. A simple kind of dignity was often
attained by the use of this stone in 15th cent,
and early 16th cent, arcading. The granite then
used was " moor-stone," or blocks found lying on
or near the surface of the open moor. Such granite,
after centuries of exposure to frosts and rains, is
naturally far inferior to the like material when pro-
cured from deep and extensive quarrying. There was,
however, in all probability some late mediaeval quarry-
ing in St. Constantine parish, to the E. of Helston.
The grey granite of Cornwall requires exceeding
patience and skill, even in these days of vastly
improved mechanism, before it will yield itself to
the more elementary processes of the sculptor's art.
But fine results can be achieved if the effort is
8 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
sufficiently simple and dignified. The Londoner
can at once realise this if he keeps his eyes open
in crossing Blackfriars Bridge, and looks at the
grandly carved capitals of the piers that flank
the entrance. This beautiful grey granite, to the
amount of 150,000 cubic feet, came from the
Delank quarries, near St. Breward, which were
first worked about 1840. They are situated in a
romantic, wild, and beautiful gorge, the sight of
which well repays the toil of reaching it. There
is always interesting work in progress there ; on
the writer's first visit in 1900 great sections of the
new Beachy Head lighthouse were being pieced
together and numbered before transhipment. On
the occasion of a second visit in 191 1, the works
in hand were the Cardiff waterworks and a great
bridge for Rochester. When gazing at the con-
summate skill, backed by clever steam or water-
worked appliances, necessary for the hewing,
polishing, and shaping of the granite, it is wonder-
ful to think of the ability and pains that the Cornish
workmen of the 15th cent, put forth in the cutting
and shaping of the great monolith piers that sup-
port the arcades of so large a number of their
churches. Now and again, too, they did more
than produce simple mouldings, and with good ,
effect, as is shown, for instance, by the capitals
of the piers at Advent, or the S. dooways at
St. Endellion and St. Nighton. Some may admire
the rich treatment of the granite of the late church
INTRODUCTION 9
of St. Mary Magdalene, Launceston, built entirely
afresh by Sir Henry Trecarrel between 151 1 and
1524. The outer walls are profusely sculptured
with coarsely executed ornaments, panelling, and
lettering. For our own part, such overdone work
in such a material seems almost to border on the
vulgar, and only excites wonder as to its great cost
and poor taste.
The fine 16th cent, tower of St. Probus shows,
however, what good results could be produced by
surface granite when well chosen and worked with
care ; the tower of St. Ives is another good example,
and there is also some simple dignity about the
lower one of Towednack. It is true, however, as
remarked some years ago by Mr. Blight, that —
" Surface granite is totally unfit for delicate work-
manship, being frequently studded with pieces of
felspar, which, coming on sharp angles, get thrown
out by exposure to the atmosphere, and the sharpness
of the outline soon becomes effaced. It may be seen
on most of the exposed granite towers how the angles
have fretted away, and such sculpture as was attempted
has been reduced to almost shapeless masses."
The chief granite towers, other than those first
named, are those of St. Anthony - in - Meneage,
Callington, Calstock, Cardinham, St. Cleer, St.
Clether, St. Constantine, St. Crowan, St. Germoe,
Helston, Illogan, St. Ive, Ladock, Luxulyan, North
Hill, Pillaton, St. Paul, Roche, St. Stephen -by-
Launceston, St. Stythians, and Week St. Mary.
io THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Monolith granite piers in Perpendicular arcades
are found in all parts of the county ; they occur in
sixty-four churches. Occasionally the capitals of
those piers are of some easier worked stone ; thus
the capitals of Lanlivery, St. Mabyn, and St.
Winnow are of St. Stephen stone, those of South
Petherwin and Stoke Climsland of Polyphant stone,
those of St. Pinnock of Pentewan stone, and those
of Michael stow of both Caen and Polyphant. Very
large blocks of moorstone granite were sometimes
used in the walling of the churches, as may be
noticed at Callington, St. Just-in-Penwith, Lan-
livery, and Towednack.
It should be remembered that several of the most
effective of the Perp. churches are built of local shaly
stone, but with doorways, windows, and facings of
granite, of which Lanreath and St. Minver are good
examples.
Pentewan or Pentuan stone, from the cliffs near
St. Austell, supplied the greater part of the material
for the fine churches of St. Austell, Fowey, Lost-
withiel, and Lanteglos-by-Fowey. It may also be
noticed in the arcades of Botus Fleming, St. Columb
Major, Duloe, Golant, St. Goran, and Mevagissey.
The beautiful Polyphant stone, from a noted
mediaeval quarry in Lewannick parish, is to be
seen in the arcades and tower arch of Lewannick
church, in the arcades of St. Cleer, St. Gennys,
and Stratton, and St. Stephen-by-Launceston, in
various features of Stoke Climsland, and in the
INTRODUCTION n
S. doorway and in pier capitals of Michael-
stow. In addition to its use for several fonts, it
also occurs in the ornamental work of Callington
tower, and in the stoup of Camborne.
The hard, dark Catacleuse stone from cliffs near
Padstow was used now and again with excellent
effect by the mediaeval builders, chiefly in that
district. This stone occurs in the arcades of St.
Merryn and Stoke Climsland, and in the doorways
of Advent, St. Breock, St. Columb Major, Egloshayle,
St. Issey, Lelant, St. Mabyn, Little Petherick, and
St. Paul. It is also used in monuments at Bodmin
and St. Endellion, and in the stoups of St. Endellion
and St Issey ; and occasionally in window tracery,
as in the W. window of the tower of Zennor and
in the S. windows of St. Breock.
The St. Stephen or porcelain stone, a kind of soft
granite, was largely used by the mediaeval builders
of the 15th cent., especially for arcades. It is to be
noted at Advent, Bodmin, St. Clement, St. Conan,
St. Columb Minor, St. Creed, St. Cury, St. Enoder,
St. Erme, St. Feock, Helland, St. Ive, St. Ives, St.
Ladock, Lanivet, St. Mawgan - in - Meneage, St.
Mawgan-in-Pyder, Merther, St. Mewan, St. Probus,
Ruan-Lanyhorne, and St. Stephen-in-Brannel.
Considering the number of ports on the Cornish
coast, the use of Caen stone was surprisingly limited.
In addition to two or three fonts this oversea stone
may be noticed in parts of the arcades and the S.
doorway of St. Columb Major, the S. doorway of
12 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Mabe, the arcade and porch of St. Mylor, and
the arcades of Forrabury, St. Just-in- Penwith,
St. Madron, Padstow, Poughill, and Sheviock.
A certain amount of choice building stone is
supposed to have been brought by sea from the
excellent quarries of Bere on the coast of S.E.
Devon ; it has been noticed in arches of the
churches of St. Columb Major and St. Columb
Minor, and also in the piers of St. Just-in-Penwith.1
In a few adjacent churches in the Lizard district,
such as St. Grade, Landewednack, St. Mullion, St.
Ruan Major, and St. Ruan Minor, great blocks of dark
richly coloured stone were used from the Serpen-
tine cliffs of Kynance, producing in the towers
when mingled with light grey granite an irregular
chequered effect.
The material used for mediaeval fonts was rarely
brought from beyond the county limits. Caen stone
was imported for the fonts of Anthony, Maker,
Menheniot, and Truro. The good Norm, fonts
of Altarnun, Laneast, St. Germans, and Landrake,
are of Dorsetshire Purbeck. Similar Norm.
fonts of Egloskerry, Jacobstow, Lawhitton, St.
Thomas-by-Launceston, and Warbstow are of
the hard Hicks Mill Greystone. Granite is of
infrequent occurrence ; there is but one Norm.
font of that material, namely, at Perran-Uthnoe ;
the three early 14th cent, fonts of St. Buryan,
1 In each of these caves, however, it is possible that the stone is
a Caen variety.
INTRODUCTION 1 3
Gulval, and Sancreed are of the easier worked,
sparkling granite from Ludgvan parish ; there are
also one or two of comparatively modern date. The
dark Catacleuse stone, sometimes mistaken for
Purbeck, was used in the 13th cent, fonts of St.
Feock, Fowey, Ladock, and Lamorran, and in the
15th cent, fonts of St. Breock, Padstow, and St.
Merryn. The hard Tintagel Greenstone supplied
the material for the fonts of Forrabury, Jacobstow,
St. Germans, Minster, and St. Teath. At least five
old fonts are of Polyphant stone, namely, those of
South Petherwin, Pillaton, Blisland, Lawhitton, and
St. Tudy. The Pentewan stone, from the cliffs near
St. Austell, furnished the material for upwards of
a score of Cornish fonts, including some of the
finest examples, such as those of St. Austell,
Bodmin, St. Columb Minor, Lostwithiel, and Luxu-
lyan. Others were formed of local sandstone,
like those of St. Endellion and St. Enodoc, and
one or two of St. Stephen's stone.
In the general construction of the churches, the
Normans, as well as the builders of the next two
centuries, made use for the most part of various
local freestones, which were chiefly quarried in the
E. of Ventergan in Warbstow parish, and at Tartdn
Down in Landrake parish, and at Hicks Grey Mill
and Polyphant in Lewannick parish ; in the S.
Pentewan and St. Stephen, near St. Austell ; and
in the W. Serpentine from the Lizard cliffs, and
both kinds of elvan or porphyry.
14 THE CHURCHES OE CORNWALL
Irrespective of the wen lth of ancient crosses, and
remains of early sanctuaries or oratories, there is but
little left in the fabrics of Cornish churches which
can be definitely termed Saxon or rather PRE-
CONQUEST work. The N. side of the nave and
parts of the chancel of Tintagel are late pre-
Conquest. There are traces of a ground - plan
earlier than Norm, days at St. Breward, and there
are certain indications of masonry prior to the nth
cent, in the churches of St. Clether, Laneast, and
St. Stephen-by-Launceston. It is, however, quite
possible that there are early remnants, now difficult
to distinguish, in several other churches.
Several of the churches erected in Cornwall under
the influence of the Norm, manorial lords consisted
merely of chancel and nave with W. bell-turret,
but erelong a cruciform plan began to prevail.
The typical Cornish church of Norm, days was
CRUCIFORM, and even when consisting simply of
chancel and nave it was not infrequently turned
into the cross shape by the addition of transepts
in the 13th and occasionally in the 14th cent. The
occurrence of a single transept in many churches of
the county used to be considered no small puzzle,
and so long ago as 1781 a correspondent of the
Gentleman's Magazine asked for an explanation of
this anomaly. The answer is that these churches
were never in their origin constructed with a single
transept — as unlikely an idea as a single-winged
bird — but that the later aisle development of the
INTRODUCTION 1 5
15 th cent, frequently absorbed one or other of such
transepts. Occasionally it is clear that the builders
of the Perp. period intended to construct two aisles,
but that lack of funds or some other cause checked
this development. The beginnings of aisles may
be noted in the N. transepts of St. Egloshayle, St.
Eval, St. Levan, and St. Madron, and in the S. tran-
sept of Zennor ; the short N. aisles of Boconnoc and
Lansallos are also obvious transept extensions.
The following is a list of churches which were
undoubtedly either originally cruciform or retain
more or less of that plan. Those known to be of
Norm, origin are marked with an asterisk, and those
of E.E. or 13th cent, style with a dagger: —
Adventf, St. Anthony-in-Roselandf , St. Anthony-
in-Kerrierf, Blisland*, Boconnoc, Botus Fleming*,
Bradock, St. Breock, St. Breage, St. Breward,
St. Budock, Cambornef, St. Clementf, St. Columb
Major, St. Crantock*, St. Creed*, St. Cubertf, St.
Cuby, St. Cury, Duloef, Egloskerry*, St. Enoder,
St. Enodoc*, St. Evalf, St. Ewe*, St. Feock,
Forrabury, St. Germoe*, St. Gerransf, St. Goran*,
St. Grade*, Gulval, St. Gvvithianf, Hellandf, St.
Issey, St. Ive, St. Juliot, St. Just-in-Roseland,
Kenwyn, St. Ladockf, Lamorran, Landewednack,
Landrake, Laneast*, Lanlivery, Lanreath*, Lan-
sallos, Lanteglos-b3'-Camelford*, Lesnewth*, St.
Levanf, Manaccan*, Marhamchurch, St. Martin-
by-Looe*, St. Mavvgan-in-Pyder, St. Mawgan-in-
Meneagcf, St. Mcllion*, St. Merryn*, Mevagissey,
16 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Mewan*, St. Michael Caerhays*, St. Michael
Penkevil, St. Michael Rock*, Morval*, St. Mylor*,
St. Newlyn*, Otterham, Pelynt, St. Perran-Uthnoe,
Philleigh, Pillaton, St. Pinnock, Poundstock*,
Quethiock*, Ramef, St. Ruan-Lanyhorne*, Salt-
ash*, Sancreed, St. Sennen, Sheviockf, St.
Sithney*, South Hill, St. Stephen-by-Launceston*,
Talland, Temple*, Trevalga*, St. Tudy, Tywar-
dreath, Veryan, St. Wendron, St. Winnow*, and
Zennor.
NORMAN architecture is well illustrated in
the churches of St. Germans and Morwenstow. There
are also good doorways (marked with an asterisk)
or other fairly obvious remains of this style, which
will be noticed under the churches of St. Allen, St,
Anthon}'-in-Roseland*, St. Austell, Blisland, Bod-
min, Boyton, Bradock, St. Breward, St. Cleer*,
St. Clether, St. Crantock, St. Cubert, St. Cur}'*,
Egloskerry*, St. Enodoc, St. Eval, St. Ewe, Forra-
bury, St. Gennys, St. Germoe, St. Goran, St.
John, St. Keyne*, Kilkhampton*, Landewednack*,
Landrake, Lanteglos-by-Fowey, Lesnewth,Liskeard,
Lezant, Manaccan*, St. Martin-by-Looe, St. Mylor,
St. Newlyn, South Petherwin*, Poughill, Pound-
stock, Roche, Saltash*, St. Stephen-in-Brannel*,
St. Stephen-by-Launceston, St. Teath, Tintagel,
Treneglos, Tremainef. Five of the doorways,
namely, those of St. Cury, Egloskerry, St. Michael
Caerhayes, and St. Mylor (2), have sculptured
tympana, and in five other cases, tympana of this
INTRODUCTION 17
description have been built into the walls, namely,
at St. Perran-Arworthal, Rame, St. Thomas-by-
Launceston, Treneglos, and a second example at
Egloskerry.1 In many a church where there is no
other remnant of our Norm, conquerors, the font
of that period is still extant. The Norm, fonts
of Cornwall are upwards of 80 in number. Of
these, 34 have circular bowls either with or
without ornament, and 24 have square bowls.
Lewannick has an octagonal bowl, whilst the
Norm, font of Tresmere is of unique triangular
shape, hewn out of a block of Purbeck. There
are also 17 instances of an effective late Norm,
design, wherein the circular bowl, usually much
enriched, has its square brim supported by 4
angle shafts. The following are the instances of
this characteristically Cornish design, the best ex-
amples being marked with an asterisk : St. Austell*,
Bodmin*, St. Columb Minor, St. Cubert, St. Cuby,
St. Cury, St. Ewe, St. Kea*, St. Grade, Luxulyan,
Maker, St. Newlyn, Roche*, South Hill, St. Stephen-
in-Brannel, St. Stephen-by-Launceston, and St.
Wenn*.
Cornwall does not possess any very striking
examples of the First Pointed or Early
ENGLISH style of architecture, which prevailed
from about 1 190 to 1270. In various churches
1 All these tympana are illustrated and described by the late Mr.
Langdon in Vict. Co. Hist, of Cornwall, i. 446-9. For general
details of this period, see Mr. E. II. Sedding's book on Norman
Architecture in C01 nwall (1909).
B
1 8 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
transepts were added, but in the majority of cases the
stoutly built small Norm, churches were left undis-
turbed until the dawn of the 1 3th cent. The church of
St. Anthony-in-Roseland shows beautiful E.E. work,
especially in the arches of the central tower. The
W. front of Talland, N. arcade of St. Minver, the
N. transept of Advent, and the general features of
the rebuilt St. Michael Penkevil are of the like
period, as well as certain details at St. Cubert, St.
Enodoc, St. Just-in-Roseland, St. Levan, Manac-
can, Talland, Tintagel, and Trevalga. There was
also a fair amount of steeple building during the
reign of Henry III., as witnessed by parts of the
towers of Crantock, St. Dominic, Duloe, Padstow,
and West Looe, as well as by the small unbut-
tressed towers, with broached spires, of Rame and
Sheviock.
E.E. fonts occur at Botus Fleming, St. Creed,
St. Ervan, Herodsfoot, St. Hilary, Lanteglos-by-
Fowey, Menheniot, Michaelstow, Morval, Philleigh,
Ruan Major, and Sheviock, in addition to the two
of granite already mentioned.
The Second Pointed or Decorated period,
which, broadly speaking, covered the reigns of the
first three Edwards, from about 1270 to 1380, has
not left many decisive marks. The notable tower
and spire of Lostwithiel, the chancel of St. Ive with
its beautiful five-light E. window, the chancel of
Sheviock, the E. window of St. Gwinear, and various
features of the great church of St. Columb Major are
INTRODUCTION 19
the chief examples of this style. Decorated details
may also be noticed at St. Cubert, St. Erney, Poug-
hill, Quethiock, St. Wendron, and Zennor, whilst the
unbuttressed towers of Advent, St. Erth, St. Germoe,
St. Levan, Landewednack, St. Madron, and San-
creed, as well as those of St. Neot and Lanteglos-
by-Fowey clearly pertain to the 14th cent. Fonts
of this period occur at St. Illogan, St. John, Lante-
glos-by-Camelford, Liskeard, Lostwithiel, Morval,
Pillaton, Rame, Saltash, Treslothan, St. Teath, and
St. Veep.
Mr. Sedding points out that there are six instances
in the county of late 14th cent, (possibly early 15th)
windows with flamboyant tracery ; they occur at
Advent and Lanteglos-by-Camelford, and two each
at St. Just-in-Penwith and Padstow. The flowing
late Dec. E. window of St. Wendron nearly ap-
proaches to the flamboyant. Occasionally the 15th
cent, builders had sufficient admiration for good
windows of the previous style as to replace them in
later work ; this may be noticed at St. Ive and
Sheviock. This replacing also occurs in cases of
some charming light Dec. windows in the N. aisles
of Gunwalloe, St. Mawnan, and St. Stythians, whose
N. windows appear to have been pushed out from
their former places in the N. walls of the nave. All
these windows have striking cusps of flower-like
form ; similar cusps may be noted in a light Dec.
window of St. Anthony-in-Meneage.
Of the Third Pointed or Perpendicular
20 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
period, extending roughly from the beginning of the
reign of Richard II. to the end of that of Henry VIII.
During the 15th cent., and particularly towards its
close, there was much activity throughout Cornwall
A. — Window, St. Anthony-in-Meneage
B. — Window Cusp, N. Aisle, Gunwalloe
in the rebuilding and extension of the churches.
The county was at this time in a generally flourish-
ing condition ; it had taken very little part in the
long-sustained strife of the Wars of the Roses, and
INTRODUCTION 21
had hence escaped the impoverishment which in-
evitably accompanies warfare. There is also an
unusual and striking amount of similarity in the
church work of this date throughout the county.
Two causes would contribute to this : first, the over-
weening influence of the Duchy of Cornwall, which
was then at its height, and brought about more of a
centralising spirit than prevailed in ordinary shires ;
and, secondly, the isolated position and great extent
of sea-board which put a severe check on the general
currents of diversified outside influences. The use
of granite, so little adapted for light or lofty treat-
ment, as well as climatic considerations, caused the
results to differ materially from similar activity in
other parts of England. The exterior of the great
majority of Cornish churches is characterised by a
high W. tower, which looks all the loftier from the
lowness of the body of the church. There is an
almost complete absence of clerestory; the only
churches where clerestories are to be found are those
of Callington, Fowey, St. Germans, and Lostwithiel.
An interior peculiarity is the absence of CHANCEL
ARCHES ; they are entirely lacking in every 15th cent,
church from the Tamar to the Land's End. There
is a chancel arch remaining at Towednack, but it is
of the 13th cent. Their place was taken by elaborate
screens.
The granite PIERS of the four-centred arches of
the arcades of this period are marvellously alike in
about 90 per cent, of the Cornish churches; they
22 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
are usuallyfdescribed as clusters of 4 shafts, but it
is more correct to say that
they have 4 semi -circular
shafts, with a hollow mould-
ing between them. Where
exceptions are found they
are usually of an earlier
date, but at St. Ives wave-
mouldings take the place of
the hollows between the
shafts. The piers at Lan-
dulph and Laneast are
circular,and atLanteglos-by-
Fowey andZennor octagonal.
A very considerable num-
ber of the Perp. granite WIN-
DOWS have been renewed by
restorers; the majority of
the old tracery remaining is
plain in character and un-
cusped, as at St. Minver and
in many of the W. churches.
Now and again there is better
and more handsome win-
dow work and other details
of 15 th and early 16th
cent, date, as at Bodmin
(much renewed), St. Creed,
Typical 15th Cent. Egloshayle, Padstow, and
Granite Pier to J
INTRODUCTION 23
Sheviock. The wholly granite church of Callington,
built throughout in 1438, is noteworthy.
The PORCHES are a particular feature of not a
few Cornish churches, particularly in the W. and
S.W. A somewhat striking type of late 15th cent,
granite porches is to be noted at St. Buryan,
St. Breage, St. Just-in-Penwith, St. Madron, and
St. Wendron ; they are buttressed where the porch
joins the aisle wall, and double buttressed at the
outer angles ; from the buttresses rise panelled pin-
nacles with rudely crocketed finials ; the parapets
are boldly embattled ; the doorways are depressed
four-centred arches under squared heads, with
carved spandrels. The porches of Callington, St.
Juliot, and Luxulyan are also embattled, but lack
pinnacled buttresses. In the neighbourhood of Fal-
mouth are some charming 15 th cent.S. porches with
exceptional entrances, having octagonal panelled
jambs; they occur at St. Budock, Gunwalloe, St.
Just-in-Roseland, St. Mullion, St. Mylor, and Sith-
ney ; the heads of the arches have had some simple
pierced tracery, but this feature is only perfect at
St. Mylor. The granite porch doorway of St. Mabe
has a rude cable moulding running round outer arch
and jambs, with a series of coarse fleur-de-lis on the
inside ; the inner enriched doorway is of Caen stone.
The porches of Lelant and St. Erth, near the oppo-
site coast, have also ornamental jambs. There are
not many rooms over porches (usually by error
called parvises) ; they are to be found at St.
24 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Austell, Bodmin (two-storied), St. Columb Major (2),
Fowey, St. Mary Magdalene Launceston, Liskeard,
St. Michael Penkevil, St. Neot, St. Newlyn, and St.
Stephen-by-Launceston. The porches of St. Creed,
St. Juliot, Landewednack, and North Hill have stone-
groined roofs, and the roof of Forrabury is composed
of two slabs of granite.
There are various fine TOWERS in the county, the
large majority of which are of 15 th cent, date ; they
are of far plainer character than those of Somerset-
shire, for they are chiefly of granite. There is
considerable rivalry among several parishes as to
which possesses the highest tower, but there is little
doubt that Probus occupies that position. The fol-
lowing list of the principal towers supplies the height
of many, but in some cases it is not clear whether
the height is exclusive or inclusive of the battlements,
nor can the writer pledge himself as to the exact
accuracy of all the figures : —
Altarnun, 109 ft. ; St. Austell, 94 ft. up to battle-
ments; Bodmin, 94 ft. to top of vanes; St. Buryan,
90 ft. ; St. Cleer, 97 ft. ; St. Columb Major, 90 ft. ;
St. Columb Minor, "about 100 ft."; Egloshayle, 82 ft.;
Fowey, 126ft.; St. Germans, no ft.; St. Goran,
no ft. ; St. Ives, 119 ft. (Blight) ; Landrake, 100 ft.
to top of highest pinnacle ; Lanlivery, 97 ft. ;
Launceston St. Mary Magdalene, 85 ft. ; Linkin-
horne, "said to be 120 ft."; St. Mabyn, 85 ft. ;
Mawgan-in-P}'der, 78 ft.; Probus, 130 ft.; Roche,
83 ft. ; St. Stephen-by-Launceston, 84 ft. 8 in. ; St.
INTRODUCTION 25
Stephen-by-Saltash, "said to be 100 ft."; Stratton,
93 ft. ; North Tamerton, 90 ft. ; Week St. Mary,
99 ft.
The towers are for the most part in the usual
place at the W. end of the nave, but there are some
exceptions. Those of Duloe, Lawhitton, and Veryan
are on the S. side of the church, whilst that of
St. Stephen-by-Saltash is at the W. end of the N.
aisle, and that of Saltash on the N. side. The
towers of St. Enodoc and Blisland are to the N. of
the N. transept.
St. Blazey, St. Keverne, Lanteglos-by-Fowey, and
Lostwithiel have N. and S. arches, the aisles having
been extended so as to bring the towers into the
church ; but at St. Columb Major the N. and S. arch-
ways are open, the E. and W. walls having no arches.
In six cases the towers are separated from the
rest of the fabric, the nature of the site in each case
giving rise to this peculiarity ; they occur at St.
Feock, Gunwalloe, Gwennap, Lamorran, St. Mylor,
and Talland.
Three of the loftiest towers of the far west have
the newel stairs surmounted by an angle turret
which rises above the battlements, namely, those of
St. Buryan, St. Gwinear, and St. Paul; other towers,
such as those of St. Just-in-Roseland, St. Kew,
Landrake, Landulph, Lanteglos - by - Camelford,
Luxulyan, St. Martin-by-Looe, and St. Stephen-
by-Saltash, and St. Veryan, have the like construc-
tion, though less emphasised. St. Dennis and St.
26 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Cury have a slight elevation over the stair turret,
crowned by a central pinnacle. In several cases
the towers have panelled or octagonal pinnacles of
more or less stateliness, at the angles of the battle-
ments, crowned with crocketed finials, and rising
from corbels at the base of the topmost stage of the
tower ; some of the best examples of this treatment
occur at St. Ive, Fowey, Lawhitton, St. Mawgan-in-
Pyder, St. Anthony-in-Meneage, and Callington.
Spires are of rare occurrence in Cornwall ; there
are fourteen now standing, exclusive of two or three
of modern construction ; those marked with an
asterisk have been rebuilt: — St. Agnes, St. Anthony-
in-Roseland, St. Cubert, St. Enodoc, St. Eval*,
St. Ewe, St. Gerrans, St. Hilary*, St. Keverne,
Lostwithiel, Menheniot, St. Minver*, Rame, and
Sheviock.
A remarkable feature of some Cornish churches
— not exactly reproduced elsewhere in England,
though found in Pembrokeshire — is what may be
best described as SQUINT PASSAGES. They occur
at St. Cury, Landewednack, Landrake, St. Mawgan-
in-Meneage, Pillaton, and Quethiock, and there are
traces of their former occurrence at a few other
churches. These passages are formed at the
junction of transepts and chancel, the wall being
thickened out by projections, whilst within the
passage is a low-side window and the base of the
stairway to the rood-loft.
The position of such LOW-SIDE WINDOWS was
INTRODUCTION
27
well suited for what was almost certainly their
object, namely, the ringing of the sanctus bell by
the altar -clerk to warn outsiders of the Holy
Mysteries. Cornwall has not manv of these
Passage-Squint, St. Mawgan-in-Mencage
windows. Whatever may have been their object,
the intelligent ecclesiologist will always set his face
sternly against the leper theory, a modern fancy
based on a foolish conceit.1 Lepers were forbidden
1 See Some Popular Archccological Errors and Fictions {Anti-
quary, vol. xxx. 48-54).
28 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
churchyards as well as churches, and Cornwall
made abundant provision for them in hospitals,
each of which had its own chapel and priest.1
In the following churches pre-Reformation ALTAR
Exterior of Passage-Squint, St, Cury
SLABS or mensce remain : — Blisland, St. Breward,
Callington, Camborne, St. Columb Major, St. Creed,
St. Ewe, Lanreath, Lesnewth, Linkinhorne, St.
1 Medieval Hospitals of England (1909), 203.
INTRODUCTION 29
Madron, St. Michael Penkevil (2), South Petherwin,
Phillack, Poundstock, St. Probus, Rame, Tintagel,
Towednack, Tywardreath, St. Veep, and St. Wen-
dron. There are also altar slabs in the remains
of chapels at St. Clether, St. Madron, and Tintagel.
Special features of some of these slabs are dis-
cussed under the respective churches.
Stone SEDILIA are not numerous ; most of the
examples are earlier than the 15th cent. The
difficulty of producing refined work in granite
doubtless often prevented them being attempted
in the Perp. period ; substitutes of timber would
be provided. Triple sedilia occur at St. Gwithian,
St. Ive, Menheniot, St. Michael Penkevil, and
Sheviock ; there are single ones at Anthony East
and St. Gulval.
PlSCIN/E are, of course, of continuous occurrence.
There are three examples with Norm, shafts at
Altarnun, St. Creed, and Egloskerry ; two double
instances, of late 13th cent., at St. Newlyn and St.
Just-in-Roseland ; and two remarkable shafted ones
of Perp. date at Bodmin and St. Mylor.
With regard to old PULPITS of stone and wood,
there is in the church of Egloshayle a 13th cent.
stone pulpit of Caen stone, and there is another of
like date and material in the modern church of
St. Paul, Truro.1 There are pre-Reformation oak
pulpits at Bodmin (1491), Camborne, Laneast,
1 Some mystery appears to attach to this latter pulpit. The
church of St. Paul was built in 1848, and much restored in 1884,
30 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Launceston St. Mary Magdalene, Launceston St.
Thomas, Padstow, and Porthilly. The pulpit of
Mawgan-in-Pyder is Marian, and those of St. Win-
now, Fowey (1601), Lanreath and St. Mylor, Eliza-
bethan. Jacobean examples occur at Boconnoc, St.
Kew, St. Mellion, and Stratton ; and Carolean at
Blisland, St. Teath (1630), South Petherwin (1632),
and Liskeard (1636). Lawhitton pulpit is dated
1655, and Marhamchurch is about the same period.
The following pulpits are mainly constructed out
of old bench-ends : — St. Cubert, St. Cuby, Golant,
Jacobstow, Phillack, Ruan-Lanyhorne, St. Sampson,
and St. Stephen-in-Brannel. The pulpit of St. Ive
is 1700, and that of Truro is inlaid Chippendale.
The county does not possess any pre-Reforma-
tion CHURCH PLATE, but there are a considerable
number of Elizabethan chalices, many of which
retain their paten-covers. The best example is
at St. Stythians, where the chalice has a height
of 8| in., whilst the cover is 2f in. high.
Other cups and covers, mostly of the year 1576,
occur at Constantine, Crantock, St. Erme, St.
At some date since the restoration an interesting old stone pulpit
was placed in the S. aisle of the quire, where it stands meaningless
and unused. Considerable efforts have been made by myself and by
two local antiquaries to obtain the answers to two simple questions
— Whence came this pulpit, and at what date?— and so far without
avail. Failing to find the vicar disengaged when I called in August
191 1, I asked these questions, enclosing a post card for reply.
Although the vicar had been there since 1897, this was his answer :
" The questions you ask me are the very ones to which I have long
been seeking answers " !
INTRODUCTION 31
Gennys, St. Issey, Jacobstow, St. Kew, Kilk-
hampton, Lanteglos - by - Camelford, Linkinhorne,
Ludgvan, St. Mabe, Morwenstow, Otterham, Pelynt,
Perran-Arworthal, St. Perran-Uthnoe, North Tamer-
ton, Temple, Trevalga, St. Wendron, and St. Winnow.
There are cups without patens at St. Austell (2),
Manaccan, Sancreed, and Towednack. There are
patens without cups at St. Agnes, Devoran, Duloe,
Merther, and Launceston St. Mary Magdalene.
At Menheniot are two beautiful stoneware flagons,
with collars and lids of silver, the one dated 1578,
and the other 1581. At St. Mabyn is a standing
cup surmounted by a statuette (1576) used as a
chalice. At St. Mabe is a beautiful tazza of 1577,
presented to the church about 1700.
When the wave of church extension and re-
building swept over Cornwall in the 15th cent., the
buildings were almost invariably supplied with
ROOFS of the coved wagon-head or cradle type,
the timbers dividing the interior into square panels.
The wall-plates and bosses are generally well carved,
and often all the braces, ribs, and purlins. The
mediaeval plan usually adopted (St. Ives is an ex-
ception) was to use laths, plaster, and whitewash
to fill up the panels, which had the effect of con-
siderably lightening these unclerestoried buildings,
and thus showing up the beauties of the carving.
Unfortunately, the earlier restorers ejected these
beautiful local roofs of carved oak, substituting,
as at St. Minver, high-pitched roofs of pitch-pine.
32 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Certain later restorers, in churches otherwise fairly
well treated, as at St. Teath, St. Tudy, and St.
Kew in N.E. Cornwall, insisted on clearing out all
the plaster, so that you either look through a carved
grill at the open spaces and rough timber beyond,
or else find the delightful light plaster superseded
by nicely planed and stained planks. The contrast
comes out well at St. Teath, where the side aisles
happily retain the whitewashed plaster, whilst the
nave is rendered gloomy and bewildering, as you
look up, by the spaces being opened out.1 This
treatment, however, only occurs in a minority of
cases ; the careful restorers of such churches as
Blisland, St. Breock, St. Buryan, Callington, St.
Cleer, St. Endellion, Landewednack, Lanteglos-by-
Camelford, Luxulyan, St. Mabyn, St. Mellion,
Menheniot, St. Mawgan - in - Pyder, St. Mullion,
Pillaton, Poughill, and several others have wisely
retained the plaster. The roof carvings at Men-
heniot, Pillaton, St. Ive, and Lansallos, and of the
S. aisles of Padstow and Egloshayle, are exception-
ally good. It was usual to roof the porches after
1 The writer has seen several wagon roofs of both Cornish,
Devon, and Somerset churches in course of restoration, including
Lanteglos-by-Fowey, and considers the proofs as to mediaeval
plastering irrefutable ; in this he is supported by several architects
of eminence, and by other ecclesiological observers. He is aware
that a distinguished architect takes the opposite view, but he does
not consider his statements or arguments in any way convincing.
It is much to be hoped that Cornish ecclesiologists will insist on
the retention of the remaining unrestored wagon roofs in their
original condition.
INTRODUCTION
33
this wagon-head fashion, and the destructive archi-
tects who have cleared out these charming W.
county roofs or stripped them of their plaster have
occasionally suffered them to remain in the porches.
Porch Roof, St. Nighton
Porches with more or less well-carved timbers of
this stamp occur at Advent, Anthony East, St.
Austell, St. Clement, Cornelly, St. Dominic, Gun-
walloe, St. Just-in-Roseland, Laneast, Lanlivery,
Lansallos, Lanteglos-by-Camelford, Lawhitton, St.
Minver, Menheniot (2), St. Nighton, Pillaton,
C
34 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Sancreed, Sheviock, Sithney, Treneglos, St. Veep,
and St. Winnow. It was customary in the better
churches, especially in the chancel or its aisles, to
have small full-length figures of angels standing on
corbels, carved on the wall-plates, and placed at the
springing of the braces. Some of these angels may
still be observed at Bodmin, St. Ive, St. Ives,
St. Kew, St. Mullion, St. Neot, Padstow, and
St. Stephen-by-Saltash.
By the end of the 15 th cent., there was probably
not a single parish church left in Cornwall which
did not possess a more or less handsome CHANCEL
SCREEN surmounted by rood and rood-loft. This
wealth of woodwork, as shown also in the well-
carved benches, is a proof of the fervour of Cornish
church building in Tudor days, for this wind-swept
county was in many parts but poorly equipped with
trees. The evidence of the use of the rood-lofts is
nowhere else in England so conspicuous and of
such constant occurrence. In addition to a con-
siderable number of instances where the remains
of previous rood-stairs can be readily traced, they
are extant in fairly substantial repair, with upper
and lower doorways, in about 60 churches.
There is generally a projection in the outer wall
to cover the newel stairs. The most usual side
for access was the N. ; 36 of the extant rood-
stairs are on the N. side, and 23 on the S.
At St. Just-in-Penwith and at St. Cury there
are stairs in the walls of both aisles, and two
INTRODUCTION 35
rood-turrets remain at St. Austell. At St. Keverne
there are three sets of stairways in the N. wall.
The popular notion as to the reading of the Gospel
at High Mass from the rood-loft of parish churches
is an error ; such a use was confined to collegiate
or minster churches. Hence the width of the door-
ways and the size of the stairs at the collegiate
church of St. Buryan. The usual narrowness of
Cornish rood-stairs and their approaches, as com-
monly shown throughout the parish churches of
England, prohibited their use by richly vested
priests. Parochial rood-lofts were chiefly used for
instrumental or vocal use. The stairs often yield
evidence of considerable use; notably is this the
case at Sheviock, where the steps were so much
worn that they were recapped. That rare feature,
an outside entrance to a rood-loft, occurs at St.
Anthony-in-Meneage. At St. Just-in-Roseland and
St. Newlyn, the rood-stairs have been utilised to
give access to the pulpit.
Crass prejudice and vulgar lack of taste of the
first half of the 19th cent, did more to bereave
Cornwall of her once beautiful chancel screens than
Reformation vehemence or Puritan malevolence.
The screens of at least 14 churches are known to
have been destroyed during that period. There
is no ancient rood-loft remaining, and in only two
cases is the original vaulting extant, namely, at
St. Ewe and St. Mawgan-in-Pyder. At St. Budock
there is a considerable array of painted figure panels,
36 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
and there are also remains of painted figure work
at Davidstow, Gunwalloe, Lanreath, Launcells,
St. Mawnan, Poundstock, and Tywardreath.
The following is a list of old Cornish chancel
screens and fragments now extant; the best
examples are marked with an asterisk, and a mere
fragment or fragments with a dagger: — Altarnun*,
St. Austellf, Blislandf (base), Bodminf , St. Budock*
(base), St. Buryan* (restored), St. Boyton (base,
&c), St. Colan (base), St. Columb Minorf, St.
Constantinef, Crantockf (restored), St. Creedf,
St. Cubyf, Davidstowf (restored), St. Dominicf,
Duloef, St. Ewe*, St. Eval (former parclose), St.
Enoderj", St. Enodoc (base), St. Giles-in-the-
Heathf, Gunwalloef, St. Gwinear* (base), St.
Juliotf, St. Just-in-Penwithf, St. Kewf (restored),
St. Ladockf, Landulph (base), Laneast*, Lanreath*
(restored ), St. Levari, Luxulyanf, St. Madronf (re-
stored), St. Mawgan-in-Pyder*, St. Mawnanf, St.
Merrynf, St. Minverf, Morwenstowf (restored),
St. Mullion (base), St. Mylor (base), St. Newlynf,
South Petherwinf, St. Phillackf, Porthilly, Pound-
stockf, St. Probusf, St. Ruan Majorf, Sancreed*
(base), St. Stephen-by-Launcestonf, St. Stephen-
by-Saltashf, Tallandf, Tintagel, Veryanf, Week St.
Maryj*, and St. Winnow* (restored).
Parts of the old parclose screens may be noted
at Boconnoc, St. Breward, St. Crantock, Duloe, St.
Ewe, St. Germans, Treverbyn (restored), St. Martin-
by Looe, and Talland ; at Bodmin, low parclose
INTRODUCTION 37
screens have been constructed out of old bench-
ends and screen fragments.
During the last few years there have been various
restorations of old screens ; the two most effective,
each with loft and rood, are Blisland by Mr. Eden,
and Crantock by Mr. E. H. Sedding. The restora-
tion of the screen of St. Buryan in 1910 has been
marred by raising the height. There are also ex-
cellent restorations at Lanreath and St. Winnow.
Entirely new screens have been erected at Breage,
Callington, St. Columb Major, Forrabury, Laun-
ceston, Little Petherick, Sheviock, and Whitstone.
New screens have been placed right across the
churches of St. Cleer and St. Neot, but the effect
is not good, as the old levels have been discarded.
The most characteristic feature of the interior
of a 15th cent. Cornish church was the seating
throughout with substantial OAK BENCHES or
seats, the ends of which were invariably carved
with some degree of vigorous effect and much
pains. Occasionally these bench-ends are of her-
i aldic pattern. On the bench-ends at St. Teath are
the arms of Arundell impaling Peverell, and Fitz-
james impaling Peverell. The arms of Roscarrock
impaling Grenville are on one of the bench-ends in
the church of St. Endellion, and those of Archdeckne
and Hascombe at St. Austell. The arms of the see
of Winchester are on a bench in the church of
Davidstow. At St. Breward are the arms of Bodmin
priory. The arms of Henry VI. occur at St. Eval.
38 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Later heraldic bearings maybe noticed on the benches
of Braddock, St. Gwincar, and Landulph. St. Teath
has a large number of these bench-ends still pre-
served, as well as the old benches themselves.
Several of them bear the monogram I H C and a
crowned M for the Blessed Virgin. These two
designs are repeated in various churches, as well as
different forms of the Latin and St. Andrew's cross.
Occasionally there are special varieties, such as
the Virgin and St. Joseph, with a bullock's head
between them, at Davidstow, a satirical one at
Padstow of a fox preaching to geese, a merman
at Gwinear, and a mermaid at Zennor. But
by far the commonest subject for treatment on
these bench-ends are the many symbols of the
Passion, arranged after various fashions, but, for
the most part, having only one or two symbols on
the same panel. Such are — the crown of thorns,
the nails and hammer, the reed and spear, the
vesture, the dice, the pillar and scourges, the
ladder, the pierced hands and feet, and the cock
of St. Peter's betrayal. These symbols are pre-
dominant among the notable bench-ends of the
church of Launcells.
Various other examples of them may be noticed
at the churches of St. Teath, Michaelstow, St.
Breward, and Laneast, and further W. at St.
Mullion and St. Keverne. Some forty or fifty years
ago it was almost impossible to find a church
anywhere in the county without a considerable
INTRODUCTION 39
number, or at all events some remnants of these
bench-ends. But the evil work of " restoration "
has, to our own -certain knowledge, been the
cause of the loss of much of this characteristic
work. During visits to Cornwall in the " sixties " of
last cent., bench-ends and other beautiful bits of
fine old oak carving, from roofs and elsewhere, were
to be met with worked up into public-house settles,
or serving as sideboards or ornamental panelling in
the houses of gentlefolk and well-to-do tradesmen.
Others could be seen rotting in timber-yards or at
village builders, where they could be picked up for
a trifle. Especially was this the case in the neigh-
bourhood of Tintagel and Boscastle. In some of
the rather better " restorations " they did not
actually destroy all the old woodwork, but, with
strange perversity, wrested it from its proper use«
Thus, at St. Breward, some of the best of the bench-
ends were painted and gilded and stuck up over the
altar to form an unsightly and unseemly reredos.
Many others were hammered together to form pulpits.
The student of old English wood - carving in
Cornwall cannot fail to notice that there were
somewhat varying schools of design in different
parts of the county. The bench-ends and other
carving, for instance, of the Land's End and Lizard
churches differ not a little from that of N.E.
Cornwall, the former being somewhat more delicate
in treatment. The nave of the church of St. Minver
has a great number of handsome late bench-ends in
40 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
flowing arabesque patterns, and there are also flori-
ated designs on the numerous benches at Cardin-
ham. The fine set at Altarnun are chiefly 16th cent.
The following list includes the churches where the
best examples of this local carving are to be found;
an asterisk marks the more important collections: —
Altarnun*, St. Austell, Bodmin*, Cardinham, St.
Columb Major*, St. Enoder, St. Eval, St. Goran, St.
Ives, St. Juliot, St. Keverne*, Kilkhampton*, Lan-
dulph, Laneast*, Lansallos, Lanteglos-by-Fowey,
Launcells*, Lawhitton, St. Levan, Lewannick,
St. Madron, Mawgan-in-Pyder*, Michaelstow, St.
Minver, Morwenstow, St. Mullion*, St. Newlyn, St.
Perran-Zabuloe, Poughill*, Poundstock, St. Probus,
Sheviock, Stratton*, Talland*, North Tamerton, St.
Teath*, Tywardreath, St. Winnow*, and Zennor.
It is also worth noting that a considerable
number are carved with double initials, many of
which are of 15th or early 16th cent. date. Such
lettering, as well as specific coats of arms, are
evidences that the appropriation of church seats
was by no means of post- Reformation origin. Pairs
of initials may, for example, be noted on bench-
ends in the churches of Bodmin, St. Budock, St.
Goran, St. Juliot, Lanteglos-by-Fowey, St. Levan,
Mullion, North Tamerton, and St. Winnow.
Much interest attaches to certain other bench -
ends which are carved with tools or implements.
There is a fine series of blacksmith's tools in the
church of St. Ives. Various tinners' implements
INTRODUCTION
4i
occur on the bench-ends of St. Austell, and one
at St. Columb Major. A one-sided spade with
an agricultural basket appears on a bench-end at
Kilkhampton. It is generally supposed that carv-
ings of this description were presented to the
Blacksmith's Tools, Bench-end, St. Ives
church by those who used the tool or implement in
question ; but it is much more interesting to believe
that they were intended to show the consecration
of varied forms of labour and trade, being thus
analogous to the remarkable Cornish wall-paintings
of Christ blessing the Trades.1
1 See the Reliquary, N.S., vol. ii. 161-171 ; vol. v. 42-45.
42 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
There are but few original DOORS left in the
churches of Cornwall ; they may be noticed at
Callington, Marhamchurch, Morval, St. Mullion (2),
St. Neot (porch chamber), Quethiock, St. Stephen-
by-Launceston, St. Stephen- by- Saltash, and St.
Thomas-by-Launceston.
Several 17th cent, shaft ALMS-BOXES remain (see
Index); there are two of exceptional interest, the
painted example at St. Teath, and the quaintly
carved instance at Lostwithiel.
The county possesses a good variety of BRASSES,
though there are no early examples. The more
noteworthy are effigies of priests at Mawgan-in-
Pyder and Padstow, of Margery Arundell at An-
thony, and to civilians at Cardinham and Landrake.
The following is a list of churches where brasses
occur : — Anthony East, Blisland, St. Breock, St.
Budock, Callington, Cardinham, St. Colan, St.
Columb Major, St. Constantine, St. Crowan, St.
Erme, Fowey, St. Gluvias, St. Goran, St. Grade,
Helston, Illogan, St. Ives, St. Just-in-Roseland,
Lanlivery, Landrake, Landulph, Lanteglos - by -
Fowey, Lostwithiel, Madron, St. Mawgan-in-Pyder
(several), St. Mellion, Menheniot, St. Michael
Penkeyil, Minster, St. Minver, Padstow, Pelynt, St.
Probus, Quethiock, Ruan-Lanyhorne, St. Sithney,
St. Stephen-by-Saltash, Stratton, North Tamerton,
Tintagel, Truro, and St. Wendron.1
1 See the excellent Monumental Brasses of Cornwall (1882), by
the late Mr. E. H. W. Dunkin.
INTRODUCTION 43
Cornwall is not specially distinguished for its
MONUMENTAL REMAINS other than those in brass.
Sepulchral slabs of the 13th cent., with Norman-
French marginal inscriptions, occur at Bodmin,
St. Breock, St. Buryan, Little Petherick, and St.
Merryn. At Ruan-Lanyhorne there is the 13th
cent, semi-effigy of an ecclesiastic. There are a
few more or less mutilated early stone effigies yet
extant, namely, in the churches of Botus Fleming,
St. Breward, Lansallos, St. Mawgan-in-Meneage,
and Stratton. At Egloskerry and St. Teath are
effigies of 14th cent, laymen; at Duloe a 15th cent,
armoured effigy ; at Callington a noble one of 1503 ;
and at Bodmin the fine monument of Prior Vyvyan,
1 533- Two 17th cent, kneeling effigies are on a tomb
at St. Dominic. There are various mural kneeling
effigies of later date, as at Davidstow, St. Mellion,
Minster, St. Mylor, and St. Stephen-by-Saltash.
At Truro is the costly but unsightly monument of
John Roberts and his wife, 1614, with semi-recum-
bent effigies. There is an incised slab effigy at
Helland, 1500, and another at South Hill, 1507.
The towering wooden monument in Lanreath
church, with diminutive effigies, erected in 1623, is
without a known parallel. But the special charac-
teristic of the later monuments of Cornwall is the use
of slabs of slate within the churches, though the stupi-
dity of certain church u restorers " has ejected them
into the churchyard, or even brought about their
destruction. Viewed rightly, these slate memorials
44 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
are highly interesting evidences of the local art of
the 1 6th and 17th centuries; they are cunningly
carved with effigies, armorial bearings, or handsome
borders in low relief. A few are of the 16th cent.,
as at Whitstone, 1535; Lanivet, 1559; Talland,
1572; St. Thomas-by-Launceston, 1576 and 1578;
Michaelstow, 1577; and Lanhydrock, 1599. Good
17th cent, examples may be noted at Blisland, Bod-
min, St. Breock, St. Breward, St. Creed, Davidstow,
Egloshayle, St. Ewe, St. Ive, Landrake, Lanlivery,
Lanreath, Lelant, Ludgvan, St. Madron, St. Minver,
St. Neot, St. Newlyn, North Hill, Pelynt, Porthilly,
St. Stephen-by-Launceston, St. Teath, and St.
Tudy.1
As to the mediaeval WALL-PAINTINGS (often, but
quite erroneously, termed frescoes), the story of
their uncovering and subsequent destruction, either
with intention or by wanton carelessness, in Corn-
wall is exceptionally sad. In Mr. Keyser's South
Kensington List of Mural and other Painted De-
corations (3rd ed., 1883) 48 Cornish examples are
given, and several more have come to light. As
all the old churches of this county had plastered
interior walls, it is highly probable that they were
all more or less embellished by sacred designs in
colour. Reformation and Puritan excesses de-
stroyed many, and whitewashed more. In the
1 Seven slate memorials were shamelessly ejected from St.
Thomas-by-Launceston in 1871, and now lie in the churchyard.
The like action characterised the restorations of Lanteglos-by-
Camelford and St. Mabyn, as well as several other churches.
INTRODUCTION 45
latter case, care and attention will often restore
the greater part. But Cornwall has within the
last thirty or forty years lost most of its recovered
examples, occasionally through the unwarrantable
and repulsive practice of stripping rubble walls
of their skin, of which St. Just-in-Penwith is an
egregious instance, and more often through Phili-
stine objections or careless indifference. The chief
remains of wall-paintings now to be noted are at
St. Breage, Linkinhorne, Morwenstow, Poughill,
Poundstock, and St. Thomas-by-Launceston.1
The church of St. Neot is celebrated for its ex-
ceptional wealth of late mediaeval PAINTED GLASS,
second to none in any parish church in England.
There is also notable old glass at St. Winnow and
St. Kew. As to less important remains, see Index.
The following churches retain painted panel copies
of the celebrated 1643 Letter of Charles I.,
expressing his gratitude to the particular loyalty of
Cornwall ; several have disappeared within the last
half-century : — St. Austell, St. Breage, Calstock,
Camborne, Cardinham, Creed, St. Dominic, St. Erth,
St. Ewe, Fowey, Gwennap, St. Gwinear, Illogan,
St. Kea, St. Keverne, Landulph, Lanlivery, Lan-
reath, Lelant, Menheniot, St. Minver, St. Mylor,
St. Neot, St. Perran-Zabuloe, Philleigh, Poughill,
St. Probus, St. Sennen, Sithney, St. Stephen-by-
Saltash, Truro, Veryan, and St. Winnow.
1 See the detailed account of surviving and destroyed mural
paintings in the R.I.C (1901-2), vol. xv. 141-160.
46 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Modern paper copies have been noted at St.
Budock, St. Stythians, and St. Mawnan. At the
last of these, where the letter is accompanied by
a big frame and a costly old engraving, the queer
mistake has been made of dating the letter 1642
instead of 1643.
In the great majority of cases the letter dates
from the restoration of the monarchy, the originals
having been destroyed during the Commonwealth.
The copies differ slightly in orthography and exact
expression. The following is a verbatim copy of
the one on the walls of the church of St. Minver.
C. R.
A Letter of Thanks from King Charles ist of
Blessed Memory, Dated Sept: 10, 1643.
We are so highly sensible of ye extraordinary Merits
of our County of Cornwall of their zeal for ye Defence
of our Person & ye Just Rights of our Crown in a time
When we could contribute So Little to Our own Defence
or their Assistance, in a time When not only no Reward
appeared, But great &: probable Dangers Were threatned
to Obedience & Loyalty of men Great & Eminent Cour-
age & patience in their indefatigable prosecution of
thinges at Work against so Potent an Enemy Backt
With so Strong Rich Populous Cities & so plentifully
furnished with Men Arms Money Ammunition & pro-
visions of all kinds & of the Wonderfull Successes with
Which it hath pleased Almighty God though With the
Loss of Some Eminent persons, who shall never be for-
gotten by us to reward their Loyalty & patience By
INTRODUCTION 47
Many Strange Victories over their & our Enemies, In
dispite of all humane probabilities & all Imaginable
Disadvantages that as We Cannot be forgetful of so great
Deserts, So We Cannot but desire to publish to all the
World & perpetuate to all time the Memory of their
Merits & of Our acceptance of the Same & to that end
we do hereby tender our royal thanks to that our County
in ye most Publick and lasting Manner We can devise
Commanding Copies hereof to be printed & published
& one of them to be read in every Church & Chapel
therein & to be keept for ever as a record in ye Same yfc
as Long as the History of these times & of this Nation
shall Continue the Memory of how Much ye County
hath Merited from us & our Crown may be derived with
it to Posterity : Given at our Camp at Sudly Castle ye
10th of September, 1643.
Although many fell victims to the earlier restora-
tions of last century, several good examples of
Royal Arms, both panel-painted and in plaster,
are extant. In three cases, namely, at Blisland
(1604), Lanhydrock, and South Petherwin, the arms
are those of James I. ; they are very seldom found
in English churches. The arms of Charles I. are at
St. Feock, St. Newlyn, St. Mylor, and Poughill. The
feathers of Charles II. as Prince of Wales, dated
1635, appear at Lanreath, and his arms, mostly
dated 1660, at Cardinham, St. Columb Minor, St.
Ive, St. Juliot, Lanreath, Lanteglos - by - Fowey,
St. Mawnan, St. Merryn, Mevegissey, St. Minver,
St. Mylor, Pillaton, St. Veep, Warleggan, and Week
St. Mary. The arms of James II. (1605) occur at
48 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Sampson. At Lanteglos-by-Fowey there is a
singular panel on which are painted the national
emblems of rose, thistle, harp, and fleur-de-lis ;
it is of Jacobean date.
As to the BELLS of the churches, the late Mr. E.
H. W. Dunkin gave a detailed account in the pages
of the Reliquary between 1874 and 1877. The
mediaeval bells recorded by him numbered about
50, and were noted at the following churches : — St.
Allen (1), St. Anthony-in-Meneage (1), St. Clement
(2), St. Clether (2), St. Colan (1), St. Creed (1), St.
Dennis (1), St. Erney (1), St. Ervan (1), St. Feock (2),
St. Grade (1), Gunwalloe (3), St. John (1), St. Just-
in-Penwith (2), St. Kea (1), St. Keyne (1), Lande-
wednack (3), Lansallos (1), St. Mawgan-in-Pyder
(1), Merther (1), St. Michael Caerhayes (3), Michael-
stow (1), St. Michael's Mount (3), St. Mylor (1),
Otterham (2), St. Perran Arworthal (1), Little Pethe-
rick (2), Rame (1), Towednack (1), Tremayne (1),
Tresmere (2), Trevalga (1), Trewen (1), and Zennor
(2). These are all still extant, with the exception of
that of St. Mylor, which was recast in 1888.
The total number of bells in the towers of the old
parish churches then numbered 872. Since that
time the number has materially risen. Up to 1876
rings of eight bells swung in the towers of seven
churches, namely, those of St. Austell, Bodmin, St.
Columb Major, Fowey, Kenwyn, Penzance, and
Stoke Climsland. These rings of eight now number
sixteen. To those already enumerated must be
INTRODUCTION
49
added Camborne (1882), Cardinham, Egloshayle
(1907), Helland (1888), Helston (1905), St. Kea
(1904), Lanlivery, Launceston St. Mary Magdalene
(1901), and Stratton (1878). The cathedral church
of Truro has a ring of ten bells.1
There is a curious adjunct to not a few of the
churches of Cornwall, in the shape of the old village
STOCKS. The stocks of an English village usually
The Stocks, Lostwithiel
stood near the church, but that was an accidental
juxtaposition, arising from the fact that the green or
open space for the most part adjoined the church,
and that it was the most public place in the town-
ship. The custom has, however, sprung up of late
years in Cornwall of sheltering the stocks under the
church fabric, sometimes in the porch and sometimes
at the W. end of the church. This is, of course,
done from an antiquarian point of view, and from
that aspect it is wholly commendable. But, for our
own part, we confess that there is something a little
incongruous if not irreverent in the presence of these
1 As to Bell Ringers' rhymed rules, see Index.
D
50 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
coarse deterrents of sin in the House of God. They
are to be seen in the churches of Anthony East, Botus
Fleming,* St. Cleer, St. Clement,* St. Keverne, Lan-
east, Lanreath, Lansallos,* Lostwithiel, St. Mabyn,*
Maker, St. Merryn, St. Minver, Padstow, Pillaton,
St. Probus, Quethiock, Sheviock, St. Stephen-
by-Saltash, and Talland, and they may possibly
have been overlooked in a few other instances. In
all these cases they are to be found in the porches,
except when marked with an asterisk ; St. Clement's
is the most repellent, for the stocks in that church
almost touch the font. These stocks are all provided
with 6 holes, except at St. Merryn and Padstow
where there are 8, and at Lanreath and Talland
where, strange to say, there are the odd number of
7. In two or three instances some of the holes are
much smaller, and apparently intended for women.
Cornwall has suffered pre-eminently in the matter
of the RESTORATION of its church fabrics; and
deservedly severe comments on the treatment of
both fabrics and fittings in the mid- Victorian period
occur with some frequency in these pages. It is
only fair, however, to add that the condition of not
a few of the churches was most deplorable at that
period. Indeed, it would be difficult to exaggerate
the foul condition and gross neglect of several within
our own memory. There were few more compe-
tent architectural antiquaries of the last generation
than Mr. E. H. Godwin. This gentleman contri-
buted valuable and comprehensive articles to the
INTRODUCTION 5 1
Archceological Journal in 1853, and again in 1 861, on
the churches of this county. He wrote with consider-
able indignation as to the state in which he found
some of the churches. When writing about St. Ruan
Major he describes it as " if possible more green and
mouldy than any I have ever seen ; the parish, like
most of the parishes in this locality, is very poor,
the landowners non-resident, the churches decaying,
rotting with damp, choked with filth of bats or birds,
unfit for decent worship, with unmistakable signs
of approaching dissolution."
The recollection of facts such as these should
temper our indignation with the rash and destruc-
tive way in which many a restoration or rebuilding
was carried out when true Church devotion began
to revive and kindle in the extreme W. At all
events, Cornwall is now entirely destitute of any
churches in a scandalous condition, which is more
than can be said of several other English dioceses.
From the Tamar to the Land's End, the churches
are now, without exception, decent and comely for
worship, whilst several of the more recent restora-
tions, such as those of Blisland, St. Crantock, St.
Creed, Lanreath, and St. Winnow, show not only
a true conception of the dignity and beauty which
ought to be associated with the Houses of God, but
also a true conservative respect for all the good
work of past generations.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Advent (St. Athewennd). — Chancel, nave of 4
bays, continuous S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch,
and W. tower. Plain Norm, circular font. N.
transept E.E. with lancet lights ; rebuilt, but win-
dows reinserted. Roof of S. transept fell through
fall of snow in 1870; transept then removed and
archway built up. The buttressed tower late 14th
cent.; also flamboyant E. window of S. aisle. Granite
arcade of 5 arches, all capitals carved with four-
leaved flowers, late 15 th cent., as also are porch,
arch into N. transept, and wagon roofs of nave,
aisle, and porch. Doorway into porch is of
Catacleuse stone, with well-carved spandrels and
flowers in hollows of mouldings. Note boss in
porch roof, carved with 3 Tau crosses. Much
rebuilt in 1847-8. (Registers, 1709.)
St. Agnes. — Church unhappily destroyed in
1848; new one in Dec. style built by Mr. St.
Aubyn. (Registers, 1601.)
St. Allen (St. Alleyne). — Chancel, nave of 6
bays, S. aisle, S. porch, and W. tower. Blocked-
up N. doorway is Trans.-Norm., c. 11 00; arch
round, but capitals of jambs have trefoil foliage ;
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 53
E.E. lancet in N. wall of chancel. Rest of windows
and other old details are Perp. Font is a "make-
up"; Mr. Sedding thinks present square bowl is
base of old font. (Registers, 1680.)
Altarnun. — The large church of St. Nonna con-
sists of chancel, nave of 4 bays, aisles, N. and S.
porches, and W. tower. Enlarged and rebuilt
throughout in 2nd half of 15th cent. Square
Norm, font of Purbeck has 4 geometrically
divided circles, and heads at angles. Detached
Norm, piscina shaft in N. aisle; part of Norm,
capital built into N. wall of this aisle. Lofty but
plain tower of three stages, 109 ft. high, is Perp., •
like rest of church, but lower stages are about 50 «h
years older than the upper part. Church restored *^
in 1 867, when nave and chancel roofs were renewed, **
but roofs of aisles and of both porches are original ; £>
walls unfortunately stripped of plaster. Noble 7
rood-screen (restored in 1888) right across church, Sf
with 3 pairs of gates; head of each bay filled -*
with good original tracery, but fan-vaulting is new ; : ■
panelling of base curious, 3 plain panels alternate ^
with 3 traceried ones. Altar rails extend right &
across church, only 4 ft. from E. walls of chancel ^
aisles, dated 1684, and bear names of the vicar and -co
churchwardens. Chancel extends further eastward;^
altar stands 7 ft. clear of E. wall. Each side of E. cf
window are singular early 17th cent, paintings on f
deal panels; S. one represents Administration of
Eucharist, with lighted candles on altar; N. one
54 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
the Crucifixion. A wealth of carved bench-ends
of early 16th cent. ; they include representation of
a sword-dance, and jester with cap and bells.1
(Registers, 1688.)
Anthony East (67. James), on the St. Germans
Creek. Chancel, nave, continuous aisles, N. and S.
porches, and W. tower. Rebuilt and consecrated
in 1259. Arcades of 6 granite arches each side
are Perp. ; N. arcade, earlier of the two, has mono-
lith piers. On S. side of chancel widely splayed
13th cent, lancet; a like one, renewed, on N. side.
Old quire took in two bays of N. and S. arcades,
making fair-sized chapels. Projection for rood-
stairs on N. side ; entrances to stairway blocked up
by great mural monument to Sir John Carew, 1692.
Pointed windows on N. and square-headed ones on
S. are coeval with their respective aisles, c. 1425
and 1475. Well-carved wagon roof to N. porch.
In quire, on N. side, 5 old pieces of 15th cent,
bench-ends, with figures of 4 Evangelists and
St. John Baptist. Tower of two lofty stages with
diagonal W. buttresses; stair turret projects at
N.E. angle, and rises above battlements. Lower
stage contains fair amount of Norm, work, but
tower rebuilt throughout c. 1425. Six steps lead
up from nave into tower. In S. wall of chancel
a single-pointed sedile, and piscina niche of 13th
cent. In S. aisle a late piscina. In N. jamb of
1 Account of this church with excellent series of plates, including
screen before restoration, in R.I.C., x. 263-273.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 55
E. window of N. aisle is large trefoil-headed image
niche. Octagonal font, with tabernacled cover, new.
In centre of chancel a large stone of grey marble,
90 in. by 36 in., bearing brass effigy of lady
beneath crocheted canopy, wearing a long flowing
gown, with hanging sleeves and double-horned
head-dress. Inscription records Margery Arundell,
lady of " Est. Antony," a daughter of Sir Warin
l'Erchedekne, 1420. Many monuments of Carew
family from 1555 to 1835. In N. porch stand six-
holed stocks. (Registers, 1678.)
St. Anthony - in - Meneage. — This beautifully
situated church, close to the water's edge of the
Durra Creek and embowered in trees, consists of
chancel, nave of 5 bays, N. aisle, S. transept, S.
porch, and W. tower. Tradition says it was a
votive church built by shipwrecked Normans ; but
there are no Norm, remains. There was probably
an E.E. cruciform church; a 13th cent, lancet in
N. wall of chancel. Early in 15th cent. N. aisle
was added, and church much rebuilt and extended
in the dawn of Perp. style ; good three-light E.
windows to both chancel and aisle. Rood-stairs,
on N. side, have the rare feature of an outside
entrance. Granite tower of 3 stages, 65 ft. high,
has handsome crocketed pinnacles rising from
clustered shafts resting on angels. Circular font
late 13th cent. ; bowl carved with 4 shield-bearing
angels, and bears inscription — Ecce Karissimi
de deo vero baptizabuntur spiritu sancto, together
56 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
with initials Q.P., B.M., B.V., and P.R., arranged
in pairs; these letters possibly denote names of
donors. Roofs of nave and aisle are 15 th cent.
A 13th cent, stoup in Perp. porch. (Registers, 1602.)
St. Anthony - in - Roseland. — The church, near
mouth of St. Mawes Creek, consists of chancel,
nave of 6 bays, transepts, and central tower with
spire. Here was a cell or small priory of important
Austin priory of Plympton, Devon, connected with
church on S. side. The canons used quire and
transepts, and parishioners nave. Nave mainly
^ Norm, with very fine S. doorway of that style.
'*-■ Conventual part of church rebuilt and consecrated,
<, 1259. This part of fabric a good example of
■ late E.E. work. The whole church was far too
2s vigorously restored in 1850, when chancel was
entirely rebuilt. The arches carrying tower are,
however, as originally constructed ; the shafts of
jambs of E. and W. arches have good capitals of
conventional foliage ; corbel brackets of other two
arches also well carved. In each transept good
trefoil-headed piscina niche. Present octagonal
spire is of timber covered with slates. Various
memorials to Spry family, from 1658 to 1835,
chiefly in N. transept, which communicates with
" Place," the seat of the Sprys, built on site of old
priory. (Registers, 1660.)
St. Austell {Holy Trinity). — This fine, well-pro-
portioned church consists of chancel with aisles,
nave of 5 bays, aisles, S. porch with upper room,
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 57
and W. tower. Though rebuilt throughout to-
wards close of 15th cent., it retains portions of\t
the three preceding styles. Two responds and . -,
circular pier of S. chancel arcade are Norm. ; but ^
arches above are E.E. N. chancel arcade is E.E., ^
but arches above are Dec; both of these chancel £
aisles evidently widened and rebuilt in 14th cent.
Font fine and richly carved example of late Norm.,
of Bodmin type, with central and 4 angle shafts.
Noble tower, 94 ft. high up to battlements, lined ■
with granite, but exterior is Pentewan stone ; this H
is also the case with rest of fabric. Canon Ham- ^°
mond, in his well-illustrated book on St. Austell <
(1897), has ingeniously fixed date of this richly jT
sculptured tower. At N.W. angle are arms of "
Courtenay ; Bishop Courtenay ruled over Exeter
diocese from 1478 to 1487. At S.E. angle, shield
charged with sprig of broom, planta genista; the
last Plantagenet prince died in 1485. S.W.
shield bears three fleur-de-lis, probably for Prince
of Wales as Duke of Cornwall ; whilst 4th shield
now blank. Tower has 18 statues. In highest
position on W. front is usual mediaeval repre-
sentation of Holy Trinity, below it Souls in
Abraham's Bosom, and Annunciation. In lowest
tier are three figures, the Risen Lord, a bishop
and a priest. On other sides of tower are the
12 Apostles, 4 on each face. There are also 15
escutcheons bearing 12 symbols of the Passion,
and ending with the Resurrection, Ascension, and
58 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Christ in Triumph. Over entrance to porch is
symbol of pelican vulning itself, and immediately
above two lines of inscription ; the lower one is
I.N.R.I., the usual Latin title of Our Lord ; the
upper one, somewhat defaced, has given rise to
much wild speculation, but is intended for the
Greek title, KY(rius) CH (ristus). Below W.
window is an ancient clock-face with 24 small
bosses for hours ; each boss has small hole in
centre, showing that they once bore metallic discs.
This clock was somewhat later than tower, for
window-sill has been cut away to give room ; but it
was here in days of Edward VI., when inven-
tory names "four bellys and a clok," the only
church clock mentioned in Cornwall. At Raunds,
Northants, is another 24 hours clock-face. The
original carved wagon roofs remain in nave and
aisles, and happily the plaster between the intersect-
ing timbers has not been removed. Under the
tower are a number of old bench-ends carved with
symbols of the Passion, IHS, a crowned M, her-
aldic shields, a fox preaching, &c. On S. side a
small portion of the old rood-screen may be noted.
Turret stairways to rood-loft still perfect, but all
present screen-work modern. Beneath tower is
panel-painted letter of Charles I., and a set of dog-
gerel bell-ringers' rhymes. Oak chest dated 1664.
Church over-restored in 1870 at a cost of ^2500,
and the tower in 1906. (Registers, 1554; Church-
wardens' Accounts, 1 67 1.)
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 59
St. Blazey (St. Blaze). — Chancel, nave of 5 bays,
aisles, and W. tower. Neither granite fabric nor
fittings are of special interest ; no part appears
older than 15th cent. Considerable restoration, at
the hands of Messrs Scott (Sir G. G. Scott) and
Moffatt, as early as 1 839, and again in 1 897. N. aisle
was added at first of these dates. (Registers, 1663.)
Blisland. — The interesting church of St. Prothus
is of exceptional plan ; it consists of chancel, with
aisles, nave of 4 bays, transepts, S. aisle, S. porch,
and tower adjoining N. transept. Portions of Norm,
masonry in chancel E. wall, in both transepts, and in
N. and W. walls of nave, show that church was then
cruciform. Circular label of Norm. N. door yet re-
mains. A few traces of E.E. work ; but chancel aisles,
S. aisle, and porch of nave added in 15th cent.,
whilst small N. tower of 3 stages, with stair-turret
at N.E. angle, is of advanced 16th cent. date. S.
transept, nearly lost in S. aisle, was extended c. 1 500 ri
into the Lavethan chapel, and fitted with pews ^
by Reynolds family. Two fonts; the one 15th <jj
cent, of Polyphant stone, the other a good Norm. ®
bowl of St. Stephen stone, rescued from church- ^
yard and placed on granite shaft. Note also stoup
in S. porch, piscina in S. chancel chapel, and old
altar slab. Good brass effigy to John Balsam,
former rector, 1410; also remarkable slate monu-
ment with 6 kneeling effigies in relief of the Kemp
family, 1624. Royal arms of James L, 1604. Pulpit
Carolean. Rood-loft stairs in N. chancel chapel.
60 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Stone archway front transept into this chapel is a
very rare feature for a Cornish church. The church
of this out-of-the-way but beautiful village is so
attractive that no apology is necessary for quoting
following sentences, contributed by present writer
to Guardian in 1901 : —
"The beautifully carved woodwork of the cradle-
roofs is by far the best in the district, and is shown up
to considerable advantage by the retention of the white
plaster within each compartment. The considerable
remains of the old screens have not only been restored,
but a rood-loft and rood have been added. This work
has been accomplished with consummate ability and
beautiful effect by Mr. F. C. Eden, at the expense of the
present rector. The colour and gilding of the wood-
work is bright, but full of harmony. The church has
been most carefully restored on true conservative lines ;
it is, in short, an almost ideal village church, full of
continuous historic interest, with all its fittings and
appurtenances breathing a spirit of adoration and de-
votion. Amidst so much that is painful and poor in
Cornish church restoration, it is a special joy to come
across unexpectedly such a beautiful village sanctuary.
A monument in this church to John Kempe, who died
in 1728, begins most appropriately with the words,
' Here's peace and rest.' " (Registers, 1539-)
Boconnoc. — Church renewed and dedicated in
1 32 1. Chancel, nave, S. aisle separated from nave
by granite arcade of 6 arches, N. aisle of 2 bays, S.
porch, and modern S.W. bell-turret. Present fabric
dates from 15th cent., but restored in 1873, when
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 61
most of S. aisle was rebuilt. Tower long ago
disappeared ; formerly 3 bells hung in a low
shed. N. aisle, appropriated to Boconnoc House,
old seat of Mohun family, retains much parclose
screen-work. Well-carved altar-table inscribed,
"Made by me, Sir Reynold Mohun, 1629"; pulpit
of same date. Mural monument, 1637, to Penelope,
daughter of Sir Reynold, "for a short time wife
unto William Drew." Here is the upper part of
old screen removed from Bradock. (Registers, 1709.)
Bodmin (St. Petrock). — Largest church in county.
Ground - plan forms a parallelogram 151 ft. by
65 ft. ; aisles extend almost level with chancel.
Tower projects on N. side at junction of chancel
and nave, and appears to have been formerly
attached to N. transept of a cruciform Norm,
church ; lower stages are Norm. ; restorers have
given trefoil heads to small Norm, lights. With -
its 15th cent, addition, tower has a height of 94 *!°
ft. ; it was crowned with spire which reached 1 50 <
ft., but this destroyed by lightning in 1699. JJ
Most of building accounts of reconstruction of this -
fine church in 15th cent, are extant; they extend^
from 1469 to 1 49 1. Arcades between aisles and
nave and chancel are of 9 bays, and constructed -_'
of St. Stephen stone. Windows, chiefly renewed '
on old lines, are of large proportions, and good n
examples of advanced Perp. S. porch is vaulted "
with good fan-tracery, and has two-storied chambers
above it, gained by turret at N.W. angle. W. front
62 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
of church much rebuilt in 1814. Continuous, costly,
and somewhat unhappy restorations prevailed from
1867 to 1888, with result that very little of old wagon
roofs remain, save in S. chancel aisle, where there
are good ribs and bosses, and wall plates (dated
1472) with 9 small angels remaining.
Considerable remains of rood-screen and aisle
screens extant, in situ, up to 1775. Of the base
of rood-screen there are 14 richly foliated and
scrolled early 16th cent, panels at E. end of nave in
front of Corporation seats ; round desk of recently
constructed faldstool are pieces of its carved cornice.
Three-sided turret for rood-stairs projects from S.
wall, but part of " restoration " scheme included
filling up of lower and upper doorways, and of
communicating openings in both arcades.1 About
40 well-carved bench-ends were worked up into
frontals of nave seats, and into low screen between
chancel and chapel ; 5 of those in this screen are
of 1 6th cent, arabesque work. Contract entered
into with Matthew More, carpenter, in 149 1, to
make seats like those of St. Mary's, Plympton,
"or better." Pulpit was contracted for at same
time, to follow pattern of one at Morton H amp-
stead ; its 6 panels are beautifully carved with
crocketed and cusped ogee tracery ; base, a modern
1 The present writer first took notes of this church in 1 876 when
restoration was in progress ; at that time many screen-fragments
and bench-ends were heaped up in chamber over porch.
FONT OF ST. PKTKOCK S CHURCH, BODMIN
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 63
amalgam of old work. Lectern is composed of
various old fragments, mainly of 3 misericord seats.
Font a grand example of late Norm, on large
scale, 3 ft. 7 high, and diameter 3 ft. 5 J in.
Circular bowl with squared rim supported by
central shaft, and 4 corner shafts with angels'
heads as capitals ; vigorous carving of bowl shows
foliage on two sides and on other sides knotted
serpents. Font unfortunately disfigured by lofty
but clumsily designed oak cover presented in 1881 ;
a font of this date and style requires a mere flat
cover. The 3 piscinas of chancel and its chapels
are most diverse and noteworthy ; that of N. chapel
is a simple square drain projecting like a bracket,
with no niche over it ; that of high altar has small
rounded niche in S. respond ; whilst that of S.
chapel is a detached octagonal shaft, with 8 foiled
depression in capital, and like number of drain
holes round central boss. The boss of this last
piscina is pierced with a slit, for by a ridiculous
device this shaft was long used as an alms-box,
and stood by the font.
On N. side of chancel is a most excellently carved
16th cent, tomb and effigy in dark Catacleuse stone.
It is to the memory of Thomas Vy vyan, a renowned
prior of Bodmin, and titular Bishop of Megara.
Inscription records his death in 1533. The effigy
depicts him in episcopal vestments, with mitre and
pastoral staff. Round the tomb, treated after a
Renaissance fashion, are the arms of Bodmin
64 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
priory, Vyvyan, St. Edgar K., and Henry VIII.,
and figures of the 4 Evangelists with symbols,
but wearing Tudor costume. On destruction of
priory, which stood on the opposite side of the
road, this monument, which Leland describes as
0 very notable," was removed to present position.1
The following are the more important of numerous
later memorials : —
John Vyvyan, 154S; Thomas le Moyle, a 15th
cent, mayor; Richard Durant (mayor 1622 and
1628), 1632, with his 2 wives and 20 children ;
Charles Blight (mayor 1658 and 1677), 1684;
Peter Bolt, Merchant Adventurer, 1633 ; William
Kendall, 1604 ; a lady of the Achym family, 1557 ;
and Cicely Achym, 1639. In the churchyard, im-
mediately to the E. of the porch, are 4 old grave
covers, 2 of Norm, and 2 of E.E. date ; one of the
latter has parts of a Norm. -French inscription ; there
are also two fragments of like slabs. (Registers,
1558.)
On sill of E. window of N. aisle rests the head of
a mediaeval churchyard cross, sculptured with the
rood.
At E. end of churchyard are ruined remains, in
good 14th cent, work, of large chapel of St. Thomas
of Canterbury, with area of 45 ft. by 18 ft. 6 in.
A crypt, running whole length of building, served
as an ossuary or bone-hole. E. window retains
1 This tomb is fully described and illustrated in Journal of
R.I.C., vols. v. and viii.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 65
beautiful flowing tracery of Flamboyant design.
Remains of triple sedilia and piscina.
Near W. entrance to churchyard stands an octa-
gonal pier inscribed, u From the Priory Church,
consecrated 1352." This fine Franciscan church,
of equal dimensions to the parish church, stood
in the centre of the town ; it was desecrated at the
Dissolution and used as an Assize Court up till 1837,
when it was taken down.
At the top of Rhind Street, in midst of present
cemetery, stands the roofless three-staged tower
of another large church pertaining to Guild of Holy
Cross; it was wantonly destroyed in Reformation
days.
Botus Fleming (St. Mary). — Renewed and dedi-
cated in 1259. Chancel, nave of 5 bays, continuous
N. aisle, and W. tower. Of older church, massive
font, 29 in. square, with slightly pointed arcading,
c. 1 190, remains, and effigy of a cross-legged mail-
clad knight, now in N. aisle, supposed to represent
Stephen St. Fleming, founder of church, temp.
Richard I. The 13th cent, church disappeared
during 15th cent. S. porch, S. side of church
and E. window are early in latter cent. To-
wards end of 15th cent., tower and N. aisle
were built. N. aisle has a granite arcade of 5
arches. Second pier from W. end has on its W.
front — carved out of monolith which forms pier —
base and canopy for image of same size, probably
for St. Christopher ; piers E. and W. of this have
E
66 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
also small image brackets cut out of the solid. On
S. side is projection to cover rood - stairs. At
W. end are six-holed parish stocks. Considerable
restoration and re-roofing in 1872-3. (Registers,
1 549-)
Boyton {The Holy Name). — Chancel, nave of 5
bays, S. aisle, S. porch, and W. tower. Rude
font, of Tintagel greenstone, and irregular oval
shape, has been supposed to be Saxon ; but it has
cable moulding and is much more probably early
Norm. Masonry of lower parts of chancel walls
appear to be Norm. Rude piscina niche probably
early 13th cent. Unbuttressed W. tower of 3 stages
has much 14th cent, work, but it was partly rebuilt
in 1692-4. The S. aisle is 15th cent. Base of
rood-screen and 2 bays on S. side remain ; restored
during general restoration in 1876. S. aisle retains
most of old roof. (Registers, 1568.)
Bradock {St. Mary). — Chancel, nave, S. aisle, S.
porch, and N. transept. Certain evidences that this
was originally a Norm, cruciform church. Clumsy
" restorations " of middle of last cent, caused two
granite 17th cent, doorways to be utilised as
entrances to N. transept, and the original windows
were removed. Porch, S. aisle, and general structure
is 15th cent. The old wagon-roof timbers remain in
nave and aisle. Base of rood-screen is in position,
but upper part has been removed to Boconnoc
church. Interesting group of 15 th cent, bench-ends
worked up into a seat at E. end of aisle. Font is
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 67
Trans.-Norm. ; it has a square of 22 in. at top of
bowl, with human heads at angles ; bowl carved
with conventional foliage. (Registers, 13 5 5.)
St. Breage (St. Breacd). — The mother-church of
St. Germoe, St. Cury, and Gunwalloe, consists of
chancel, nave, continuous aisles of 7 bays, shallow
transepts, S. porch, and W. tower. Strenuous but
injudicious restoration in 1 890-1, costing ^4000.
Fabric 15th cent, throughout, but S. aisle later
than its fellow. Three-staged tower is of good and
dignified proportions with fine pinnacles ; 6j ft.
high, exclusive of pinnacles ; panelled tower arch-
way is modern. Substantial buttressed and battle-
mented granite porch resembles that of St. Buryan,
but lacks pinnacles. Flat roofing of N. transept
has some good bosses. Rood-stairs are on N. side.
Stone "altars," with marble mensce, in N. and S.
transepts are not mediaeval ; slabs were found
beneath floors in 1 890-1, and had certainly never
served for altars ; they are of post-Reformation date,
and probably covers of table-tombs. During restora-
tion various remarkable old wall-paintings came to
light and are preserved. The most interesting and
exceptional subject, Christ Blessing the Trades,
has also been found at Lanivet, Linkinhorne, and
St. Just- in - Penwith ; other subjects are St.
Christopher, St. Corantyn, first Bishop of Corn-
wall, St. Hilary, St. Michael, St. Giles, and St.
Thomas of Canterbury. Some slight remains of
old glass, including a Veronica. In S. aisle are 3
68 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
old helmets, 2 of which bear Godolphin crest of
a dolphin. Margaret (Blagge), wife of Sidney, 1st
Earl of Godolphin, was buried here in 1178; there
is a facsimile in brass of coffin plate. New screen
is noteworthy. (Registers, 1559.) *
St. Breock. — Church of St. Breaca (Wadebridge)
is beautifully situated in a little valley with a stream
flowing through N. side of churchyard in a deep
channel. Chancel, nave, S. aisle, and transept,
N. and S. porches, N. transept, and W. tower. Of
13th cent, cruciform church, N. transept arch (re-
built) ; lower part of N. wall of nave and base of
tower remain. In late Dec. period S. aisle was
added with arcade of 6 arches, 2 opening into
chancel. Late in 15th cent, this arcade was recon-
structed, piers being renewed in monolith granite ;
at same time tower was much rebuilt and S. porch
added. The two -light windows of nave and
three-light E. windows of aisle are 14th cent. ;
the three S. windows of aisle, in Catacleuse stone,
are 15th cent. A severe "restoration" of 1881
swept away well - carved oak timbers of roofs
and much old benching, pitch-pine being substi-
tuted. Some fragments of old roofs remain in
porches. Small octagonal 15th cent, font of well-
wrought Catacleuse stone. At E. end of aisle are
various memorials; oldest is an early 13th cent.
1 For a long illustrated account of this church see two articles in
Cornish Magazine, vol. ii (1899), pp. 157, 343 ; there are also 9
plates of the mural paintings in R,I.C.t vol. xiv.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 69
tombstone with floriated cross in relief, and nearly
illegible inscription in Norm.-French on chamfered
edge, commemorating Thomas P , a former vicar.
Here, too, is a slate slab with a many-quartered
shield to Charles Tredeneck, 1578, with remains
of brasses to himself, 2 wives, and 12 children.
Another small brass to Christopher Tredeneck,
1 53 1, sheriff of Cornwall in previous years. Two
other interesting slate memorials are dated 1640 and
1642. These various monuments suffered much
derangement during restoration. A great mural
monument of slate in S. transept, connected with
the Prideaux-Brune family, is upwards of 12 ft.
high. The royal arms are dated 17 10. (Registers,
1561.)
St. Breward. — The church, one of the highest
in situation throughout Cornwall, consists of
chancel with small N. chapel, N. aisle with
shallow transept, S. aisle with arcade of 5 arches,
2 of which open into chancel, S. porch, and
W. tower. The 3 western piers of N. arcade are
Norm., and there is much 12th cent, masonry in
walls of this narrow aisle, and also in E. and N.
sides of chancel, and at W. end of nave on S. side,
where small Norm, window remains. The Norm,
church, with N. aisle, appears to have served until
15 th cent., when S. aisle, with granite monoliths,
S. porch, and tower of 3 stages were erected. It
is possible, however, that the original N. transept
is of 14th cent, date, and it probably had a fellow
70 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
on S. side. This church was for long in a sad
state, but restoration of 1864 was too drastic;
the 3 arches of N. arcade were then rebuilt.
Numerous fine bench-ends disappeared (some are
still extant, worked up into a farm-house settle),
but several, including symbols of Passion and arms
of Bodmin Priory and family of Lower, were gaudily
painted and gilded and worked up into a tasteless
reredos. Parts of other seat-ends and pew rails
form part of rough screen at W. end. The E. end
of N. aisle is screened off from chancel by a par-
close screen, c. 1500; the lower panels have male
and female half-length figures, a Passion shield,
and IHC. S. aisle retains its old wagon roof.
Curious looking font is a "make-up" of 1864;
that which now serves as bowl is probably base of
a Norm, font, whilst present base is the capital of
a Norm, pier reversed. Against S. wall of aisle
is slate top of a table-tomb with man in late
armour and ruff kneeling at desk, and behind him
wife in ruff and hat ; mutilated inscription assigns
it to Christopher Rogers, 1604; tomb was erected
in 1609 by his son Reginald. In same aisle, at N.E.
corner, is a granite table-tomb, 3 ft. 6. in. high, with
slab on the top 5 ft. by 2 ft. IO in.; it is probably
an altar, but there are no incised crosses. Against
front of it is a slate slab to Nicholas Burrough,
1654. On E. wall is slate memorial of William
Billing, of Lanke, 1654, with good border and
arms. Against N. wall of chancel is slate slab of
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 71
a former table-tomb with engraved effigy of man
and wife; it commemorates Lewis Adams, 1607,
vicar for $7 years, " this worke was made at the
coste of John Adams his sonne, 1609." Royal
arms of William III., dated 1700. (Registers, 1558.)
St. Budock. — Chancel, nave, continuous N. aisle,
S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. In 13th cent,
the church was of cruciform plan ; there is a lancet
light remaining in chancel, and another in S.
transept. The E.E. transept arch is of Polyphant
stone. N. transept was lost in 15th cent, aisle;
arcade of 7 arches is supported on monolith granite
piers. The 15th cent, tower of 3 stages is but-
tressed at angles ; growth of ivy excessive. Porch
entrance has panelled jambs. Baseof old screen (/£/#/.
Henry VIII.) across chancel and aisle, with 23 small
panels, 5| in. across, bearing paintings of Saints.
They represent St. James the Great, St. John the
Evangelist, St. Philip, St. Bartholomew, and 4
other Apostles ; prophets ; and 7 virgins, including
St. Barbara and Apolonia. Screen has recently
been restored by Mr. E. Sedding ; there are 9 new
panels left unpainted.1 There is a small opening
through the arcade for access to the rood-loft. In
front of screen is an old bench with ends carved
with initials. Good brass to John Killigrew, " the
first Captaine of Pendennis Castle made by King
Henry the eight and so continued untill the nynth of
1 In 1830 there were 27 painted panels of Saints "in good con-
dition."— Ecdesiologistf xi. 436.
72 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Queen Elizabeth at which time God tooke him to
his mercye being the year of our Lord 1 567 " ;
there are effigies of himself and wife, and various
quartered arms. Also small mural effigies to his
son Sir John Killigrew and wife, 1584, and other
memorials to that family ; also a monument to Sir
Nicholas Parker, 1619. (Registers, 1603.)
St. Buryan. — The old collegiate church of Si.
Buriana, originally founded by King Athelstan in
930, was re-dedicated in 1238 ; it consists of chancel,
nave with continuous aisles, forming parallelogram
<>o of 105 ft. by 43 ft., S. porch, and W. tower 90 ft.
i[ high. Excepting remains of 2 Norm, arches on
J N. side of chancel, present church is throughout
£v late 15th cent. ; it is divided by arcades of 6 arches
on each side. Considerable restoration in 1874,
when most of the wagon roofs were renewed, but
S. aisle retains much of the old carved intersecting
timbers and wall- plates; up to then roofs were
covered with stone slabs. Well-proportioned porch
of surface granite is battlemented and has double
buttresses; a stoup in the N.E. angle. The four-
staged tower of similar granite is double buttressed ;
the half-octagon stair turret rises to height of
pinnacles ; over W. doorway a shield bearing
IHS. The circular font, of sparkling Ludgvan
granite, 26 in. in diameter and 42 in. high, is of
early 14th cent, date; it has 3 shield-bearing
angels round bowl, and a fourth shield with a
Latin cross. Four old misericord stalls remain in
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 73
quires, but the seats are fastened down. Chief glory
of church is the rood-screen, which was dismantled
in 1 8 14, and after remaining in fragments for about
a century was ingeniously reconstructed in 19 10.
By a singular error of judgment, the true pro-
portions, in restoring coved work for support of
rood-loft, have been falsified, although traces of
true levels are most obvious. New work is excel-
lent of its kind and well adapted to the original
fragments ; it is a thousand pities that the whole
screen is now about 2 ft. too high.
Tracery in heads of arched bays remarkably
good, and so are scroll and foliage panels of base.
Double cornice richly carved, upper part with usual
vine pattern, lower with various amalgam of beasts
and birds. Much of original painting and gilding
remains on old parts. At back of stalls are portions
of bases of two side-screens, and cornice beams of
the two sides have been raised to wrong levels.
Rood-stairs in S. wall are of quite exceptional size,
with wide doorways, showing that in this, St. Buryan
being a collegiate church, the rood-loft was used for
ceremonial purposes ; lower doorway measures 6 ft.
10 in. high by 31 in. broad, and opening of steps
is 4 in. There are fairly large coffin-shaped openings
in arcades for transit from rood-loft.
A fine 13th cent, gravestone with cross in relief
under tower, and inscription in Norm.-French to
Clarice, wife of Geoffrey Bollest, promising ten days
of pardon to those praying for her soul.
74 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
For a full account of the highly interesting
sanctuary rights pertaining to the church and
precincts of St. Buryan, see Dr. Cox's Sanctuaries
and Sanctuary Seekers (191 1).1 (Registers, 1653.)
Callington (St. Mary). — Present church, con-
secrated on 31 August, 1438, is a well-built
structure of granite, consisting of chancel with N.
chapel, clerestoried nave of 4 bays, aisles, S. porch,
and W. tower. Much restoration in 1858-9, and
in 1882 enlarged by a second N. aisle. Though
an old market-town and borough, Callington was
for several centuries merely a chapelry of South
Hill. The fine Norm, font points, however, to a
chapel of some size and importance in early days ;
it is of Hicks Mill Greystone, 29 in. square and
36 in. high, with human heads at angles of rim ;
. on N. and W. faces of bowl are large roundles
® divided into 8 rays, whilst the other faces are
carved with conventional branches. The chapel
!* had no sepulchral rites, and in 1436 Nicholas
2* Assheton and townsfolk, supported by Humphrey,
- Earl of Stafford, the patron, and the Prince of St.
' a. Germans, petitioned Bishop Lacy to be saved ex-
01 pense and inconvenience of carrying their dead 3
i « miles to South Hill. The prayer was granted in
1438, when, through the generosity of Nicholas
Assheton, a judge of much repute, the chapel had
been rebuilt on so fine a scale. A fine brass to the
1 There are two good papers on this church by Mr. Thurstan
Peter in vol. i. of Cornish Magazine (1&98).
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 75
judge and his wife 011 chancel floor represents him
in long fur-trimmed gown, and wearing close-fitting
cap or coif, absurdly termed M a wig " by local
guide-book writers ; his wife, Margaret (Brooke),
wears kirtle, with fur cuffs and collar, and veil
head-dress; matrices of 2 shields, and of groups
of 5 sons and 6 daughters remain ; he died in
1465 ; a eulogistic Latin epitaph in hexameter and
pentameter verse. The church erected by Assheton
in place of the dilapidated chapel {Jianc ruinosam
capellaui) is of somewhat imposing appearance,
as it is built of large blocks of ashlar granite, and
is embattled throughout. The tower of 3 stages
has double buttresses which reach to top of second
stage ; at angles of string-course of that stage are
well-carved demi-angels in dark Polyphant stone,
and from these figures rise bases of 4 tall octagonal
pinnacles with crocketed finials. Window tracery
throughout is of original early Perp. style ; 5 light
E. window of chancel is of fine size and proportions.
On S. side is projection for rood-loft stairs. Chancel
extends on this side a bay beyond aisle, but on
N. side aisle is flush with chancel. At N.W. and
S.W. angles of original aisles were stairways lead-
ing to roofs; the one on N. was moved in 1882
in angle of new aisle. Nave possesses that very
rare feature in Cornwall, a clerestory ; it has 3 two-
light windows on S., and 4 on the N. A lofty
wagon roof to nave with large bosses at intersec-
tion of timbers ; original plaster has happily been
76 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
retained within its panels. Arcades have each 4 lofty
arches ; beneath eastern arch, on N. side, is a fine
alabaster effigy of Sir Robert Willoughby, 1502;
he was created Lord Willoughby de Broke in 1492,
and by marriage with Blanche, heiress of Sir John
Champernowal, acquired manor of Callington. The
details of effigy and tomb are of much interest.
Over his armour the knight wears mantle of Order
of the Garter, together with collar and badge. At
soles of feet are two diminutive figures of friars with
their beads ; this is not a " unique " arrangement
as generally stated, it occurs on one of the Fitzherbert
effigies at Norbury, Derbyshire. Shields in front of
table-tomb bear the arms of Willoughby de Broke,
Latimer, Cheyney, and Stafford. S. door is origi-
nal and has plain hinges and a good closing-ring,
about which the usual nonsense as to a "sanctuary
ring" is current. To E. of entrance are the re-
mains of niche for stoup. Within the porch is the
massive mensa of an altar, measuring 5 ft. y\ in.
by 2 ft. 4 in., and about 8 in. thick ; note the
aperture in the surface, 6 in. by 2 in., wherein
the relics were sealed at time of altar's consecration.
Tower was gutted by fire on 2nd July, 1895.
In churchyard is a good cross, with sculptured
head, 8 ft. 3 in. high, evidently coeval with re-
building of church, and of same style as that at
St. Mawgan-in-Pyder. (Registers, 1558.)
Calstock {St. Andrew). — Chancel, nave of 4
bays, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Rebuilt
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 77
throughout late in 15 th cent., the arcades of granite
with monolith piers. Rood-stairs in N. wall, o
Restored in 1886-7, when large wall-painting ofoi
St. George and the Dragon was brought to light <o
over N. arcade; it is now much damaged. An u
Edgcumbe mortuary chapel added to E. end of *?
N. aisle in 1558; herein are tombs of Richard
Edgcumbe, 1585; Piers Edgcumbe, 1660; and
Jemima, Countess of Sandwich, 167 1. In porch
are stones to Griffin Steven, 1591, and to John
Steven, 1625. In S. aisle is letter of Charles I.
(Registers, 1656.)
Camborne (St. Meriadocus), afterwards changed
to St. Martin. — Chancel, nave of 7 bays, aisles,
S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. The fabric
is granite and late 15th cent, throughout. Restored
in 1862, and new S. aisle built in 1878-9. An
ancient altar-slab, below present altar-table, has
Etruscan key-pattern border; inscribed, in Anglo-
Saxon lettering, Levint jussit hec altare pro anima
sua. Rough undersurface has the five incised
consecration crosses, a unique position ; it seems
to indicate that mensa was hallowed by bishop
before being lowered on the relics in a cavity of
the actual altar. Rood-stairs are in N. wall. A
few late 15 th cent, bench-ends. The circular
granite font is modern. Some fine monuments of
the Pendarves family, from 1655 to 1853. (Regi-
sters, 1538.)
Cardinham (St. Mawbred). — Chancel, nave, S.
78 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
aisle of 6 bays, N. aisle of 5 bays, S. porch, and
W. tower of 3 stages ; granite throughout, and late
15th cent. date. A wealth of old oak seats of 15th
and 1 6th cent, designs; 71 carved bench-ends in
all. Wagon-roofs of aisles retain old carved timbers;
note remains of colouring in N. aisle roof, especi-
ally at E. end. Singular brass effigy to Thomas
Awmarle, rector from 1356 to 1401, represents him
wearing a gown, with an anelace or short sword
by his side. Interesting sepulchral slab bears
mutilated inscription, which Mr. Sedding thus
translates : " Here lies buried Q . . . (? Goodman)
rightly so called. He died on the 3rd day of May
after the feast of the aerial flight, 1404. God stand
by to have mercy on his soul." In the course of a
restoration of 1872, various fragments of crosses,
some with Saxon knotwork, came to light, as well
as parts of a curious wall inscription dated St.
Faith's Day, 1200. See RJ.C, v. 361-5, with
plates. (Registers, 1701.)
St. Cleer, or Claerius. — Chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower. There is one Norm.
feature, namely, N. doorway, moved when N.
aisle was built, and a good deal " restored " when
fabric was roughly treated in 1877. Over outer
semi-circular archway is bold chevron moulding,
but inner archway, ornamented with star-like
diaper, is pointed ; the pointed archway is result
of one or other of repairs or changes. Font is
Trans.-Norm.; bowl is 25 in. square, with slightly
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 79
pointed arcading on 3 sides and fourth left plain.
Arcade of N. aisle has 5 arches and octagonal piers;
it is c. 1400. S. arcade, of Polyphant stone, has
4 arches, and is of last quarter of 15th cent.;
capitals are varied and noteworthy. Rest of church
is also of this late date, but hardly a single old
window is left ; they were chiefly renewed in Poly-
phant stone in 1877. Windows of N. aisle square-
headed, and those of S. pointed. Squint at E. end
of N. aisle with piscina below it ; chancel piscina
is below a square almonry recess. The creed held
by Robert Langeford is recited at length in a
strange epitaph on his tomb, 1614. Royal arms,
1708. In 1904 further restoration, when new
handsome screen, with rood, was introduced right
across church, but old level was unfortunately not
retained, and proportions are wrong. New pul-
pit was added, richly carved, but material is
unhappily deal. Chief beauty of this church
remains to be noted. Noble granite tower, 97 ft.
high, is one of handsomest in county. It is of 3
stages with double buttresses at the angles. These
buttresses are carried up nearly to summit, ter-
minating in crocketed finials attached to masonry.
From angles of battlements spring substantial
octagonal pinnacles surmounted by crocketed
finials. Bell-chamber windows are three-light
pointed examples with good formal tracer}' ; W.
doorway has massive squared hood-mould with
foliage ornaments in spandrels. (Registers, 1678.)
80 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Clement. — Chancel, nave, continuous S. aisle,
N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. Remains of
13th cent, work in transept and on N. side of nave,
but almost entirely rebuilt, save the tower, in 1865.
Mr. E. H. Sedding writes with just severity as to
this " lamentable mutilation . . . when the old
roofs, benches, and nearly everything else of interest
were swept away." A few pieces of carved roofing
preserved in porch. Under tower is a low screen
of modern boarding supported by a number of strips
of coarsely carved old oak. These strips quite
obviously served as wall-plates, but a brass plate on
wall states that this screen, erected in 1908, is
formed out of remnants of "the rood-screen dis-
covered in 1865 " ! There is not a square inch of
the rood-screen in the whole work, and it was
definitely stated at time of restoration that there
were no screen traces. Octagonal granite font is of
14th cent., tracery on 4 panels. Close to font are 6-
holed stocks. Two lower stages of tower are 13th
cent., though altered when top stage was added in
15th cent. A wall-painting of St. Christopher came
to light in 1849, but this and various other interest-
ing mural designs were destroyed in 1865.1
Access to the churchyard is gained on the W.
over a filled-up Cornish style beneath a picturesque
slate-hung " church-house," now used as vestry and
parish room. (Registers, 1543.)
St. Clether. — Wholly rebuilt in 1865 in E.E. style,
1 R.I. C, ii. 43-6. A plate is given of a most remarkable female
figure on the splay of one of the windows.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 81
with exception of 15th cent, granite tower of 3
stages. Plain circular bowl of early Norm, font
remains, but base modern. Parts of old Norm, piers
and capitals reused in arcade between nave and S.
aisle. (Registers, 1640.)
St. Golan. — This little church, erected (or probably
re-erected) by Bishop Branscombe c. 1250, consists
of chancel, nave of 5 bays, N. aisle, S. transept, S.
porch, and W. tower. Originally a cruciform E.E.
church, of which there are some traces. S. door-
way is 14th cent. About 1430 N. transept got lost
in an aisle with usual granite arcading. Porch
is c. 1500. Tower rebuilt in 1879; considerable
restoration in 1884. Base of old rood-screen re-
mains and stairway from S. transept. Against S.
wall of chancel are brasses, with shields of arms and
inscription to John Cosowarth, receiver-general of
the Duchy, 1575, with wife, 7 sons and 1 daughter.
In N. aisle are brass effigies of Francis Bluet, 1572,
wife, and 22 children. (Registers, 1665.)
St. Columb Major {St. Columbd). — This fine
church comprises chancel with aisles, transepts, nave
of 3 bays with aisles, N. and S. porches, and W.
tower. S. porch, with upper chamber, has wall-
flower ornament in hollow of mouldings, c. 1300. *•
Arcades of nave, of Beer stone, somewhat later, as <^
well as general features of transepts and chancel. £
Mr. E. H. Sedding considers piers of arcades, parti- £
cularly on S. side, different stone to arches and of -
earlier date, and believes them to be reused fromearlier
F
82 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Trans.-Norm. church. Chancel used to extend 10
ft. further E., but it was injured by accidental dis-
charge of gunpowder, stored therein, in 1676. S.
chancel aisle rebuilt by Sir John Arundell, of Lan-
herne, early in 15th cent. A fine brass of 1545,
with effigies of Sir John Arundell, 2 wives, Eliza-
beth (Grey) and Katharine (Grenville), and 5 of
their children, and several quartered shields and
inscription. Another good brass, with effigies, is to
Sir John Arundell, 1592, wife Anna (Stanley). 1602,
and 2 sons and 5 daughters. N. porch formerly
had upper chamber, stairs remain. Lofty W. tower
of 3 stages is of two dates : lower stages 14th cent.,
but buttresses and top stage 15th cent.; it stands
out clear on 3 sides of nave, without any archway in
its W. wall, but there are open N. and S. archways.
Octagonal font, with grotesque faces, is early 14th
cent., and there are several good piscinae also of
Dec. period. Excellent series of carved 15th cent,
bench-ends, and much old work in nave roof, but all
old screen-work has disappeared. During repairs of
1846 old mensa of high altar was found, and re-
placed on 4 granite shafts. Further restoration in
1867, and between 1902 and 1905 upwards of ,£9000
was spent on costly scheme of restoration, including
beautiful chancel screen with rood, and other screen-
work. Whole church now in dignified and wor-
shipful order. (Registers, 1539; Churchwardens'
Accounts, 1585.)
St. Columb Minor {St. Columba). — Chancel and
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 83
nave with continuous aisles, S. porch, and W. tower.
Arcades are of 4 bays in nave and 2 in chancel.
Mr. Sedding thinks the arches, like those of St.
Columb Major, are 14th cent. Beer stone, but that
the granite piers point to 13th cent, reconstruction.
S. entrance and porch are also 14th cent. Lofty
well-proportioned tower, about 100 ft. high, is late
15th cent. Squared late Norm, font has central and
4 angle shafts with heads for capitals. In vestry
are several old bench-ends ; also some fragments of
old chancel screen, which was long esteemed as the
best carved and best painted in Cornwall ; it was
destroyed in 1795. Rood-loft stairs are on N.
side, and there are small passages through arcade
walls. Unusually large painting of Charles II. arms
against N. wall of nave. Considerable restoration
in 1889. (Registers, 1560.)
St. Constantine. — This beautifully situated and
finely proportioned 15th cent, church, on the Helford
River, consists of chancel, nave, S. aisle, double N.
aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Almost entirely of
granite, extensively quarried in this parish. Double-
buttressed tower is good example of plain granite
work. S. arcade has 6 arches, N. 7, and extreme
N. aisle or Bosahan chapel 3 ; all supported on
monolith piers. S. aisle the oldest. Outer N.
aisle early 16th cent. Remains of wall-painting
show mitred head and hand of a bishop. Fine
tower archway badly moulded. Tower of 3 stages
with panelled pinnacles ; uppermost string carved
84 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
with quatrefoils. Note S. rood-stairs, sedilia, and
stoup in porch. Much good woodwork perished
during restoration of 1859-62, but 3 richly carved
panels of rood-screen remain at west end of south
aisle. Later restorations of parts of fabric in
1878, 1883, 1899, and 1 901. The brasses to
Richard Gerveys, 1574, and his wife Jane (Tre-
fusys) have effigies of parents and 16 children;
they are palimpsests, having 14th cent. Flemish
work on reverse ; exhibited to Society of Anti-
quaries in i860. In Bosahan aisle brasses to John
Pendarves, 1616, his wife Malior (Gerveys), 1607,
and 2 children. Also monument to Jane (Penticost),
wife of William Thomas, 1597. (Registers, 1581.)
Comelly (St. Cornelius). — Small church consists
of chancel, nave, N. aisle of 2 bays, S. porch, and
W. turret. Chancel considerably rebuilt in 1886,
and rest of church over-restored in 1900. Walls
chiefly 13th cent. E.E. lancet in N. wall of nave,
and another in W. projection for carrying a bell-
turret. In 15th cent, several windows inserted, and
turret raised with battlements and pinnacles like a
diminutive tower. In porch are good wagon roof
carved timbers. "The font," says Mr. Sedding,
"appears to be a poor copy of a Norm, one, made
probably in the seventeenth century," but Mr. Peter
considers it Norm. (Registers, 1563.)
St. Grantock. — The church of St, Carantoc, a
Welsh saint and associate of St. Patrick in Ireland,
is of much historic repute ; it consists of chancel
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 85
with aisles, shallow transepts, aisles, nave of 2 bays,
S. porch, and W. tower. St. Carantoc founded
here an oratory in 5th cent. In days of Edward
Confessor an establishment of canons on this site ;
collegiate church refounded by Bishop Bruere in
13th cent, for dean and 10 prebendaries. Cruci-
form church here in Norm, days ; remains in crossing
where there used to be central tower, in N. transept,
and in walls of the nave. Quire was reconstructed
on large scale by Bishop Bruere (1224-45), and
tower added at W. end of short Norm, nave ; cen-
tral tower had probably given way. Quire with its
aisles now measures 44 ft. by 40 ft. in breadth ;
recent excavations show it used to extend 9 ft. fur-
ther E. Rebuilt, together with transepts, towards
close of 14th cent. In 1377 Bishop Brantingham
ordered dean and canons to give immediate atten-
tion to perilous state of tower, and by will of 1394
left money towards its completion. But in 141 2
tower fell, destroying much of nave ; Bishop Stafford
then called upon the faithful to help in work of
restoration. Lower stages of tower show that
much of 13th cent, work held good; remainder is
interesting 15th cent, restoration, old corbel table
being reused below battlements. Late Norm, font
has date 1474 in relief on bowl ; probably the time
of its repair after fall of tower. Five uprights of old
screen, showing it was of same exceptional con-
struction as that of St. Mawgan-in-Pyder, have been
incorporated into beautiful new screen. Most of
86 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
late 14th cent, parclose screen of S. chapel is also
original.
This church long remained in state of piteous
dilapidation and squalor, to the disgrace of patron
and lay rector (who draws upwards of £400 in
tithes), the parishioners and all concerned. But on
appointment of Rev. G. M. Parsons to this vicarage
(net income of which averages less than ^30 per
annum) a new era dawned. Active work of re-
storation began in 1899, and church was re-opened
in July 1902. The whole work was carried out on
faithful conservative lines by Mr. Edmund Sedding,
under the immediate control of the vicar. The
vicar's labour of love was continued with much
skill and reverent assiduity for much longer than
the latter date. This ancient collegiate church is
once again in possession of its former glory of
screen-work, stalls, and seats, as well as of a wealth
of carved imagery and coloured glass ; it is now
one of the most beautiful sanctuaries in the W. of
England, and a happy centre of reverent worship.
The windows of the nave depict the various
picturesque incidents in the interesting life of
St. Carantoc. (Registers, 1559.)
St. Greed (St. Cridd). — Chancel, nave of 5 bays,
continuous S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and W.
tower. Probably a cruciform church in Norm. days.
Against E. wall of transept Norm, piscina shaft with
chevron mouldings; above it trefoiled 13th cent,
niche; shaft rests on substantial mensa of small
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 87
altar, 55 in. by 36 in., and 13 in. deep. S. transept
disappeared in 15th cent., when S. aisle was added,
together with 3 - staged double-buttressed tower
with good octagonal pinnacles. Five arches of aisle
arcade are St. Stephen's stone. Pointed windows
of aisle are among best Perp. work of county, and
good carving in wagon roof. Sill of E. window
lowered for reredos. Cinquefoil-headed acutely
pointed piscina niche of chancel is noteworthy.
Font an excellent E.E. example, early in 13th
cent. ; bowl 36 in. in diameter, octagonal, with 2
pointed arcades on each face ; central shaft original,
but 4 smaller octagonal shafts renewed in lighter
stone. Early 16th cent, porch has triple shafts in
entrance jambs ; roof, vaulted with St. Stephen's
stone, has 3 ribs, and is curiously carved. Rood-
stairs, with lower and upper doorways, in angle of
transept, and a low square opening through the
arcade. Interesting fragments of rood-screen re-
cently restored so as to form N. half of base;
undercut carving of uprights differs from any other
woodwork in county. Note various fragments of
old glass in tracery lights of S. windows; 17th
cent, shaft alms-box, with iron lid and 3 hasps ;
small Jacobean altar-table in transept; Charles I.
letter of thanks over S. door ; and royal arms of
George IV. over N. door, painted over those of
Charles II. At E. end of aisle is an engraved slate
table-tomb to Thomas Denys, 1559, his wife Marion,
1570, and son Henry, B.C.L., 1602.
88 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
The church was well and conservatively restored
by Mr. D. B. Peter in 1904. (Registers, 1653.)
St. Crowan (St. Crewend). — Chancel, nave,
aisles, and W. tower. Far too drastically restored
in 1872. Fabric of granite throughout of 15th
and 1 6th cent, date, but S. aisle rebuilt in 1872,
when old roofs and other good carved work were
swept away. Three wide arches between N. aisle
and nave are temp. Henry VIII., but 3 smaller
ones between chancel and N. chancel aisle are de-
based Elizabethan. Good 15 th cent, tower, of three
stages, about 70 ft. high. Square Norm, font has
dragons at base of circular shaft. In S.E. angle of
chancel there is a piece of Norm, lozenge moulding.
Rood-stairs and doorways are on N. side. In N.
chancel aisle are 3 mediaeval brasses to St. Aubyn
family, though some engraved in Polwhele's History
of Cornwall (18 16) have disappeared. Capitals of
piers of N. arcade have shield - bearing angels ;
the escutcheons charged with arms of St. Aubyn
impaling Kymyel ; the same are over exterior of
priest's door. Geoffrey St. Aubyn, sheriff in 1398,
married Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Pier
Kymyel, of Clowance. (Registers, 1692.)
St. Cubert (St. Cuthbert). — Chancel, nave of 4
bays, S. aisle, transepts, S. porch, and W. tower with
broached spire. Struck by lightning in 1848, when
much of spire and tower fell, damaging body of
church. Spire rebuilt and repairs effected by Mr.
G. E. Street in 1832, when many windows were
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 89
renewed. Only old windows are the two-light 14th
cent, one in N. wall of chancel, and another of three
lights in S. wall of aisle. Tower and spire, N. door-
way of nave, and arch into N. transept are early
14th cent. S. aisle, extended level with chancel, and
S. transept added in 15th cent. In this transept is
a monumental recess or founder's tomb. Highly
interesting late Norm, font differs from all others in
county ; square, with central and corner shafts, bowl
adorned with elaborated circles and bands of star
ornament in shallow relief. Pulpit made up of old
bench-ends ; chancel and aisle wagon roofs retain
much of old carved timbers. Built into W. exterior
of tower base is rude pillar stone of granite, with
name, in debased Roman lettering, of a Christian
interment, probably 7th cent. Inscription reads,
CONETOCI FILI TEGERNO MALI (see Langdon's
" Early Christian Monuments " in vol. i. of Victoria
County History of Cornivall). Further repairs in
1904. (Registers, 1733.)
St. Cuby. — Chancel, nave, N. transept, S. porch,
and W. tower. The whole, with exception of 14th
cent, tower of 2 stages, and stone-vaulted 15th
cent, porch, poorly rebuilt in 1828. Pulpit made
up of bench-ends and fragments of old screen.
Good square Norm, font, supported by central and
4 corner shafts, with angels' heads as capitals ; bowl
diversely ornamented, on W. a dragon, and on N. a
conventional lily. At N.W. angle of church, a block
of porphyritic elvan, 4 ft. 6 in. by 2 ft., has been
9o THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
built in; inscribed, in 4 lines, in debased Roman
capitals, NonnitaErcilini (?) Rigati Tris Fili
ERCILINCI. This rude pillar stone, recording death
of three sons of Ercilincus, is 5th or 6th cent. (See
Langdon's "Early Christian Monuments" in vol. i. of
Victoria County Histoiy of Cornwall?) (Registers,
included in those of Tregony, 1571.)
St. Cury (St. Corantyn). — Church, re-dedicated
by Bishop Branscombe in 1261, consists of chancel,
nave of 6 bays, N. aisle, S. transept or " Bochym
aisle," S. porch, and W. tower. Much restoration in
1873-4. S. doorway, under small modern porch, a
rich example of advanced Norm, with tympanum
curiously carved with interlaced rings. Nave,
chancel, and transept are chiefly early 14th cent.
The 15th cent. N. aisle destroyed former cruciform
appearance of the fabric. E. window of this aisle
has had sill lowered for reredos ; splay of inner arch
is panelled with quatrefoils and other ornaments, a
most unusual feature. At junction of chancel and
transept is one of those singular passage squints,
formed by large chamfer of angle, supported by
detached shaft. Externally wall has been thickened
into two rounded projections, in smaller of which is
a low-side window. Rood-stairs pass over this
passage, and there is another stairway in N. wall.
Circular Norm, font stands on central and 4 smaller
shafts (renewed), with capitals up to rim; quatrefoils
on bowl cut at later date. Two-staged granite tower
is 15th cent.; over W. doorway is IHC; N.E. turret
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 91
rises above battlements. Parts of carved timbers of
aisle are original. In churchyard stands an excep-
tionally tall old granite cross, 9 ft. 2 in. high, with
wheel head. (See Langdon's Old Cornish Crosses,
pp. 267-8.) (.Registers, 1690.)
92 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Davidstow. — Large church of St. David con-
sists of chancel, nave of 5 bays, aisles, S. porch, and
W. tower. Restoration, or rather reconstruction of
almost all the fabric except tower, has deprived it
of much interest. Lofty 1 5th cent, tower of 3 stages
has double buttresses up to parapet, which is not
embattled. Good S. entrance within modern porch
has four-leaved flowers in hollow of mouldings and
•♦o quatrefoils in spandrels of square of hood-mould.
'-' Some old bench-ends, on one of which a man is
playing a bagpipe. There used to be considerable
2* portions of rood-screen, as well as of a parclose
screen [Exeter Dioc. A rch. Soc, iv. 289) ; some parts of
latter are now at W. end of church. Two monuments
in slate to members of Pearse family, 1638 and 1668,
as well as several others of later date. Granite slab
states that church was rebuilt in 1875, in memory of
three centuriesof this family. All the fundswere found
by Miss Pearse, of Launceston. (Registers, 1709.)
St. Dennis. — The church of St. Denys is a plain
rectangular building, with W. tower of 2 stages ;
rebuilt in 1847. The 14th cent, tower and parts of
S. porch are all that remain of old fabric. Former
church had S. aisle and N. transept. When old
church was shamelessly pulled down, arcade be-
tween nave and aisle was transferred to new church
of Nanpean. Royal arms are dated 171 1. (Regis-
ters, 1687.)
St. Dominic. — The church of St. Dominica was
re-dedicated in 1263, but reconstructed throughout c.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 93
1450. Chancel, nave with continuous aisles, S. porch,
and W. tower. E. arcade has 5 arches and N. 4 ;
material granite, and nave of piers monoliths. Good
three-light Perp. windows each end of aisles,
whilst the E. window of chancel is of four lights.
Font new, with crocketed cover. In S. wall of -
chancel is a trefoil-headed piscina niche, and similar £-
almery niche beyond; these are possibly 13th cent. ,
Piscina niche of S. aisle is square-headed. Rood- ^
loft stairs on N. side, covered externally by a projec-
tion ; both doorways remain, and also low openings
through arches. Old woodwork severely handled
during restoration of 1873, but some excellently
carved timbers remain in roof of porch. Tower pre-
sents a singular appearance, for top stage rests upon
a corbel table. Explanation is that two lowest stages
mainly pertain to 13th cent, church, and when 15th
cent, builders raised tower they did not remove old
parapet, but incorporated it with new work. At E.
end of S. aisle is a table-tomb, with effigies of Sir
Anthony Rous and his son Ambrose ; an elaborate
canopy supported on 12 marble pillars, which used
to stand over the tomb, has been removed. Though
the elaborate tomb is dated 1659 on the cornice, Sir
Anthony, twice sheriff and sometime knight of the
shire, died in 1622, and his son Ambrose, M.P. for
Launceston, in 1620. (Registers, 161 1.)
Duloe. — Large church of St. Cuby, re-dedicated
in 132 1, consists of chancel with N. aisle, nave,
transepts, N. aisle, S. porch, and tower on S. side.
94 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
A costly but too vigorous restoration in 1863.
Piers of 4 arches of N. aisle arcade, of Pentewan
stone, have good capitals carved with fleur-de-lis.
Hollow mouldings of pier and 2 arches of N.
chancel aisle are enriched with delicate and
beautiful carving of 15th cent. Vine trails and
grapes on this arcade admirably executed; arms
of Colshill and other heraldic bearings form part
of the composition. In this aisle stands a table-
tomb panelled with quatrefoils and shields, and
bearing a bas-relief of the Crucifixion at W. end ;
on it the effigy in plate-armour of Sir John Colshill,
with collar of SS., 1483. Good screen to N. chapel ;
old chancel screen altered in 1 863 to serve as screen
to N. transept. W. end of nave strongly buttressed.
Tower adjoins S. transept, but no communication
with church; mainly 13th cent., and must have
belonged to an earlier fabric. It is of two stages ;
there used to be a third stage, but it was out of
the perpendicular and taken down in 1863, when
pyramidal roof of slate was substituted. Large
octagonal 15th cent, font of granite, 46 in. high
and 37 in. in diameter, is boldly carved with shields
in quatrefoils. Rood-loft stairs proceed from N.
chapel. Another monument is to Sir John Arundell
of Trerice, who held Pendennis Castle for Charles
I. in 1646, at the age of 87; he died in 1647. Along
and very quaint rhymed epitaph to Maria Arundell,
1629, is based on the fact that her name makes the
anagram of Man a dry laurell. (Registers, 1668.)
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 95
Egloshayle. — The fine church of St. Helie con-
sists of chancel, nave, continuous S. aisle, short
N. aisle, S. porch, and W. tower 82 ft. high.
Fabric is 15th cent., save for some possible Norm,
foundations on N. side, and N. doorway, temp.
Edward I., which now opens into a vestry. Large
well-proportioned S. aisle, 79 ft. by 16 ft., has
arcade of 6 arches with monolith granite piers ;
fine range of four-light windows, and five-light
E. window of this aisle are the best examples of
Perp. work in the county ; jambs are moulded
within and without. On N. side another aisle
was begun, but only 2 arches and half of a third
built. S. porch also shows excellent craftsmanship.
Beautiful tower with lofty pinnacles stands out so
well when viewed from the other side of the Camel
estuary ; it is supposed to have been built c. 1470
by John Loveybond, founder of the celebrated
bridge of Wadebridge. The notable W. doorway
of Catacleuse stone has on N. side arms or rather
cognisance of Loveybond, namely, 3 hearts banded
together with a ribbon inscribed with word " Lovey-
bound"; on S. side are arms of Kestell impaling
Ravenscroft. In jamb mouldings 2 snakes are
quaintly introduced, one on the N. side ascend-
ing, and one on S. side descending; their bodies
are utilised as members of the moulding. Square
Norm, font with arcaded sides, supported by cylin-
drical base and 4 small shafts at angles. The
15th cent, pulpit of Caen stone carved with emblems
96 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
of the Passion ; not a little spoilt by enlargement
at time of restoration. Wagon roof of S. aisle has
exceptionally good carved timbers. Only trace of
rood-loft is the opening in arcade. Many fragments
of screen-work and old bench-ends disappeared dur-
ing restoration of 1867. At that time an effectively
carved mural slate memorial, erected in 1581, was
moved from aisle to beneath tower; it commemo-
rates various members of the Kestell family from
1520 to 1578. A Molesworth monument against
N. wall of nave is notable for bust of Dame Barbara
Molesworth, wife of 4th baronet, and for ecstatic
conclusion of turgid epitaph : — " To deliver to pos-
terity a description of the beauty of her mind would
be as equally vain as the sculptor's attempt in the
above resemblance of her face. The one was superior
to art, the other to imagination." The monument is
undated, but she died in 1735. (Registers, 1600.)
Egloskerry (St. Petrock). — Chancel, nave, N.
transept, S. aisle, S. porch, and W. tower 59 ft.
high. This was a Norm, cruciform church, it lost
S. transept in favour of a 15th cent, aisle with 5
arches on monolith granite piers. N. and S. Norm,
doorways had each a tympanum, the former sculp-
tured with a dragon remains in situ ; a remarkable
Agnus Dei of the latter is over present entrance.
Note plain Norm, font, and shaft piscina in chancel ;
jambs of N. transept also of that period, as well as
much of N. wall of nave. Far too thoroughly re-
stored in 1886-7. Rood-stairs are entered from
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 97
transept. In Penheale aisle is alabaster effigy, 14th
cent., of a layman, not hitherto identified with any
certainty ; it is usually absurdly misdescribed.
Kelly's Directory considers that it represents "an
Italian flower-girl " ! On the wall are helmet and
gauntlets, and various 17th cent, memorials to
the Speccotts of the great manor of Penheale.
(Registers, 1576.)
St. Endellion (St. Endelientd). — Chancel, nave,
continuous aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Fabric
wholly 15th cent. S. doorway is one of the best
wrought in granite in county. Arcades, 5 on each
side, have monolith piers. Stoup within church
by S. entrance is most exceptional ; it is of Cata-
cleuse stone and carved with well-executed acorns
and arms of Roscarrock, Chenduit, and Pentire.
Note also simple circular font of Norm, date ;
rood-stairs of N. aisle ; many good bench-ends ;
uninscribed Catacleuse table-tomb in S. aisle;
table-tomb in chancel with matrices of brasses ;
and sepulchral slate slab in N. aisle to John
Roscarrock, 1537. Restored in 1877; when old
carved wagon roofs escaped almost scathless from
hands of restoring architect ; old plaster remains
between timbers. Under tower is an 18th cent,
panel bearing following belfry rhymes, with 6 bells
painted at head, and 6 ringers quaintly attired in
alternate red and black small-clothes : —
We ring the Quick to Church and dead to grave,
Good is our use, such usage let us have,
G
98 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Who here therefore doth Damn Curse or Swear,
Or strike in quarrel though no Blood appear,
Who wears a Hatt or Spurr, or turns a Bell
Or by unskillful handling spoils a Peal
Shall Sixpence pay for every single Crime
'Twill make him careful against another time
Let's all in love and friendship hither come
Whilst the shrill treble calls to Thundering torn
And since Bells are our modest Recreation
Let's rise betimes and fall to Admiration.1
(Registers, 1732.)
St. Enoder (St. Ennodorus). — Chancel and nave,
continuous aisles, N. transept, S. porch, and
W. tower. Chancel arcades and that of N. aisle
15th cent., but nave arcade of S. aisle 14th
cent. Transept and porch late 15th cent; former
has remarkable N. window of lattice tracery. A
"thorough restoration" of 1870 brought about
renewal of many windows. Much of tower fell
in 1686, and it was then rebuilt. Interesting
circular Norm, font, of St. Stephen stone, has
4 heads and unusual basket-work design round
rim. Much of old roofs remain, and many good
bench-ends ; 4 panels of old rood-screen are worked
up in pulpit. (Registers, 1 571.)
St. Enodoc. — The interesting little church of
St. Gwinedoc, a chapelry of St. Minver, is cele-
brated for having been for several generations
almost entirely overwhelmed by sand; unburied
1 See list of ringers' rhymes in Index.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 99
and carefully restored in 1863. Chancel, nave,
S. aisle of 3 bays extending along the chancel
and incorporating S. transept, N. transept, S. porch,
and tower and spire adjoining transept. A small
cruciform church here in Norm, days with tower on
N. ; it can be readily traced in all the walls, save
where interfered with by 15th cent, aisle and porch.
Spire a 13th cent, addition. Doorway under porch
14th cent. Piscina of chancel is curious ; takes the
form of a projecting bracket from S. wall, 45 in.
from ground. Small round font, with cable mould-
ing between bowl and base, is Norm. Base of 15th
cent, rood-screen remains, restored and recoloured.
In churchyard is a collection of old stone mortars
arranged on pedestals, generally supposed to be
holy -water stoups ! In reality mere domestic
mortars, such as were used in every household in
bygone times. They were recovered from neigh-
bouring sand-heaps ; when church was gradually
overwhelmed, the like fate overtook a small group
of dwellings. The real holy-water stoup is W. of
S. entrance ; bad taste has fitted it with a lid to
serve as an alms-box.
St. Erme (St. Hermes). — Chancel, nave of 5
bays, transepts, and W. tower. With exception
of fine three-staged 15th cent, tower, this church
was rebuilt throughout in 1819-20; considerable
repairs in 1908. Old 15th cent, arcade has been
reused for S. aisle, and some old carved timbers
were replaced in roofs. Noteworthy font with
ioo THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
conventional foliage is Trans.-Norm. In N. tran-
sept is a brass, with kneeling effigies and arms, to
Richard Trencreek, 1594, wife and 4 children.
(Registers, 1671.)
St. Erney. — Chancel, nave, N. aisle, N. and S.
porches, and W. tower. E. window of chancel,
with interlaced tracery, is good example of early
Dec. work. Low tower also Dec, but with heavy
modern buttresses. N. aisle, with arcade of 4
arches and monolith granite piers, 15th cent.
Heavy Purbeck font, of irregular squared shape,
is early Norm. Restoration of 1872 swept away
much old woodwork ; both porches are of that date.
In aisle a slate memorial to Henry Hody, 1636,
with engraved border. (Registers incorporated
with those of Landrake.)
St. Erth. — Church is a parallelogram, 70 ft. by
55 ft., divided into three by arcades of 6 arches,
and having also S. porch and W. tower. It is a
good example of early Per p. work, c. 1400, but
severely restored in 1874, several portions being
rebuilt. Tower is of 3 stages ; " at the angles of
the uppermost string-course are grotesque figures
of dogs and other animals, the only instance
of this kind of decoration in West Cornwall "
(Blight). Squared bowl of font, found under floor
in 1874, is Norm., base shafts modern. (Registers,
I563-)
St. Ervan. — Chancel, nave, transepts, S. porch,
and W. tower ; formerly a cruciform E.E. church.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 101
Upper part of tower, long in ruinous condition,
taken down during repairs in 1887-9. S. doorway
is Dec., but N. is E.E. There are some Perp.
windows in S. transepts and chancel. Chalice-
shaped octagonal font probably 14th cent. Various
17th cent, monuments. (Registers, 1674.)
St. Eval. — Chancel, nave of 5 bays, N. transept,
S. aisle, N. and S. porches, and W. tower. N. wall
of nave, between tower and transept, is Norm., and
contains an original small light ; small circular font
is of like period. Considerable amount of old
Norm, masonry used in building 15th cent, tower.
Church assumed a cruciform plan in first half
of 13th cent. In 1323, as is known from entry in
Bishop Stapledon's register, chancel was extended
6 ft., and new windows inserted in side walls as
well as at E. end. Junction of 13th and 14th
cent, work could be readily seen, but was unhappily
obliterated by a severe restoration of 1889; at this
date, too, transept was rebuilt. In 15th cent. S.
transept was absorbed by construction of S.
aisle to nave and chancel, with arcade of 7 bays.
Note rood-stairs entered from N. transept ; opening
in S. arcade from chancel rood-loft to aisle screen ;
old wagon roofs of nave and aisle ; and many good
15th cent, bench-ends, including arms of Henry VI.,
and several pairs of initials. Part of old carved
screen of S. aisle remains ; present chancel screen
is part of an old parclose screen between chancel
and aisle. Tower fell early in 18th cent. ; rebuilt
102 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
chiefly at the expense of merchants of Bristol, for it
was a conspicuous sea-mark ; not completed until
1727. (Registers, 1695.)
St. Ewe. — Chancel, nave, N. transept, S. aisle
(rebuilt 1767), N. and S. porches, and W. tower
and spire. Severely restored in 1881 at great cost.
This was a Norm, cruciform church, of which
respond of transept and parts of N. walls of nave
and chancel remain. Squared font, on central shaft
and with 4 angle shafts, having heads for capitals,
also Norm. S. arcade of 6 arches, c. 1400, has
piers consisting of circular columns surrounded by
4 smaller shafts; capitals have conventional foliage.
Tower of two stages, with broached spire encircled
by a foliated string, is of like date or somewhat
earlier ; it has a height of 72 ft. Note excellent
old chancel screen, carefully repaired, on which
are arms of Henry VI., and those of Trendenham
and Tirrell; 15th cent, altar-slab in N. wall of
chancel; and letter of Charles I. in S. aisle.
(Registers, 1559.)
Falmouth. — Church of King Charles the Martyr,
built in 1662-3, but not consecrated until 1665, is
a double-aisled parallelogram, 90 ft. by 68 ft.
Originally a square of 66 ft., but soon afterwards ex-
tended a few feet eastward and westward with addi-
tion of a weak W. tower. In 1812 again lengthened
eastward; in 1861 tower was strengthened for bells
and pinnacled battlements added ; it has since then
been more than once improved. The double tier of
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 103
late Gothic windows are original. Pulpit is an
amalgam of old pieces of carving brought chiefly
from the Continent about i860, but including pieces
of English screen cornices. In the vestry is an old
painted alabaster tablet of the Flagellation, prob-
ably from the Continent. St. Budock is the old
parish church of Falmouth. (Registers, 1663.)
St. Feock. — Chancel, nave with aisles, N. tran-
sept, and S. porch. Enlarged in 1844, and almost
entirely rebuilt in 1874; nothing but 15th cent,
arcades are old work. Circular late Norm, font
of Catacleuse stone elaborately carved after an un-
usual design. Two-staged tower, chiefly 1 3th cent.,
stands on high bank about 40 yards to W. of church.
(Registers, 168 1.)
Forrabury (St. Symphorian). — Chancel, nave, N.
aisle, S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. Shame-
fully maltreated both within and without during
recent years. Mr. E. H. Sedding says that "the
modern N. aisle is a model of ugliness." Lower part
of S. wall of nave Norm. S. porch, c. 1 500, is original ;
roofed with two large slabs of granite. Tower
rebuilt in 1760. Circular Norm, font of Tintagel
greenstone. Some old bench-ends, 15th and 16th
cent., worked up in altar-table, credence, and pulpit.
When visited by the present writer in the " sixties "
of last century there was much Norm, and E.E.
work in fabric, a good 15 th cent, chancel screen,
and a fine number of bench-ends. (Registers, 17 10.)
Fowey. — The fine church of St. Fimbar
or*
104 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
(re-dedicated to St. Nicholas when rebuilt in 1366),
of Pentewan stone, consists of chancel, nave, N. and
S. aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. The 14th cent,
arcades of 5 lofty arches on each side are supported
by octagonal piers destitute of capitals ; this feature,
also shared by Lostwithiel, is doubtless due to French
: / influence ; lack of capitals is quite common on
. other side of channel, and there was a considerable
i continental trade to and from the port of Fowey. The
* later three-light obtuse pointed clerestory x windows,
* which occur between the arches, are on a slightly
lower level than apex of arches, a most unusual
arrangement, apparently necessitated by exceptional
height of arches. These windows are 4 on each
side, but on S. side is an additional one in chancel,
over lower arch into S. chapel. Tower archway is
as lofty as roof will permit ; jambs are moulded into
3 semi-detached shafts. The beautifully propor-
tioned four-staged tower rises to height of 126 ft.2
Aisles were rebuilt in 15th cent., and clerestories
and porch added. Porch, with groined ceiling and
substantial room above, has open archways E. and
W. Rood-loft stairs remain, but no old screen-work
left. The great 15 th cent, wagon roof of nave and
chancel retains much old carved timbers and bosses.
The handsomely carved sexagonal pulpit is dated
1 60 1. Circular Norm, font of Catacleuse stone, 29 in.
1 Clerestory windows only occur five times in Cornwall. See
Introduction.
2 Estimates of height of Cornish towers vary ; this is given from
/?./.£, x. 263,
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 105
in diameter and 38 in. high, on new base, is beauti-
fully carved with band of double-star ornament
round rim, and with a continuous deeply cut pattern
of seven-leaved foliations round rim. There is an
uninscribed brass to a layman, with wife and children,
probably of the Treffry family ; also imperfect brass
of John Rashleigh, 1582, Alice his wife, 1591, and
their children, erected in 1601. Considerable restora-
tion in 1876, at a cost of ^"5000, when tracery of
most of windows was renewed. In the modern
vestry on N. side of tower are 5 cannon-balls found
in fabric during the restoration. (Registers, 1543.)
St. Gennys (St. Genesius). — Chancel, nave of 4
bays, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Low tower of
two stages, with modern pyramidal slated roof, is
Norm., with small lights in both stages; no W.
windows or doorway, it abuts on side of a hill.
Tower arch pointed and rebuilt, but jambs and im-
posts original. Side walls of chancel also Norm.
Squared bowl of font, with arcaded sides, is Trans.-
Norm. ; it is of Tintagel greenstone. Arcade of
N. aisle, of Polyphant stone, c. 1400; S. arcade c.
1450. Over-restored in 1871, when most of win-
dows were renewed. Up to that date there were
a good many old seats and remains of screen ; two
or three bench-ends now form a faldstool. (Regis-
ters, 1702.)
St. Germans.1 — The church as it now stands
1 This account is condensed from a long descriptive and histo-
rical article, by the present writer, which appeared in Buildtr
pf 3 December, 190^.
106 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
consists of chancel and nave (in continuous line), S.
aisle, quasi N. transept and chapel, S.W. porch, and
two W. towers. Interior length of nave and chancel
is 102 ft., and width 25 ft. S. aisle is 25 ft. wide,
narrowing about 5 ft. in two most eastern bays, that
are level with quasi-chancel. Interior width at W.
end between two towers 61 ft.
No church in Cornwall to compare with St. Ger-
mans in richness of historical and ecclesiological
associations, nor are there any rivals to the interest-
ing variety of its architecture or beauty of situation.
To understand nature of building now surviving of
a church that was at once conventual and parochial,
it is imperative that a bare outline of its story should
be given. In early pre-Norm. period church was
served by a collegiate community of secular clergy
or canons. It was founded in honour of St. German,
who became Bishop of French diocese of Auxerre
in 425. He came over to Britain to oppose the
Pelagian heresy, travelling through England, Wales,
and Scotland, and his long venerated name is kept
green by twelve old dedications. No reason to doubt
tradition of the saint having first landed in St. Ger-
mans Creek, and that he made it a centre of his W.
country preaching. The first bishops of Cornwall
made St.- Germans their cathedral seat ; names of
seven who ruled over the county from 931 to 1046
are known. A body of canons held half this large
parish at time of Domesday Surve}'. Of the church
the)' served, now no portions extant, but in the
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 107
interior a few stones may be noted dressed after a
chevron fashion in pre-Norm. style; the present
writer also observed during repairs of 1904 certain
dislodged hewn stones, which showed clear traces of
mortar adhering, of an earlier date than that used by
Norm, masons. The canons continued to serve here
until c. 1 185, when they were suppressed for irregu-
larity and worldliness, and the establishment trans-
ferred to the regular Order of St. Augustine. The
new prior and his canons immediately set about erec-
tion of a stately church in late Norm, style, beginning
at W. end.
W. front of nave between the two towers and
basements of the towers are of late but definite
Norm, workmanship. The projecting entrance or
portico is an exceptionally fine example. The re-
ceding archway is of seven orders ; the two inner-
most are merely round, third and fourth have zigzag
ornament, fifth is rounded, and sixth and seventh are
also sculptured with zigzag. Height of doorway is
10 ft., and of whole archway 16 ft. Outer arch is
surmounted by hood-mould having head terminals,
and much enriched with foliage, &c. Above arch is
a pediment surmounted by a four-holed cross. The
erection of the towers that flank this portal was not
continued until Trans, from Norm, was in vogue,
c. 1200; one of them remained incomplete for some
time. The towers are somewhat puzzling. Probably
two lower stages of each were finished about this
Trans, date. This level corresponds to that of nave
108 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
roof, and here they most likely ended, crowned with
pyramidal tops. The additional octagonal story of
N.W. tower has plain pointed lancets on each face,
and is clearly E.E., c. 1250-60, and therefore of like
date with rebuilding of quire. The embattled summit
is later. The S.W. tower is distinctly Norm, in
basement stage, but remainder has been a good deal
altered as well as raised at later dates. Arches under
towers, opening into church to E. and on each side,
are quite plain and supported on bold, clustered
columns. Careful examination shows that the Norm,
scheme was a nave of 5 bays, for parochial use
(exclusive of the W. bay between the two engaged
towers), the furthest E. bay being intended for begin-
ning of conventual quire when time came for rebuild-
ing Saxon chancel. No trace left of any transepts,
which were probably left for later development ; and
a substantial screen would at that time cut off the
parochial nave — necessarily large for the largest
parish in Cornwall — from the canon's quire at first
piers from E. end of new Norm, structure. The
narrow N. aisle (10 ft.) with its round piers and
arches was meanly swept away in 1803 t0 save
expense of repair, and a cheap new nave wall sub-
stituted. On S. side of nave, at W. end, are the two
remaining Norm, piers, short, circular, and with
escalloped capitals ; but they now support pointed
arches. Some singularly fine Norm, clerestory win-
dows, of considerable size and richly ornamented
with zigzag mouldings, were brought to light in
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 109
1904, during a repointing scheme, above W. part
of arcade.
An entry in Bishop Branscombe's register states
that he dedicated the conventual church of St.
Germans in 1261. This means that a new and
extended quire for the canons was at that date
consecrated.
The narrow Norm, aisle on S. side of nave was
taken ■ down at two different periods for purpose of
enlargement. Town of St. Germans stood on S. side
of church, whilst conventual buildings were on N.
side, the N. aisle of nave forming one side of the
canons' cloister. The Bishops of Exeter had a resi-
dence not far from the priory, several families of
distinction had manor and other houses in this wide-
spread parish in the 14th cent., and greater church
accommodation became necessary. First alteration
was substitution of a S. chapel, 22 ft. wide, for the 3
eastern bays of the 10ft. wide Norm, aisle. This
chapel, still very beautiful, must have been of singu-
lar perfection when first built. The E. end is most
unusual. There are two three-light windows with
excellent though slightly different tracery, and be-
tween them a handsome recess for life-size image,
with crocketed canopy. On S. side of this chapel
one original window remains, the window to E. of
it having been destroyed to make room for the great
costly group of marble sculpture by Rysbraeck, with
effigies of Edward Eliot, 1722, and 2 wives, which
now stands under N.W. tower. There is a single
no THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
sedile of fine and perfect design S. of altar, and when
the cumbersome marble monument was removed a
lofty canopied recess was found under an ogee arch.
Where work of such exceptional beauty is found,
it becomes at once highly probable that there was
some additional reason for construction of such a
chapel other than that of greater space. The annals
of the church at once supply the cause in a remark-
able incident that exactly corresponds with the period
that architectural experts would assign to this chapel.
On the death of Prior Polgoner in 1355, John Precheur,
sub-prior, succeeded as superior. During his rule
the priory became enriched with relics of the Saint
whose name it bore. Sir Nicholas Tamorze, Kt.,
succeeded in obtaining from abbot and convent of
St. Germain of Auxerre a portion of the relics they
possessed. A small bone of the arm and a portion
of the shroud in which the body of St. German
rested were given to the knight, who placed them
in a silver-gilt reliquary and brought them across
the seas to the priory of St. Germans, where pro-
vision had been made for their honourable keeping.
The grant from the Abbey was made in 1358. On
May 20, 1 361, Bishop Grandison granted forty days'
indulgence to all penitents who should make a pil-
grimage to shrine at St. Germans, or visit it for
sake of devotion. There can be no reasonable doubt
that this chapel was then built for the special re-
ception of these relics, and that an almery for their
safe enclosure was placed within the canopied recess
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL in
S. of altar. The image niche between the two win-
dows would doubtless hold a statue of St. German.
This niche has recently been filled with a statue of
Our Lord as the Good Shepherd ; if it was to be
filled, it seems a pity that a figure of the great mis-
sionary Saint was not once again placed in the
position designed to perpetuate his memory.
About a century later the W. end of this chapel,
which projected beyond the rest of the narrow aisle,
was taken down and a wide S. aisle was continued
right up to S. W. tower, and 4 four-light large pointed
windows inserted in S. wall, one in each bay. Upper
tracery of three easternmost of these windows, though
slightly different in each case, is of the kind known
as advanced Perp.; but the one nearest the tower has
reticulated tracery and would generally be termed
Dec. Close examination, however, of the general
masonry and of jambs and hood - moulds, &c,
shows that it is all of same date. One style was
never quite driven out at a given date by its suc-
cessor. The terminals of the hood-moulds of these
windows all bear heraldic and other devices. The
arms of Bishop Lacy (1420-1450) are plainly dis-
cernible, and this yields the date of this effective
aisle widening.
When the Norm, aisle was thus widened, a S.
doorway in its W. bay was taken out, and preserved
as W. doorway at end of aisle. At the same
time a charming little porch with an elaborately
groined roof was built against S. wall of S. tower,
H2 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
forming a covered entrance to aisle. This portico
has both S. and W. doorways. The latter is a
heavy doorway with spandrels, c. 1 500. Of same
date is blocked - up doorway under window of
widened aisle. When the St. German relics chapel
was erected in 14th cent, it would certainly have
its own doorway in projecting part of its W. wall ;
and when the time came for extension of whole aisle
a doorway would be transferred to the S. wall.
Such a doorway would doubtless be much used by
pilgrims to the shrine — there would be crowds on
the two festival days of St. German, July 31, his
death day, and October 1, his translation ; it seems
to have been rebuilt on a wider scale, c. 1 500, together
with W. doorway of porch. The pilgrims would
enter by one of these doorways and depart through
the other. It must not be supposed that the S.
aisle was the site of the parish altar ; this would
certainly be at E. end of nave, and the ordinary
parish entrance would be through the main W.
doorway. The year 1500 is said to be the exact
date of re-roofing nave.
After the priory was dissolved, in 1539, the quire
of the canons naturally fell into decay. The Cham-
pernowne family, to whom Henry VIII. granted the
priory, used much of the walls in their adaptation
of the conventual buildings as a residence, and
they actually built up a brew-house on the site of
the high altar ! This brew-house was standing in
1804, when Whitaker took some measurements.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 113
He found quire was the same width as nave and
extended eastward 55 ft. The parishioners, in
adapting the nave for their use when the canons
had gone, happily decided to move the great win-
dow from the E. end of quire to a like position at
E. end of nave. It is a fine five-light window
measuring about 35 ft. by 20 ft., and has a tran-
som. The upper tracery forms a kind of crown.
It dates from the dawn of the Perp. period, temp.
Richard II.
Carew, in his Survey of Cornwall (1602), says of
St. Germans: "A great part of whose chauncell,
anno 1592, fel suddenly downe, upon a Friday,
very shortly after public service was ended, which
hevenly favour, of so little respite, saved many
persons lives, with whom immediately before it
had been stuffed : and the devout charges of the
well-disposed parishioners quickly repayred this
ruine." This often-cited statement has been hastily
assumed to mean the downfall of the conventual
quire ; but it means nothing of the kind. The old
quire was stripped of its lead immediately after the
surrender of 1539, when the owners saw fit to turn
much of it into a brew-house. That which fell in
1592 would be parts of the roof and very likely of
E. wall of nave that had been too hastily built
up by the parishioners some fifty years previously
to make themselves a chancel.
When N. aisle was cleared away, in 1803, the
scheme included building of a kind of chapel or N.
H
H4 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
transept for the Port Eliot pew, with corridor lead-
ing to it. This pew has since been turned into an
organ chamber, and the corridor into a vestry.
The most interesting detail of the interior is the
fine late Norm, font of Purbeck marble, broken up
and discarded in 1793. ^he fragments were, how-
ever, replaced in 1840. The font, 33 in. square, and
39 in. high, has the 4 angles round the bowl at the
top of the font filled with 3 three-leaved ornaments
in slight relief and a circle or ring in fourth angle.
N. side of bowl is carved with a round-headed
arcade, and the other sides have much-worn patterns ;
it stands on a central and four subsidiary shafts.
In the aisle is a small, somewhat rudely carved
and clumsily repaired stall. A good deal has been
written and said about "the extraordinary anti-
quity" of this piece of church furniture, and one
antiquary of recent times has described it as " a
penitential sedile with a carved record of the
trespass thereon " ! The misericord is carved with
figure of a sportsman carrying a couple of rabbits
and surrounded by dogs. The subject is locally
known as " Dando and his dogs," as to whom there
are some amusing childish tales. But, after all, the
date of this carving cannot be older than late 14th
cent., and hunting subjects are quite common in
such positions. It originally formed one of a set
of small stalls. Another interesting fragment is a
piece of the 15th cent, rood-screen. Part of stair-
way to this screen is in S. aisle.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 115
Considerable restoration schemes were carried
out, at a large outlay, between 1887 and 1897.
Repointing of the interior, re-roofing, and certain
general repairs were executed in 1904; during the
work a blocked-up niche for a holy-water stoup
and a piscina niche were uncovered in the aisle.
The large W. doors have recently been orna-
mented, with questionable taste, by Byzantine-
looking patches of bronze work and a great closing
ring of like style. The metal workmanship is well
done, but quite out of keeping in such a place.
Moreover, the would-be hinges are mere shams, and
have no connection with the eyes of the staples.
Much money and care have evidently been spent
on this interesting fabric during recent years, but
the strongly marked new pointing of the interior
is a sad disfigurement. (Registers, 1590.)
St. Germoe. — Chancel, nave of 5 bays, N. aisle
with transept, S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower.
Originally a small Norm, cruciform church. In
14th cent, a Dec. aisle was added absorbing tran-
sept, but a shallow N. transept was added to this
aisle at a somewhat later date. In 15th cent.
Norm. S. transept was enlarged westward, and a
twin arch inserted at beginning of a new completed
aisle ; the circular head of an early Norm, light
is built into W. wall. The lower part of E. and S.
walls of chancel, and the like walls of S. transept,
are also Norm. Corbel heads of the same period
have been built into E. wall of N. aisle. S. doorway
n6 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
is 14th cent., but porch over it is 15th cent. Gable
cross of porch bears the rood ; on corbel stones at
ends of coping are two pairs of monkeys. Rude
circular bowl of font, with two heads in bold relief,
is early Norm. The 15th cent, three-staged tower,
of granite ashlar, has fine crocketed pinnacles,
springing from angels. Much of chancel rebuilt
c. i860, and a general "thorough restoration" in
1891-2.1
At N.E. angle of churchyard is a curious small
structure known as "St. Germoe's Chair," or
" King Germoe's Throne." Its internal measure-
ment is 6 ft. 3 in. by 3 ft. 6 in.; it is entered by
two pointed archways, 6 ft. high, supported by a
circular pier and responds; at the back is a seat
divided into 3 compartments by 2 shafts, with a
sculptured crowned head in apex of the centre one.
St. Germoch, an Irish king or chieftain, crossed
over with St. Breoca and others about 460, and
landed at Riviere on the Hayle estuary. Leland,
temp. Henry VIII., writing of this parish, states
that St. Germoch's " tumbe is yet seen there," and
also names " St. Germoke's Chair in the Chirch-
yard." The most reasonable tradition is that it
was from this site that the saint preached his first
sermon in Cornwall. Present building is probably
15th cent. (Registers, 1682.)
St. Gerrans (St. Gerendus). — Chancel with S.
1 For a good illustrated account of the church, prior to restora-
tion, see Arch. Journal, 1861, pp. 248-53.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 117
aisle of 2 bays, nave with S. aisle of 5 bays, N.
transept, S. porch, and W. tower. Fabric not of
much interest; it was mostly rebuilt in 1848-9.
Square arcaded bowl of font is Norm. Church was
extended and made cruciform in 13th cent., and
reconsecrated in 1262. S. aisle of chancel and nave
with arcade of 7 arches, supported on monolith
granite piers, is 15th cent., and so too is two-staged
tower and octagonal spire. Spire repaired in 1636,
and again in 1890. (Registers, 1538.)
St. Gluvias, the parish church of Penryn, con-
sists of chancel, nave, N. aisle, double S. aisle,
S. porch, and W. tower; it was re-dedicated to St.
Gluvias in 1321. Entirely rebuilt, except 15th
cent, tower, after debased Classical style in 18th
cent., but was again reconstructed, mainly on Perp.
lines, in 1883. A brass, with effigies, to Thomas
Kyllgrewe, c. 1484, and Joan and Elizabeth his
wives; also various 17th cent, mural tablets.
(Registers, 1645.)
St. Goran. — Chancel, nave, continuous S. aisle
of 8 bays, N. transept, S. porch, and lofty W.
tower. Here was a Norm, cruciform church ; re-
sponds, with plain imposts of N. transept arch are
of that period, and so too is circular font with
unusual ornaments on bowl. S. arcade, of Pentewan
stone, is c. 1400. Roofs renewed in 1870, and
general restoration in 1875. A large number of
old carved bench-ends, several of which have pairs
of initials. (Registers, 1661.)
n8 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Grade. — The church of St. Grade and the
Holy Cross, formerly an interesting structure,
mainly Norm., was grievously destroyed, save
tower, in 1862, and smaller building erected on
site.1 A single small Norm, light replaced in N.
wall. Low tower of 2 stages is 14th cent., and
mainly constructed of large blocks of serpentine.
The late Norm, font is supported by central shaft
and 4 angle shafts with capitals reaching to the
brim ; it is a plain example of the Bodmin type.
A good brass, with effigies and arms, to James
Erisey, 1522, to Margaret his wife, and to their 10
children. (Registers, 1707.)
Grampound, an ancient borough, chiefly in
parish of Creed, had a chapel-of-ease, dedicated
to St. Nunn, in 1421. It was used for worship
up to 1815, but then fell into decay; last remains
removed by 1827. In 1869 a new chapel was
erected on old site.
St. Gulval. — Chancel, nave with aisles, N. tran-
sept, S. porch, and W. tower. Considerable
^ restoration in 1858 and in 1885, and again in
,,;,, 1 891-3, when 13th cent, transept was rebuilt and
5 N. aisle and organ chamber added. Sedile and
^ piscina of chancel are 14th cent. The remnant of
£, old work left after these numerous restorations,
including plain three-staged tower, is late 15th
cent. Font, of Ludgvan granite, has round
1 For good illustrated account prior to restoration, see Arch,
journal, 1861, pp. 234-5,
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 119
bowl sculptured with heraldic shields, one of which
has arms of Kymyel impaling St. Aubyn. S.
arcade has octagonal piers of monolith granite.
(Registers, 1598.)
Gunwalloe. — Church of St. Winwaloe, roman-
tically situated on the verge of the sea near
Mullion, is said, like St. Anthony-in-Meneage, to
be a votive building for preservation from ship-
wreck.1 It consists of 15th cent, chancel, nave, S.
aisle, and porch, and of a late 14th cent. N. aisle with
its original windows. A distinctly bad restoration in
1869-70, when much new work was unnecessarily
introduced. Arcades, of 5 arches each side, are
supported on monolith granite piers. S. porch has
panelled entrance jambs, and well-carved wagon
roof. Remains of a stoup niche on W. side of
N. doorway. The font, 22| in. in diameter, with a
flat cover, has a resemblance to that of St. Buryan.
At W. end is mutilated bowl of a Norm. font.
Sills of the windows at E. end of both the aisles
have been lowered for a reredos. Modern high
altar of granite ; curiously proportioned, having a
width of 48 in. Two bays of old early 16th cent,
rood-screen remain. One of these, against N. door,
has painted panels of St. Peter, St. Andrew, St.
James the Great, and St. John the Evangelist ; the
1 The S. side of church is so often reached by sea spray that much
samphire was growing on porch and S. wall in 191 1. The present
writer visited Gunwalloe during a heavy storm in 1876, when the
spray dashed over all 3 gabled roofs of the church, falling on
N. side,
120 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
other against a vestry in N. aisle has paintings of
St. James the Less, St. Bartholomew, and two other
apostles. Well-carved timbers in wagon roof of
S. aisle are old, other roofs new. Fourteen ft. from
W. end of church is a detached two-staged tower
with pyramidal roof, and having 3 bells ; it is appar-
ently of 14th cent, date; the W., S., and most of
N. sides of tower are formed out of natural rock.
(Registers, 17 16.)
St. Gwennap (St. Wenappd). — Chancel and nave
with continuous aisles of 7 arches, N. and S. porches,
and detached tower. Considerable piecemeal re-
storation and renewal took place between 1863
and 1883. Church is throughout of granite and
15th cent. date. Font modern. A copy of Charles
l.'s letter. Detached tower, near S. entrance to
churchyard, is of 2 stages, has a pyramidal roof.
(Registers, 1658.)
St. Gwinear. — Chancel, nave, S. aisle with
arcade of 4 arches, continuous N. aisle with arcade
of 6 arches, further N. aisle of 4 arches, N. porch,
and W. tower. Two Norm, beak-heads built into
porch wall, various stones occur in fabric dressed
after the Norm, fashion. Chancel E. window of
5 lights, with intersecting tracery, is good example
of early Dec, c. 1300. Chancel piscina is of same
date, and also E. window of S. aisle. There was
a Dec. cruciform church on this site ; N. aisle has
a Dec. piscina. S. aisle arcade is c. 1450. N. aisle
arcade is c. 1 500 ; further aisle, or Arundell chapel,
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 121
has octagonal piers with capitals having shield-
bearing angels, probably of Henry VIII. date.
N.E. angle of porch has been cut away to make
room for small W. doorway into this chapel.
Both N. and S. doorways have Tudor rose in
spandrels. Tower, of 3 stages, is double buttressed,
and has a newel stair turret on N. side, rising above
battlements. Octagonal bowl of font, dated 1727,
is curiously carved on each face ; the base is pro-
bably much older. "Restorations" have cleared
out every remnant of the old roofs, save a little in
the chancel, whilst a wealth of old seating of the
nave and N. aisle has vanished ; but there are 5
interesting bench - ends worked up into desk in
Arundell aisle, and 2 others into a lectern. Five
more bench-ends form pulpit, including a double-
necked swan on a wreath and a merman. Most
of the base of a fine screen, c. 15 10, remains; 8
bays are left, each divided into 2 well-carved panels.
(Registers, 1560.)
St. Gwithian. — Church of Sis. Felix and Gothian
was unhappily rebuilt, except the three-staged 15 th
cent, tower, in 1865-6. Bowl of a Norm, font, but
retooled, remains, and also sedilia and piscina in
chancel. Two granite arches of old arcade are
built up into a lychgate. Original fabric was
cruciform E.E., and there were remnants left of
the chancel arch. (Registers, 1560.)
Helland (St. Helen). — Chancel, nave, continuous
S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and low W. tower
122 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
rebuilt in 1883. N. transept shows traces of E.E.
work, and has date 1646 on gable ; but it was much
altered c. 1820 to serve as a day-school, and shut
off from church. The 15th cent. S. aisle, with
arcade of 4 arches of St. Stephen stone, absorbed
13th cent. S. transept. Plain chalice-shaped font
E.E. ; in chancel capital and part of the shaft of
E.E. respond serves as a credence table. In aisle
a floor slab with incised civil figure of Humfre}-
Calwodley, with arms of Calwodley and Carminow ;
he married Joan Carminow in 1494. (Registers,
1722.)
Helston. — Church of St. Michael, consisting of
chancel, rectangular body, and tower 96 ft. high,
was entirely rebuilt by second and last Earl of
Godolphin, as stated on massive brass chandelier
of 24 branches : —
"This branch together with the compleat building of
the church and chancel is the sole gift and benefaction
of the Right Honorable the Earl of Godolphin bestowed
on this Borough a.d. 1763."
Fastened to S. door are brass effigies of Thomas
Bovgins, merchant, 1602, with wife and 3 children.
(Registers, 1598.)
St. Hilary. — Old church, rich in 15th cent, seat-
ing, was burnt down on Good Friday, 1853. Its
successor is a poor imitation of Dec. style. Tower
with broached spire, c. 1280, survived; but spire,
which used to be periodically whitewashed as a
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 123
sea-mark, had to be rebuilt, and now reaches to
height of 70 ft. 9 in. The 15 th cent. N. doorway
is also retained. Old octagonal 13th cent, font
remains, but bad taste has provided a successor
which is in use. (Registers, 1692.)
St. Illogan. — Old church unhappily destroyed
in 1846, and a successor built at some distance to
N.W. of old site. The late 14th cent, two-staged
tower of granite still stands in melancholy detach-
ment. Brasses of James Bassett, 1603, with wife
and 10 children, and some well-cut slate monuments
were moved to new church, and also six 17th cent,
carved panels to form a pulpit. The 14th cent,
bowl of old font is in use, but retooled. (Registers,
1593.)
St. Issey. — Church, consisting of chancel, nave,
aisles, S. porch, and W. tower, rebuilt throughout
in 1 87 1, including tower which fell in that year.
Note fine W. doorway, carved stoup by S. entrance,
sculptured Pieta in vestry, and especially beautiful
reredos (recently pieced together from scattered
fragments), all of Catacleuse stone and of c. 1400
date. Circular font, on round shaft and 4 small
pillars, is late Norm. ; it bears churchwardens'
initials and the date 1664, when it was restored
to use after ejection by Puritans. Old church had
a N. transept, and there were considerable remains
of rood-screen. (Registers, 1 596.)
St. Ive. — Chancel, nave, S. aisle, N. transept, S.
porch, and W. tower. Evidently a cruciform church
124 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
rebuilt here in Dec. style of beginning of 14th cent.1
Five-light E. window an excellent example of the
period. Towards close of 15 th cent., when S.
W transept was absorbed in an aisle of 5 bays, the
,.: builders reused 2 good two-light windows from
<* removed transept. In N. transept is a good three-
t> light Dec. window with rose in the tracery, also
£> 14th cent, piscina and squint to high altar. Each
side of E. window of chancel is an elaborate image
niche. Recess in N. wall which has served for
Easter sepulchre; on S. side are 14th cent, triple
sedilia and piscina. The massive S. porch is same
date as aisle; it contains a stoup under trefoiled
arch, and over entrance is sundial inscribed Quotidie
morior, 1695. The fine granite tower of 3 stages is
double buttressed, and has 12 pinnacles on its
embattled summit; it is of early 16th cent. date.
Font is modern, but base probably 14th cent.
Pulpit is 1700, and covered with debased carving.
Old wagon roofs are exceptionally well carved, and
have small angels on wall-plates. Octagonal font
is Perp. Royal arms bear "C.R. 1660." A large
elaborate monument of slate against N. wall of
chancel to Blaunch Wrey, 1595, and to John Wrey,
1597. Chancel restored in 1845, and rest of fabric
in 1883-4. The old parish stocks stand in porch ;
the bench is 9 ft. long. (Registers, 1685.)
St. Ives. — This ancient borough formed part of
1 The E. end and N. transept are illustrated in Trans. Exeter
Dioc, Archit. Soc, vol. iv. (1853).
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 125
parish of Lelant. Records tell us that as population^
increased, the great inconvenience of proceeding for -
all special rites to a church 3 miles distant became
more obvious. The townsmen, prospering in fishing £/
industty, resolved to build a much larger chapel in -°
their midst, and obtained licence, in 1410, from the K
Pope, for due exercise therein of sacraments and ^0
sacramentals. This chapel, on a great scale, was 4
i6| years building; it was consecrated by Bishops
Lacy in 1428, when he testified that the church was -
magnifice tabulata constructa. It consists of chancel
and nave with continuous aisles of 7 bays, a further
S. aisle or chapel of 2 bays called Trenwith aisle,
N. and S. porches, and fine double-buttressed four-
staged W. tower 84 ft. high. Walls are of granite
throughout, but arches of arcades of Beer and
Pennant stone; capitals of later Trenwith aisle
arcade are beautifully carved with vine pattern.
Fine but much restored early 14th cent, granite
font has 4 shield-bearing angels round bowl, on one
shield, in raised letters, Omnes baptizate gentes, 4
dragons at base. A general restoration in 1853-4
resulted, inter alia, in clearing away considerable
remnants of rood-screen. On this screen stood a
large 16th cent, organ, which was broken up by
Puritans in 1647. Rood-stairs are at N.W. angle
of chapel. Some carved oak benches remain ; the
most notable are front panels of a chancel seat, said
to be presented by Ralph Clies, master-smith. These
panels bear (1) hammer, pincers, nail, and horse-shoe;
126 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
(2) hammer and anvil; (3) pair of bellows; and
(4) ladle, trammers, and clefts ; whilst two others
are supposed to be busts of Clies and his wife.
Two stall ends are carved with figures of St.
Andrew and St. Peter ; above latter are two small
kneeling figures holding a shield on which are the
words "John Peyne"; above the former are similar
figures with a shield charged with arms of Peyne
(three pine-apples) impaling Nicholl of Penrose (a
pheon in pale). John Peyne, portreeve or chief
officer of St. Ives, was hung in midst of town, during
cruel execution in 1549 of alleged insurgents, by
Edward VI. 's brutal provost-marshal, Sir Anthony
Kingston. Wagon roofs, considerably renewed in
1887-9, contain much well-carved old timber; note
small full-length figures of angels at springing of
braces of both chancel and nave, and vine pattern
of wall-plates. At E. end of Trenwith aisle are
reset fragments of a brass to Oto Treunwyth, 1463,
and wife Agnes. (Registers, 1686.)
JacobstOW. — The 15th cent, church of St. James
consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays with aisles, S.
porch, and W. tower of 3 stages. Much drastic
restoration, but note Norm, font c. 1 100, of Tintagel
greenstone, of Altarnun type ; rood-stairs on N. side;
and pulpit made up of bench-ends. (Registers, 1653.)
St. John (St. John Evangelist). — Chancel, nave,
S. porch, and W. tower. Low tower of 2 stages,
with a pyramidal roof, is Norm., and resembles that
of St. Gennys. The chancel, nave, and octagonal
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 127
font are 15th cent., and the porch is dated 1605.
Much restoration in 1868. (Registers, 1616.)
St. Juliot (St. Juliettd). — Consists of chancel,
nave of 5 bays with S. aisle, N. transept, and S.
porch, and W. tower. A 15th cent, aisle absorbed
S. transept, obliterating the cruciform design.
Massive tower is late 14th cent., but considerably
rebuilt. The embattled 15 th cent, porch is granite
vaulted. Considerable restoration in 1872, when
fragments of old screen were worked up into its
successor. Many old bench- ends remain carved
with sacred monograms, initial letters, and coats of
arms. The 15th cent, granite font has IHC on
the W. front ; bowl is square, but hexagonal inter-
nally. Royal arms in plaster have initials C.R. and
date 1 68 1. (Registers, 1656.)
St. Just-in-Penwith.1 — Re-dedicated by Bishop
Grandison in 1336. Chancel rebuilt in 1834, but
during drastic restoration of 1865-6 it became mani-
fest that part of Dec. S. wall of chancel, consecrated
by Grandison, including sedile and piscina, had ,»
been left standing. Rest of church is Perp., of w
latter half of 15th cent. Arcades have a pleasing '.
effect because of irregularity of shape and width ; <
piers are of Beer stone, and have exceptionally well- r4
carved capitals, some of vine pattern, and others -
sculptured with coats of arms of families of Ar-
wenack, Boscawen, Bray, and Petit. In one case a
1 Mr. Thurstan Peter contributed a fully illustrated account of
ihis church to R.I.C., vol. xiv. 173-191.
128 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
demi-angel bears a shield with initials M and J,
for Mary and Jesus. E. window of each aisle has
flamboyant tracery, a clear proof of French in-
fluence. Embattled porch closely resembles that of
St. Buryan. Windows to E. of porch has notable
hood-mould terminals. The one has letter J for
Our Lord, surrounded by 5 small bosses for the
Wounds; the other has M for the Blessed Virgin,
with 7 bosses for her Dolours. Perfect rood-stairs
in both N. and S. walls. Various remnants of base
and other portions of rood-screen, as well as bench-
ends, disappeared during Mr. St. Aubyn's unhappy
restoration of 1866, when church was furnished
with varnished deal sittings and roofs. A fine piece
of richly carved base of old screen now serves as
front of altar-table in mission chapel of Kely-
nack in this parish (see Bond and Camm's Rood-
screens, plate 127). The disfigurement of this
church by stripping off plaster from interior walls
(see Introduction) was one of the worst of many
sins of that nature achieved in the county under the
fond plea of u restoration." A whole series of most
interesting wall-paintings were destroyed ; two only
remain, and they are in sad condition, namely,
Christ blessing Trades, and St. George and the
Dragon ; four plates of these pictures appeared in
vol. i. R.I.C. As usual with Cornish churches of
this period, whilst outer walls are encased in great
blocks of granite, interior is lined with small rubble
stones of every conceivable shape. The wiseacres
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 129
have outlined the edges of these irregular stones with
almost black cement, thus achieving an unsightly
and extravagant effect at absolute variance with the
original intention. The octagonal 14th cent, font
is of Pentewan stone. Four good brass branched
chandeliers, of kind usually termed " spider," are
each engraved Ex dono Johannes Edwards de
Truthwall} 1746.
A most highly interesting early monumental stone
was found in 1834, built into chancel wall. This
rude pillar stone now lies at W. end of N. aisle.
In front is the Chi-Rho monogram 1 (not a pastoral
staff, as usually supposed), and on one side is in-
scription NI SELVS IC IACIT. This stone cannot be
more recent than 6th cent. Built into inner wall of
this aisle, near E. end, is a large portion of knot-
work shaft of an Anglo-Saxon cross of 8th or 9th
cent. (Registers, 1599.)
St. Just-in-Roseland. — The church consists of
chancel with N. aisle of 2 bays, nave, continuous
S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. It is
exquisitely situated on the verge of the sea in
1 Romilly Allen's Early Christian Symbolism, and Langdon's ,
Early Christian Monuments in Vict. Co. Hist, of Cornwall, vol. i. ~
Only six old stones have been found in England bearing the Chi- <o-'-
Rho monogram, and they were all in Cornwall — namely, (i) at ji
Doydon Head, St. Endellion ; (2) Phillack church, gable of porch ;
(3) South Hill, in rectory garden ; (4) Lanteglos-by-Fowey, jamb ^
stone of S. doorway; and (5) St. Just-in-Penwith. The sixth was 2^
found at St. Helen's Chapel, Cape Cornwall, and used to rest in
this church, but is said to have been thrown down a well by a recent
iconoclastic Protestant vicar.
130 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Carrack Roads, just opposite to St. Mylor. The
churchyard, stretching up the steep bank from the
church to a considerable height, is thickly studded
with fine forest trees, the paths are fringed with a
wealth of ferns, whilst fuchias, hydrangeas, and
roses vary the occasional wildness of the under-
growth surrounding some of the graves. There is
not a more beautiful or peaceful God's Acre in all
England, and though devoid of primness, it is
obviously cared for with reverent zeal. There are
two lychgates, one on the heights and one in
the valley on a level with the church; beneath
them are " Cornish styles " of long blocks of granite
with open spaces between them. The church was
re-dedicated in 1261 ; to this period belongs the
double piscina of chancel, and there are traces of
13th cent, work in transept. The church, as rebuilt
in 1 26 1, was undoubtedly cruciform. The S. tran-
sept was lost in the 15th cent, aisle, with 2 arches
into chancel and 5 into nave. The porch has
panelled jambs, and the remains of tracery like
that of St. Mylor over the entrance ; there is good
carving in the wagon roof, but the roofs of the
church were renewed in a drastic restoration of
1872. The fine 15th cent, tower has a bold semi-
octagonal newel turret rising above battlements at
S.E. angle. The tower was carefully repaired, and
a clock supplied in 1904. Note rood-stairs from
transept, now leading into pulpit; 15th cent,
octagonal font, with 17th cent, cover; fine brass
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 131
of a priest in processional vestments, 34 in. long,
c. 1 500 ; and good lettering of panels of the Creed
and Our Father, dated 1693. A single misericord,
from a distant church, has lately been converted
into front of a lectern. (Registers, 1538.)
St. Kea. — Old church of this parish stood on
Truro river. In 1802 it was taken down, except
tower, when an ugly rectangular building was
erected 3 miles to the W. amid the population.
This church, designed by Wyatt, gave way to a
handsome successor in 1895-6. Within it stands
the excellent old Norm, font, with angle shafts of
the Bodmin type, 39 in. high, and 31 in. in diameter.1
To the 15th cent, three-staged tower of " Old Kea "
was added a small mission church in 1863, and this
was enlarged in 1869. (Registers, 1701.)
Kenwyn (St. Cuby). — Re-dedicated by Bishop
Branscombe in 1259. Chancel, nave of 5 bays,
S. aisle, transepts, S. porch, and double-buttressed
W. tower. Of 13th cent, cruciform church no re-
mains can now be traced. The three-staged tower
and aisle are 15th cent., but the whole fabric has
been much spoilt by bad restorations of 1820 and
1862. (Registers, 1539.)
St. Keverne. — The large church (no ft. long),
re-dedicated to St. Keveran in 1266, consists of
chancel, nave, continuous aisles, S. porch, and
W. tower. Towards close of 15th cent, rebuilt on
1 For description and illustrations of this font, see Reliquary,
N.S., x, 206-8.
132 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
a fine scale. Aisle arcades of y arches show traces
of being reconstructed out of 13th cent, materials,
especially on N. side, where E.E. piers stand on
Perp. granite bases. Rood-stairs in N. wall. In
this wall further W. are two other sets of wall
stairs, unparalleled in any other church ; they pro-
bably gave access to screens of two late chapels.
Various old bench-ends, chiefly carved with symbols
of the Passion. Well-carved octagonal font is Perp.
The two-staged tower, 60 ft. high, surmounted by
octagonal ribbed spire, 38 ft. high. Spire was de-
stroyed by lightning in a terrific storm of Sunday,
18 February, 1770, during service, but immediately
renewed on old lines, as it formed a useful sea-mark
on this dangerous coast. By tower entrance are
two shields of arms, Archdekne (3 chevronels) and
Pincerna (3 covered cups). During restoration of
1896 painting of St. Christopher came to light on
W. end of N. wall, giving Greek version of legend.
See Journal R.I.C., vols. xv. and xvi.1 (Registers,
1588.)
St. Kew. — Chancel, nave of 5 bays, N. and S.
aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Whole fabric good
15th cent. Lofty arches of arcades have monolith
granite piers, with well-carved capitals of Pentewan
stone. Most of window tracery renewed at restora-
tion of 1883. In E. window of N. aisle is some
excellent painted glass chiefly of Our Lord's
1 For a good illustrated account of this church prior to restora-
tion, see Arch. Journal, 1861, pp. 328-331.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 133
Passion, removed here from Bodmin in 1469.
Rood-stairs in turret on N. side, and openings in
arcades remain. Good screen erected in 1883, in
which are included a traceried panel and several
other portions of old screen. A few old bench-ends
have been reused. Roofs contain some old timbers,
several good bosses, and a series of small angels
from which the braces spring. Elizabethan pulpit
has panels carved in arabesque. Octagonal font
good Perp. design, with quatrcfoils in panels. Fine
three-staged buttressed tower is 70 ft. high ; newel
turret rises 3 ft. above battlements. A good en-
graved slate monument to Honor, wife of John
Webber, 1601, in N. aisle; lady wears ruff and
stiff petticoats ; below are small effigies of two
boys and a girl. Another slate monument is to
John Cavell, 1602. (Registers, 1564.)
St. Keyne's church is not of much interest ; it
consists of chancel, nave, N. aisle, S. porch, S.
transept, and W. tower; restored and much rebuilt
in 1868, and again in 1877. Tower and most of old
work remaining is 15th cent., but there is a Norm,
hood-mould with star ornament over S. doorway,
and a Dec. two-light window at W. end of N. aisle.
Plain octagonal granite font is Perp. (Registers,
1539.)
Kilkhampton. — The fine church of St. James
consists of chancel, nave, continuous aisles, S.
porch, and W. tower. Excepting the S. doorway,
which is a very good example of enriched Norm, of
134 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
four orders and the 15 th cent, tracery, the fabric
is excellent late Perp. throughout and remarkably
well executed, considering that it is actually of
Elizabethan date. Grand Norm, doorway is not in
original position ; in all probability it was moved
here from W. front of old Norm, church. On
porch are arms of John Granville, rector from 1524
to 1580, with legend Porta Celi, and date 1587.
Seven lofty arches divide aisles from nave and
chancel ; they are of granite, with slender piers of
same material. Roofs are good examples of carved
wagon-head style. Carved bench-ends form a fine
series of great variety, symbols of the Passion,
heraldic scroll-work, and a few grotesques. Much
restoration was carried out by Sir Gilbert Scott
in 1858-60, when E. end was rebuilt; the effective
screen-work, often supposed to be old, is entirely
of that date. In S. chapel is a somewhat imposing
monument to Sir Bevill Granville, of Stowe, who
fell at Lansdowne, 5 July, 1643 J ^ was not erected
until 17 14- Organ in N. chapel built by Father
Schmidt, c. 1780. (Registers, 1539.)
St. Ladock. — The church of St. Ladoca, re-dedi-
cated in 1268, consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays,
S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. It
was too thoroughly restored in 1864 by Mr. Street.
But little of cruciform church consecrated by Bishop
Branscombe remains. S. aisle, porch, and tower
were added in 15th cent., and N. transept lengthened.
Stately tower of 3 stages is double-buttressed and
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 135
has good pinnacles. The circular late Norm,
font resembles that of Fowey ; it is of Catacleuse
stone. Base of early 16th cent, chancel screen
remains, with well - carved panels. (Registers,
1683.)
Lamorran. — Church of St. Moran, re-dedicated
in 1 261, is a small cruciform building consisting of
chancel, nave, transepts, S. porch, and detached
tower in S.W. corner of churchyard smothered in
ivy. Very little interest is attached to this church,
as it was rebuilt in 1845, and again pulled about in
1853. The font of Catacleuse stone is late Norm.,
but has been disfigured and modernised. (Registers,
1 573-)
Landewednack (St. Winwaloe). — Chancel,
nave, N. aisle of 5 bays, S. transept and porch,
and W. tower. Fabric was so severely treated in
1860-2 that, as Mr. E. Sedding writes, " much of the
old character of the building has been transformed
into 19th cent, architecture"; yet many interesting
features remain. Note fine Norm. S. doorway of
serpentine, 9 ft. high, into which a Perp. doorway
has been inserted ; several Dec. windows in chancel,
transept, and nave; stone-groined porch, c. 1300;
curious much - repaired font, inscribed D: Ric:
Bolham me fecit (he was rector from 1414 to 141 5);
and large passage squint, with low-side window,
at angle of transept and chancel, like those of St.
Cury and St. Mawgan. The unbuttressed two-staged
tower is built of great blocks of serpentine mingled
136 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
with granite ; like N. aisle, it dates from 15th cent.1
(Registers, 1578.)
Landrake (St. Peter). — Chancel, nave, N. aisle,
N. and S. porches, S. transept, and W. tower. The
lower parts of S. walls of nave and chancel are
Norm., also the jambs of S. doorway. The 15th
cent. N. aisle, with its 4 wide arches and 5 three-
light pointed windows, and the shallow N. porch,
are good examples of Perp. In the back of a
square almery in N. wall of chancel is a small
brass, with effigy in armour of Edward Courtne}',
of Powderham, 1509. Against opposite wall are
two richly engraved mural monuments of slate,
with effigies of Ebote, wife of Nicholas Wills,
19 June, 1607, and of Nicholas Wills, 2 October,
1607. Rood-loft stairway is in angle of transept
and chancel, with squint window to high altar ;
this opening has been absurdly supposed to be
for confession. Early Norm, font of Purbeck, with
square bowl and faces at the angles, is good
example of Callington type. There are 4 steps
down into the church from the S. porch. The
wagon roofs have well-carved bosses, and happily
retain the plaster between the timbers. Fine three-
staged tower, over 100 ft. high, to top of pinnacles,
is of first half of 15th cent.; double-buttressed up
to battlements, and has half octagon turret at N.E.
angle rising 10 ft. above summit. Restored with
1 For good illustrated account prior to restoration, see Arch.
Journal, 1861, pp. 739-42.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 137
care in 1877. The screen-work is 1905. (Regi-
sters, 1555.)
Landulph (St. Dilpe). — Chancel, nave, continu-
ous aisles of 6 bays, S. porch, and W. tower.
Restored in 1901. Excepting 14th cent, inner S.
doorway, which has lower half of small draped
figure in niche above, all the body of the church
is of 15th cent, or early 16th cent, dates. All the
windows are of three lights and Perp. Aisle arcades
have octagonal piers. There is a 14th cent, piscina
clumsily replaced in E. wall of chancel. Rood-loft
stairs enclosed in a semi-octagonal projection of
S. wall. Base of rood-screen remains across chancel
and S. chapel; quatrefoils point to early 15th cent,
date. At W. end of nave are 6 old carved benches,
and fragments of others. Base of tower 14th cent.,
and upper part 15th ; turret of newel at N.E. angle -
rises above rest of battlements. Against E. wall *-
of S. aisle is a valuable and curious brass inscrip-
tion recording burial of Theodore Paleologus, last *
male descendant of " the Christian Emperors of "
Greece." He died at Clifton, in this parish, in
1636. Above the inscription are the imperial arms
of the Grecian Empire. In same aisle is marble
table-tomb of Sir Nicholas Lower, of Clifton, 1635,
and of his wife Elizabeth, 1636. Clifton pews,
erected by Sir Nicholas in 1630, bear on
panels coats of arms of Lower and of 20 other
families ; above these seats are mural brasses with
long genealogical inscriptions to knight and lady.
138 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Chalice and paten-cover were given to church by
Sir Nicholas in 1631, and another chalice and cover
by Alexander Lower in 1646. Font, c. 1200, sup-
ported on 5 shafts, bears date 1660, when it was
restored and replaced in church after Puritan ejec-
tion; used to have initials of churchwardens of that
date, but has had a text inscribed during recent
years. Charles I.'s letter, and royal arms of
George II. (Registers, 1540.)
Laneast. — The remote but interesting church of
Sts. Sidwell and Gulval consists of chancel, nave,
S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower.
Originally a cruciform Norm, church ; jambs of
E. window of transept and inner side of archway
into nave are of that period. A charming E.E.
small triple-lancet window in N. wall of transept ;
also a deeply splayed E.E. light on N. side of
chancel. Dec. style of 14th cent, is represented
by W. doorway and much of lower part of tower.
In 15th cent, tower of 3 stages was raised, but-
tressed, and completed, whilst old S. transept was
absorbed in an aisle with arcade of 5 arches, sup-
ported by circular monolith granite piers. S. porch,
with good wagon roof, is also Perp. Square font
is Norm. ; circle ornaments on sides of bowl, star
mouldings round rim, and 3 heads at angles ;
fourth corner carved with a later leaf. Restored
with care in 1848. Greater part of screen,
c. 1500, across chancel and S. aisle remains, with
elaborate tracery of four lights in the wide bays ;
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 139
unfortunately the doors were removed to modern
screen across tower archway. Much of old wagon
roofs remain, and there are about 30 old bench-
ends, chiefly carved with symbols of the Passion,
including St. Peter's cock. Pulpit is early 16th
cent. ; the holy-water stoup also, and piscina in
the aisle. Some good though mutilated remains of
15th cent, glass in chancel windows, including the
Crucifixion, St. Christopher, and St. Gulval as an
abbess, and many fragments in upper lights of aisle
windows. At W. end of nave are 6-holed stocks.
(Registers, 1700.)
Lanhydrock (SV. Hydrock). — Chancel, nave,
aisles, S. porch, and three-staged W. tower, are
almost entirely 15th cent. Severely restored in
1888. Arcades of 4 arches, supported by mono-
lith granite piers on each side of nave. Font is
octagonal. Royal arms of James I., in plaster,
dated 1621. Slate tablet, with long inscription
and arms, to memory of George Carminow, 1599.
(Registers, 1561.)
Lanivet. — Chancel, nave, continuous aisles, S.
porch, and three-staged W. tower; almost wholly
Perp. of first half of 15th cent. The late Norm.
capital on S. side of chancel came from the
adjacent priory of St. Bennet. Arcades of 6 arches
are of St. Stephen stone. Rood-stairs are in S.
wall ; openings for passage through arcades re-
main. Octagonal font of Pentewan stone. Inscrip-
tion to John Cody, a former rector, 1485, and slate
140 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
monuments to John Courtney (with effigy), 1559, and
Richard Courtney, 1632. An unhappy restoration
of 1864 destroyed a whole series of wall-paintings,
including Christ blessing Trades, and St. Crede.1
(Registers, 1656.)
Lanlivery. — Church of St. Brevita is a good
building of granite, consisting of chancel, nave,
continuous S. aisle of 6 bays, N. transept, S. porch,
and W. tower. The blocks of granite on the S.
side are exceptionally large, several upwards
of 8 ft. long. Church was rebuilt throughout in
15 th cent. Piers of arcade are granite monoliths
with capitals of St. Stephen stone. The 3-staged
tower, 97 ft. high, is among the best in the county j
double-buttressed up to 2nd stage, whence spring
octagonal quoins, rising from boldly carved corbels,
terminating in lofty crocketed pinnacles ; newel
stair at N.W. angle, within the tower, lighted by
a succession of small quatrefoil openings. Note
exceptionally large octagonal font of granite, 37 in.
in diameter ; good carving of the wagon roofs of
S. aisle and porch ; rood-loft stairs and blocked-up
squint in transept; Charles I.'s letter of thanks;
ringers' rhymes under tower, 181 1 ; original strap
hinges and large latch to S. door ; rude stone coffin
with head hollow, in churchyard ; and small carved
alabaster tablet of the General Resurrection, of
15 th cent. Nottingham make, much damaged, on
sill of S. window of transept. A large number of
1 R.I.C., vols, i., iii., and xv.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 141
Kendall monuments ; most notable are a floor-slab
to Walter Kendall, 1547, and an elaborately en-
graved slate memorial to Jane, daughter of Nicholas
Kendall, 1643. (Registers, 1583.)
Lanreath. — Church of St. Marnach, re-dedicated
in 1 321, consists of chancel, nave, N. transept, S.
aisle and porch, and W. tower. Transept and N. wall
of nave are Norm., though pierced with later win-
dows. The chamfered jambs of N. door are Norm.;
it is obvious that there was here a cruciform church
of that period. Circular font, 29 in. in diameter, is a
fine and unusual example of early Norm. ; both bowl
and base richly carved ; small cross cut on the rim
is sometimes erroneously described as '* a consecra-
tion cross." There is a good octagonal font-cover of
early 13th cent. date. In sill of S. chancel chapel
window nearest E. end is a valuable relic of early £
days. It is the broken portion, 17 in. by 13 in., of
a small Norm, altar-slab or mensa, retaining 3 con-
secration crosses ; the remarkable feature is that
front and one end of slab, which is 7 in. thick, are
carved with a geometrical Norm, pattern somewhat
similar to that round rim of font. In 15th cent,
church was enlarged by S. aisle, with arcade of 5
arches supported on monolith granite piers, a S.
porch, and a 3-staged tower. Greater part of fine
old rood-screen of 10 traceried bays, across chan-
cel and S. chapel, has happily been preserved, but
coving of loft has gone ; cornice is of 3 richly
carved orders ; many traces of gilt and colour.
Font and Cover. Lanreath
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 143
Panels of base have all originally borne painted
saints ; a few are left on S. side, namely, Our Lord in
Glory, an attractive one of Henry VI., the four Latin
Doctors, three female saints, and three sibyls ; the
majority of these have been repainted at later date.1
Rood-stairs are gained from transept ; upper door-
way is of very small dimensions, and so too is open-
ing in arcade to gain top of S. chapel screen. Much
old carving remains in wagon roofs of church and
porch. A good Elizabethan pulpit, with a double-
headed eagle in centre panel. In transept is a late
Elizabethan altar-table. There are Jacobean poppy-
head bench-ends in chapel, c. 1620, bearing quartered
blazoned arms of Grylls and Bere, and chancel stalls
of same date. Against S. wall of chancel is the most
remarkable elaborately carved classical monument of
wood in any English church. It is about 14 ft. high,
54 in. in width, and projects 28 in. from wall. The
monument, profusely adorned with heraldry, is to
Charles Grylls, councillor-at-law, 161 1, and Agnes,
his wife, 1607 ; it was erected by their son John in
1623. On a stage in centre are small, almost doll-
like kneeling effigies of Charles and Agnes, whilst on
brackets in background are figures of their chaplain
and steward ; below are representations of their4sons
and 5 daughters. When chancel was rebuilt in 172 1,
Richard Grylls, grandson of erector of monument,
1 This screen was admirably restored in 1905 by Mr. T. Rogers
Kitsell, of Plymouth. See Builder, 11 November, 1905, with double
plate.
144 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
caused it to be repaired and repainted, and guarded
by iron rails, which have been since removed.
Against S. wall of S. chapel is a painted slate
memorial in wooden frame to Sir John Grylls, 1649.
Against S. wall of aisle is Charles I.'s letter and
royal arms of 1660. On N. wall is a panel painted
with three ostrich feathers, and lettered "C. P.,
1635." Under tower are Ringers' Rhymes, c. 1750,
and 4 ringers in black small-clothes. In the porch
are 7- holed stocks. (Registers, 1555.)
Lansallos. — The church of St. Ildierna, re-dedi-
cated in 1 33 1, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch, and three-staged W. tower, was rebuilt in
15th cent. No certain trace of 14th cent, church, at
which time perhaps only a new chancel was built,
but there are numerous Norm, stones used up in
15th cent, walls. Square font is Norm., curiously
carved, but 5 supporting shafts are modern. Most of
window tracery was renewed in 1883-4. Old roofs
are good, and there are a fine set of 34 carved bench-
ends, several of which bear heads in profile, whilst
one displays three faces conjoined under a coronet,
and another a fool's head. Mutilated effigies of
knight and lady of 13th cent, date at E. end of S.
aisle. The lower doorway and part of the rood-
stairs are on N. aisle. The stocks, with 5 holes, are
at W. end of S. aisle. (Registers, 1600.)
Lanteglos-by-Camelford (St. Julittd). — Chancel
of 2\ bays, nave of 4 bays, S. aisle to chancel and
nave, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower; poorly
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 145
restored in 1872. N. wall of nave and chancel and
lower parts of transept with the jambs of the arch are
Norm., at which period there was a cruciform church.
The 2 sedilia of chancel are round-headed. The three-
staged unbuttressed tower, 71 ft. high, with turreted
newel at N.E. angle, and S. aisle were added early in
15th cent., and porch about 50 years later. Wagon
roofs happily retain their plaster. Large cinquefoil
niche over S. entrance, and a stoup within porch.
The 15th cent, fine font is octagonal, with traceried
panels ; it is 3 ft. in diameter. In upper lights of
aisle windows are small figures of 5 Apostles, of
the Virgin and St. Anne, and of the Virgin and
St. Joachim in 15th cent, glass. In a N. chancel win-
dow is an old quartered coat of Morton. Against
outer N. wall are 4 slate monuments of 17th cent.,
ejected during the restoration, the oldest dated 1632.
(Registers, 1558.)
Lanteglos-by-Fowey. — The large interesting
church of St. Winwaloe (?), consisting of chancel,
nave, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower, underwent a
sorely needed restoration in 1904-5 at the hands of
Mr. E. H. Sedding. He noticed Norm, work "in
the corners of the great tower piers," which escaped
our attention ; work of the same date is obvious in
jambs of S. doorway. Font, 30 in. square and 36 in.
high, an excellent example of early 13th cent.; ribbed
moulding round rim, flowing conventional foliage on
bowl, and supported by shafts with well-moulded
capitals and bases. Shafts of the font are Purbeck,
K
146 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
but the bowl is of Pentewan stone. Portions of two
13th cent, grave covers. Ground-plan of church
forms parallelogram, 98 ft. by 52 ft., including tower,
which has archways into N. and S. aisles as well as
into nave ; it is divided into 3 parts by arcades of
5 arches on each side, supported by octagonal mono-
lith piers of Pentewan stone. Unbuttressed tower
of 4 stages and N. aisle are quite early in Perp.
period, temp. Richard II. ; S. aisle somewhat later.
Stairs to rood-loft are enclosed in projection on
S. side. When stairs were opened out in 1904 some
pieces of carved alabaster work were brought to
light, including representation of martyrdom of St.
Laurence. Note old glass in E. window of S. aisle,
5 small saints, and 2 damaged coats of arms; piscinae
of S. aisle and chancel ; old wagon roofs, especially
of S. aisle ; fine series of carved bench-ends of 15th
and 16th cents. ; delicate heraldic work from 17th
cent, pewing, now at W. end of S. aisle ; and altar-
table inscribed The gift of Baranet Mohun to the
Parishe, 1634. In S. chancel aisle is a table-tomb
in beautiful canopied recess, with cinquefoil cusping
below a frieze of fleur-de-lis, bearing traces of colour.
On the slab is a brass of a knight in armour, and
inscription to Thomas de Mohun, recording names of
three preceding generations all buried here. Tomb
was erected in lifetime of Thomas, and the date,
14 . ., was never filled up. In S.E. corner of this
aisle is another good brass to John Mohun and Anne
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 147
his wife, who died of the awful Sweating Sickness *
(ex infirmitate vocat' Sudye), within 24 hours of
each other, in September 1 507 ; there are also
figures of their 5 sons and 4 daughters, and shields
of arms. Against N. wall are the Ten Command-
ments in Elizabethan black-letter, with red initials and
an ornamental border, painted on large square panel.
On same wall is a highly interesting, rudely painted
board on which are depicted the national emblems
of rose, thistle, fleur-de-lis, and
harp. In S. aisle are painted
arms of Charles II., dated 1668.2
(Registers, 1661.)
Launcells. — Church of St.
Andrew, re -dedicated in 1321,
consists of chancel and nave of
5 bays, with continuous aisles, S.
porch, and four-staged W. tower
74 ft. high. Entirely reconstructed
in 15th cent. Note early Norm,
(not Saxon) circular font, with
double cable moulding round
bowl; variety of 15th cent, en-
caustic tiles, bearing pelican, lion,
conventional flowers, &c. ; stoup in
The Resurrection.
Bench-end, Launcells
fleur-de-lis,
porch ; and
1 See Dr. Cox's Parish Registers of England, 142-144.
2 When the present writer visited this church in August 1904
restoration was in full progress, and through the carelessness of the
clerk in charge these 3 panels were lying about uncovered and
exposed to heavy rains ; it is to be presumed that they have been
replaced.
148 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
table-tomb in chancel with effigy in armour of Sir
John Chamond, 1624. Special feature of church is
wealth of carved bench-ends, upwards of 60, bearing
curious symbols of the Ascension, Resurrection, and
Washing of the Feet, in addition to the more usual
ones of the Passion.1 Base of screen with painted
figures of the Apostles was destroyed many years
ago. (Registers, 1642.)
Launceston. — The church of St. Mary Magda-
lene, consecrated 18 June, 1524, consists of chancel
and nave of 8 bays, with continuous aisles, S. porch,
and S. tower. The fabric, excepting tower, com-
pleted at date of consecration, is entirely of granite
within and without; the area is 103 ft. by 53 ft.
Whole of exterior is richly panelled with sculpture
somewhat coarsely executed, but a marvel of cost
and cunning when hardness of material is considered.
There is every reason to discredit the absurd story
that Sir Henry Trecarrell,therefounder of thischurch,
built it with stones designed for a great mansion at
Trecarrell, design of which was abandoned on the
suicide of his son and heir. The wall-plinths are
sculptured with quatrefoils, the centres of which
■ have a shield and a fleur-de-lis alternately ; above
o~ this is another course of tracery, in which are shields
^ bearing coats of arms and letters. The letters,
j» beginning at the chancel door and extending east-
ward, form the legends: — Ave Maria grade plena
1 See illustrated article on the more remarkable examples in the
Reliquary, N.S., vol. v. pp. 42-45.
SOUTH POKCH, ST. MAKV MAGDALENE, LAUNCESTON
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 149
Dominus tecum. Sponsus amat sponsam. Maria
opt imam partem eligit. O quam terribilis ac metu-
endus est locus iste. Vere aliud nou est hie nisi
domus Dei et porta celi. Above the legends runs
a course of rose and thistle-leaf ornaments, and
then come windows flanked by ornamental but-
tresses ; by sides of windows are palm leaves, and
in spandrels foliated roses. An enriched scroll
string surmounts windows, and from this rises, on
S. side, embattled parapet sculptured with rose,
thistle, and pomegranate. At apex of E. gable are
the royal arms, and below window is a recess with
recumbent figure, supposed to represent St. Mary
Magdalene. Fine porch has an upper chamber,
which used to be supported by groining, springers
remain ; in front are quartered arms of Trecarrell
and Kelway, the date 15 11, and sculptures repre-
senting St. George and the Dragon, and St. Martin
dividing his cloak with the beggar.
There are obvious traces at W. end that it was
intended to give this church a new tower, but pro-
ject was never carried out. The extant tower, 85
ft. high, was built between 1380 and 1390 ; it stood
detached from the Henry VIII. church for about 3
centuries, when it was united to main building by a
most unsightly room erected for municipal purposes,
but which now serves as a vestry. All the old wood-
work has disappeared from interior of church, ex-
cepting the richly carved 16th cent, pulpit. A new
chancel screen was erected in 191 1 of remarkable
150 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
design. Font, of Pentewan stone, is also coeval
with church, though it looks modern, having been
mercilessly retooled and cleared of ornament during
a restoration of 1852, when much screen-work and
seating was also swept away. At W. end of N.
aisle is mutilated bowl of a Norm. font. Many mural
monuments of 17th and 18th cents., including two
of great size and some merit in N. aisle ; the oldest
of all these memorials is to Philip King, town-clerk,
1636, and his wife, 1626. On N. side of church-
yard the well-carved head of a mediaeval cross has
recently been raised on a new shaft. (Registers,
1558.)
Launceston St. Thomas and Launceston St.
Stephen are entered under their respective saints.
Lawhitton. — Church of St. Michael^ considerably
restored in i860 and again in 1873, consists of
chancel, nave, S. aisle, porch, and S. tower. There
was probably a Norm, cruciform church ; base of
three-staged S. transeptal tower is Norm., but it
was added to in 13th cent., and completed in
15th cent.; it is unbuttressed and lessens in each
stage ; squared stair-turret on E. side rises some-
what higher than the battlements. S. aisle with
"> arcade of 5 arches, supported on monolith granite
piers, is late 15th cent. Porch has inner doorway
and stoup of Polyphant stone. Square Norm, font
with heads at angles is of same material. There
are 7 old 15th cent, benches with carved ends.
Pulpit, bearing the arms of Bennet, is dated i6$$*
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 151
At W. end is a 17th cent, shaft alms-box. In
vestry is a good early Jacobean altar-table, and a
remnant of Laudian altar-rails. Under tower is
elaborate armorial slate slab to Robert Bennet,
1683. (Registers, 1655.)
Lelant (St. Uny). — Chancel and nave with con-
tinuous aisles, S. porch, and W. tower; consider-
able and costly restoration in 1873. Arcades are
of 6 arches each side; whole fabric is 15th cent.,
with interesting exception of the entire arch, cir-
cular pier with escalloped capital, and half pier of
second bay on N. side, which are Norm. Octagonal
arcaded bowl of a late Norm, font has recently been
recovered from a farmyard and remounted. Church
is of granite throughout ; inner S. doorway has very
good spandrels and paterae in hollows of mouldings;
it should be compared with that of St. Endellion.
Blocked-up N. doorway is of Catacleuse stone.
The three-staged tower, 60 ft. high, has angle but-
tresses. Rood-stairs are in N. walls ; considerable
remains of the base of the screen. Over porch
is an interesting early 18th cent, copper sundial, on
pierced gnomon of which is a quaint representation
of Time and Death (see illustrated account in
Reliquary, 1898, N.S., vol. iv.). Under the tower
is Charles I.'s letter. At W. end of S. aisle are
two quaintly engraved slate monuments with effi-
gies ; the one to William Praed, 1620, with 1 son
and 3 daughters ; the other to Stephen Pawley, 1635.
(Registers, 1684.)
152 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Lesnewth. — Church of St. Knuet (mentioned as
St. Michael in 15th cent.) was an old cruciform
Norm, church; but grievously deformed in 1866,
when transepts were taken down and walls of nave
and chancel rebuilt. A quasi-chapel was built up out
of Norm, fragments on S. side of the chancel ; on
N. side is an old Norm, light, and in window-sill the
mensa of N. transept altar-slab with its consecra-
tion crosses. The 15 th cent, three-staged tower
has bold string-courses. Octagonal font is Perp.
(Registers, 1564.)
St. Levan. — Interesting church of St. Levan,
formerly cruciform, consists of chancel, nave, N.
transept, S. aisle and porch, and W. tower of 2
stages; over - restored in 1876. Transept, con-
nected at later date with nave by two arches sup-
ported by octagonal pier and responds, is E.E.,
and has lancet window in the E. wall. Rest of
church is 15th cent. Note good circular Norm,
font with star ornament round rim ; square E.E.
arcaded stoup in porch ; rood-screen with curiously
carved panels in the base, the upper part restored
1885 ; the rood-stairs in a projection on the S. side ;
many excellently carved bench-ends;1 and 1752
pulpit, with good inlays. (Registers, 1700.)
Lewannick. — Church of St. Martin, rebuilt
throughout in 15th cent, consisting of chancel,
nave, aisles, N. and S. porches, and W. tower,
1 See Reliquary, N.S., vol. x. pp. 43-51, for article on this
church with good illustrations of bench-ends.
BENXH-KND, ST. LEVAN
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 153
suffered severely from fire on 11 January, 1890.
The S. aisle had to be entirely rebuilt, and now
possesses a beautiful arcade of 5 arches of Poly-
phant stone. N. arcade of granite is original. Old
wagon roofs remain in each porch, but rest were
destroyed. A great wealth of old benches and
bench-ends perished ; only one survives, it bears
the initials T. F., and date 1546. Three-staged
fine tower has octagonal pinnacles with crocketed
finials ; W. doorway and window above are treated
with exceptional richness. A crocketed hood-mould
over the 4-light E. window of chancel, with heraldic
terminals. Late Norm, font is octagonal, with geo-
metrical pattern on each face, diameter 36 in.
Church is noted for its remarkable circular cresset
stone; it is 18 in. in diameter, and has 7 cups to
serve as lamps.1 At W. end. of the N. aisle is a
large panelled chest of early 17th cent. date.
In the churchyard is an ancient stone inscribed
with Ogams and debased Roman letters, INCEN VI
MEMORIA. This was discovered by late Mr. Langdon
in 1 892. Another of these rude bilingual pillar stones,
commemorating Christian interment c. 500 A.D., was
found in 1894 in two pieces, one built into E. wall,
and other in N. porch ; they are now placed together
in the church ; inscription runs C JACIT VLCAGNI.2
1 For illustration and full description, see Reliquary, Jan. 1895.
1 These are the only Ogam inscriptions in Cornwall. For an
account of the Ogam alphabet, and for illustrations of these two
stones, see Vict. Co. Hist, of Cornwall, vol. i. 410-413.
154 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
There are also in churchyard some fragments of
Norm, capitals, found under flooring when church
was rebuilt. (Registers, 1660.)
Lezant. — Church of St. Breoc, re-dedicated in
1259, comprises chancel and nave in the continuous
aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Mr. Sedding considers
that there are evidences of Norm, building in walls
of chancel, and in inner arch and jambs of a Norm,
light at W. end of N. aisle ; but this window with
a cinquefoil head cannot be earlier than close of 13th
cent. The four arches of the arcades are supported
by monolith granite piers ; both are 15th cent., but
S. aisle is the oldest and widest. The late 15 th
cent, tower is a good double-buttressed example
of three stages ; octagonal turrets, surmounted by
crocketed pinnacles, spring from angles of battle-
ments. Jambs of the porch entrance are elaborately
treated, and it retains its old wagon roof. Roofs
are good, especially the chancel ; the restorer has
spared the plaster between the ribs. Note the
square Norm, font., 30 in. in diameter, with the
angles cut off to form an octagon ; the rood-stairs
and doorway in N. wall ; an elaborate table-tomb
of engraved slate to the Trefusis family in the S.
chancel aisle, and a memorial to John Mills and
to Joan his wife, who died on Whitsunday, 1 573»
and were buried in the same grave ; also at the W.
end of this aisle, to Thomas Snell, rector, 1670.
The church was restored in 1869. (Registers,
1 539-)
CRESSET STONE, LEWANNICK CHURCH
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 155
Linkinhorne (St. Melor). — Chancel and nave
with continuous aisles of 5 bays, S. porch, and
W. tower. Restored in 1891. Granite throughout,
with arcades supported on monolith piers. S. aisle
and porch c. 1450 ; N. aisle and tower built by
Sir Henry Trecarrell, temp. Henry VIII. Porch
entrance is remarkable for "a running ornament
of interwoven stems in the hollow of the mould-
ings." Tower of 4 stages, with octagonal turrets
and crocketed pinnacles, is among finest of county, *2
attaining a height of 120 ft. Note Trans.-Norm. ~>
font, 31 in. square, with arcaded sides, supported Jj
on 5 shafts ; old altar-slab, with 5 crosses, laid in ^
1 89 1 in vestry floor after an unseemly fashion ; ?»
rood-stairs in N. wall ; 2 old bench-ends at W.
end, and some early 17th cent, seats in S. aisle.
An interesting wall-painting of Christ blessing the
Trades was brought to light at restoration, and
another of St. George and Dragon ; now somewhat
faded. (Registers, 1576.)
Liskeard. — Church of St. Martin, largest in
county next to Bodmin, consists of chancel and ,;
nave with continuous aisles, a further S. aisle of^ii'1
3 bays, N. and S. porches, and W. tower. Full .<*>y
length of church is 140 ft., width of nave and-<"t/>
chancel 21 ft. 6 in., of each of aisles, 16 ft. 6 in., *2^
and of further S. aisle 13 ft. 6 in. Arcades have 7/~
7 arches, 5 on each side of nave, and 2 of lower - '
proportions out of chancel. Extra S. arcade has 5"«£
3 lofty arches. Arches at E. ends of aisles, into«-» <►'
(■<■
156 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
chancel chapels, a most exceptional feature for
this county. Fine S. porch used to have upper
chamber ; newel stairs remain. In N. wall are 3
large recesses with stone-ribbed roofs ; two served
as small chapels, whilst W. one forms N. porch. Old
Norm, church gradually disappeared, save the tower,
during 14th and 15 th cents. Town records con-
tain agreements between Prior and Convent of St.
Stephen, Launceston, and Mayor and Commonalty,
as to erection of S. aisle, and Lady chapel annexed
in 1428, of S. chancel aisle in 1430, and of N.
chancel aisle in 1477. Clear evidence of 14th
cent, work in Dec. piscina niche of S. aisle, with
cinquefoil ogee-shaped head ; it must have been
replaced here in 1430. Plain large octagonal font,
with diameter of 45 in., probably 14th cent. Bowl
of old Norm, font built up in N. porch, where it
long served as holy-water stoup. Documentary
evidence shows that there used to be two towers
to W. front. Up to beginning of this century, the
survivor of these towers, 57 ft. high, was standing;
it was of Norm, workmanship, with later alterations,
including good granite W. doorway dated 161 7.
This tower gradually became so insecure that its
removal was a necessity. Liskeard is to be
congratulated in possessing a local architect (Mr.
Samson) and a local builder (Mr. Trehane) capable
of erecting so finely proportioned a successor in
grey granite, upwards of 100 ft. high, which forms
a distinctive ornamental feature of the district.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 157
Most of old Norm, voussoirs, or arch stones, were
preserved, and are built up into a recessed arch-
way in S. wall of new tower. Five small Norm, lights
and a number of corbel stones, as well as the 17th
cent. W. doorway, are also reused in new tower.
Norm, masonry remains at W. end of N. aisle.
Here is a noteworthy and exceptionally small low
window, possibly of late Norm, date, but probably
much later ; it is divided by mullions into 3 square-
headed lights, each 16 in. high and 3§ in. wide.
Below is what is usually termed a square stoup.
Use of the 3 small lights or openings a puzzle ;
they possibly served for giving doles ; at all events,
connecting them with lepers is an absurdity, for
lepers were not allowed in churchyards, and at
Liskeard there was a leper hospital close at hand
with its own chapel. Old screen and much carved
work destroyed in 1793, when interior was
grievously disfigured. Rood-stairs are on S.
side. Pulpit, with good arabesque panels, dated
1636 ; it cost £10, with 9s. 6d. extra for "stayers."
Most interesting feature of church is the series of
13 consecration crosses carved in different positions
on exterior walls of S. and N. aisles. Each consists
of a Maltese cross within a sunk circle, about 8| in.
in diameter ; new aisles with altars covering fresh
ground required distinct dedication. (Registers,
1 539-)
Looe, East. — Old chapel of St. Anne, of borough
of East Looe, had chancel, nave, N. aisle, and W.
158 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
tower. Becoming decayed it was taken down and
rebuilt, save tower, in 1805, after plain rectangular
fashion, by John Buller, M.P., and recorder of
borough. An engraving of 1823 shows that the
tower was 13th cent., with later battlements. A new
church, with an apsidal chancel, was built on old
site in 1882-3. (Registers, 1910, formerly incor-
porated with those of St. Martin's-by-Looe.)
Looe, West. — Bishop Grandison, in 1336, con-
firmed the enlarged endowment of chapel of St.
Nicholas at West Looe, erected by ancestors of Sir
John Dawney, and authorised its general use. West
Looe obtained charter of incorporation in 1574. In
the irreverent Elizabethan days, the chapel was
used as Guildhall ; much later it served as school.
In 1852 building was restored to original sacred
purpose, and refitted and enlarged in 1862. It now
consists of chancel, nave, N. aisle, and W. bell-
turret. Aisle arcade has 3 timber arches, supported
by squared timber piers and responds chamfered at
edges. This timber work, and much used in roof,
came from the ship " St. Joseph," which was locally
wrecked c. 1850. Some original 15th cent, windows
and masonry on S. side, and in chancel is 14th
cent, piscina niche.
Lostwithiel.1 — Church of St. Bartholomew con-
sists of chancel and nave with continuous clere-
storied aisles of 5 bays, N. and S. porches, and W.
1 These notes are materially condensed from long account con-
tributed by present writer to Builder of 10 June, 1905.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 159
tower and spire. Ground-plan, exclusive of tower,
is 75 ft. by 48 ft. Earliest part of church, which
may be assigned to E.E. period, is the tower, origin-
ally a plain but well-built structure early in the 13th
cent, of two stages, and apparently crowned with
low, broached spire. On W. side there are 3 low
buttresses that reach up about two-thirds of first
stage. Probably these are all of later work than
tower itself; at all events, this is the case with
centre one, for there are indications of head of
a blocked-up window above it. There are lancet
lights in 1st and 2nd stages of N. and S. walls of
tower, and in upper stage of W. wall. Angles of low
broached spire rising from an elementary 3rd stage
can be detected on close examination both on W- *?
and S. sides. A remarkable feature of the tower — **»
which fully accounts for its somewhat exceptional k
shape and construction — is that it was built over a <«*
right of way. There was a public footpath that ^
passed beneath this tower, through N. and S. open H ^
archways, until restoration of 1878-9, when the-; ;
way was closed and doors supplied to these two^i
tower entrances. This tends to prove that the i* e
c. 1200 church was an extension to W. of its £ *
Norm, predecessor. The result of such an ar-
rangement as this was that there could be no
archway from tower into nave, merely a some-
what mean-looking doorway, with square light into
ringing-chamber above it. On W. front of tower
are the weather mouldings of acutely pitched
160 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
E.E. roof, still discernible above present roof of
nave.
Early in 14th cent, came about the enrichment of
this church by addition of exceptionally beautiful
spire, which the late Mr. Street, when repairing it,
after gale of 1883, termed "the pre-eminent glory"
of the W. of England. It required, too, consum-
mate skill to add to such a work to earlier tower.
An octagonal lantern was built up around base of
old broached spire ; each of the 8 sides is pierced
by gabled coupled-lights, having quatrefoils in apex
and crossed in centre by transomed panel of 4 open
quatrefoils — save that in N.E. light a circle of 6
trefoils, forming a wheel, takes place of 4 quatrefoils.
Whole effect of this singular arrangement is sur-
prisingly light and graceful. The octagonal spire
that rises from amidst this lantern, to height of about
1 10 ft., has 4 dormered lights on cardinal faces.
Somewhat later in 14th cent., work of completely
rebuilding church, as it now stands, was taken in
hand. Nave and continuous chancel are divided
from aisles by arcades of 5 arches on each side.
Piers have no capitals, mouldings being carried up
continuously into arches. Such an arrangement,
common enough in N. of France, is decidedly un-
common in England. Whole effect of these arcades
is distinctly foreign ; they closely resemble arcades
of like date at fine church of Fowey at mouth ot
estuary. In both cases they are built, like most of
rest of fabrics, of Pentewan stone. Westernmost
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 161
arches of these arcades are rather lower, and in
other respects slightly different from remainder.
Possibly this denotes beginning and interruption of
a plan at same time as spire, which was taken up
and completed on somewhat different lines later in
the century. Can it be that this is one of the several
instances wherein church building was for a time
checked by ravages of the Black Death of 1348-9 ?
The clerestory windows over the lean-to aisles
are of unusual character. There are only 4 on
each side, consisting of 3 grouped lancet lights of
plainest construction. During the Civil War, Lost-
withiel, in 1644, was centre of Earl of Essex's parlia-
mentary forces. The provost-marshal, in order to
secure certain royalist prisoners who had taken
refuge in the belfry, fired a barrel of gunpowder
within the church, which blew off the roof. Present
clerestory is probably definite restoration (c. 1660)
of upper part of the church after this disaster.
The somewhat plain square-headed aisle windows
not original ; a good deal of the work is last
century restoration. One noble feature of church
was spared, so far as the 14th cent, mullions and
tracery (though somewhat repaired) are concerned,
when the gunpowder wrought such havoc. The
great E. window of the chancel of 5 lights is un-
usually large, measuring 34 ft. high by 14 ft. wide.
The tracery is a remarkably good example of later
geometrical style. Above each light is a trefoil,
and above these $ trefoils are rows of 4, 3, and 2
L
nMIUEiaWI'MTIIIHIBIL:
162 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
quatrefoils respectively, with single quatrefoil in
apex.
The 14th cent, octagonal font is remarkably
carved. On E. face is the Rood
with Sts. Mary and John ; (2) this
is followed, in bold relief, by
mounted huntsman and hound ;
(3) 2 lions passant ; (4) grotesque
head, with 2 snakes; (5) tracery
of quatrefoils ; (6) 2 hounds and
a wolf, mutilated ; (7) tracery of
quatrefoils ; and (8) a mitred
foliaged head. Bowl stands on 5
shafts.1 Over W. arch of nave is
an alabaster panel carved with
martyrdom of St. Bartholomew.
Against pier by S. entrance is a
singular oak alms-box, 38 in.
high ; inscribed W. T. Mater,
1645, and below a clumsily carved
human figure ; outside S. porch
is granite table - tomb of donor,
commemorating " William Taprell
(of)ten Mayor of this Borough."
Against N. wall is brass effigy
in armour of Tristram Curteys,
Aims-box, Lostwithiel 1423 ; he was M.P. for Lostwithiel.
1 For much longer description of this font, see Cox and Harvey's
Church Furniture, 192-3.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 163
Also a memorial to Temperance, wife of William
Kendall, 1579.
In S. wall of church, between porch and tower,
are two plain exterior sepulchral recesses. They
have never contained effigies within memory, but a
steady tradition has been maintained that here were
buried Robert de Cardinham and his wife, c. 1200.
During the alterations of 1890 human bones were
found beneath the slabs in each recess, but no
trace of any kind of coffin. It is by no means
impossible that tradition is right, and that these
recesses were originally constructed for the great
lord of this town and of Fowey, with his lady,
when the church (then a rectory in their own
control) was rebuilt in the new English style then
coming into vogue, at their expense. Robert de
Cardinham (or Cardinan) was by far the largest
landowner in the county, and his lady was the
wealthy heiress of FitzWilliam. We may be
quite certain that these recesses are over graves
of persons of importance and locally respected, for
it is obvious that they are earlier than the wall-
ing around them, and that they were carefully
preserved when later church was built. (Regis-
ters, 1609.)
Ludgvan {St. Ludwan). — Chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower; almost entirely 15th cent,
granite, but S. aisle a good deal earlier than N.
aisle. Font Norm., with cable moulding. A 13th
cent, window in N. wall of chancel. Tower of 3
1 64 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
stages, buttressed at angles, and with panelled arch,
is Perp. In N. aisle is curiously carved slate slab
bearing effigies of John South, rector, his wife, and
5 children, 1636. Also memorials in chancel to
Dr. Borlase, the county historian, for 52 years rector,
who died in 1772; also to his wife and son. A
fine wall-painting of St. Christopher was brought
to light by Dr. Borlase in 1740 {R.I.C., iv. 50),
but it is now once more " embedded in Protestant
whitewash." (Registers, 1563.)
Luxulyan (Sts. Cyricus and Julitta). — Chancel
and nave, with continuous aisles of 6 bays, S. porch,
and W. tower; 15th cent, throughout. Arcades
supported on monolith granite piers. Tower of
3 stages, with octagonal turret over newel, is built
of great blocks of granite, one of which measures
7 ft. 2 in. in length and 2 ft. 6 in. in width ; in this
tower were stored the Stannary Records up to the
great Civil War. Embattled porch has groined roof
with good panelled tracery. Old wagon roofs of
aisles survived considerable restoration of 1883, and
still retain original plaster between timbers. The
rood-stairs contained in a projection in N. wall.
Fine old rood-screen pulled down c. 1825. Several
portions, with full-length panels of the Apostles,
were here as late as 1870. Now there are a few
fragments made up into seats. Pulpit is constructed
from portions of an old screen formerly in the
church of Farningham, Kent. Norm, font is good ex-
ample of square type, with angle shafts terminating
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 165
in heads, like those of Bodmin and St. Austell.
(Registers, 1593.)
St. Mabe.— Church of St. Mabe (a chapel of St.
Mylor up to 1868) consists of chancel and nave,
with continuous aisles, S. porch, and W. tower
of 3 stages, all of 1 5th cent. date. It was so much
damaged by lightning in 1866 that it was rebuilt
throughout in 1869, excepting tower and porch.
Note good granite carving of W. and porch door-
ways, and S. doorway of Caen stone ; piscina and
almery S. side of chancel; small Easter Sepulchre
N. side, rood-stairs in N. aisle, and opening to loft
in S. arcade. Valuable fragments of an alabaster
reredos, 14th cent., were found in the almery
in 1866; they are preserved at vicarage.1 (Regis-
ters, 1653.)
St. Mabyn {St. Mabean). — Chancel and nave,
with continuous aisles of 7 bays, S. porch, and
W. tower, all 15 th cent. The lofty arcades are
supported by monolith granite piers, with well-
carved capitals of St. Stephen stone. Rood-stair
turret in N. wall Font, 30 in. square, has arcaded
sides, and is of Trans.-Norm. date : circular shaft
N
has star ornament. Gradually and well restored -•
between 1884 and 1894; good wagon roofs, with t-
carved bosses throughout, happily permitted to**!
retain original plaster between timbers. Fine three- £
1 They are illustrated by Mr. Thurstan Peter in his valuable
account of this church, R.I.C., vol. xiv. ; there is an illustrated
account of the fabric prior to the rebuilding in R.I. C, vol. ii. 234-9.
1 66 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
staged tower of unbuttressed granite, 85 ft. high ;
note W. doorway of Catacleuse stone, with hood-
mould terminals of arms of Lucombe of Bodmin
and Heligan, and the lower string-courses, with
arms of Godolphin, Hamley, and Barrett families;
parclose screens of chancel chapels modern. Disas-
trous refitting of church under Rev. Leveson Gower,
rector 1818-41, resulted in ejection of several
good slate monuments, now against outer N. wall
and tower of church, and in loss of two brasses.
(Registers, 1562.)
St. Madron. — Church of Si. Madern, mother-
church of Penzance, consists of chancel and nave
with continuous aisles of 6 bays, N. and S. porches,
and W. tower. Considerably restored in 1886-7,
when chancel was extended, and S. porch built in
. imitation of that of St. Buryan. High altar of a
V* new chancel was consecrated in 1336; to that date
«*e belong piscina and sedilia (of which only one re-
<j^ mains) in S. wall. Two lower stages of tower, and
v» S. aisle with its arcade of Caen stone, belong to
2s different periods of 13 th cent. Top stage of tower
and N. aisle are 15th cent. Rood-stairs are on S.
side ; in the new screen several panels of the old one
are incorporated. Several good bench-ends in S. aisle.
Square Norm, font has been unhappily discarded ;
bowl lies in churchyard ; 5 plain shafts and circular
base are original. A good late mural brass in N.
aisle, with effigies of John Clies, twice mayor of
Penzance, 1623, and of his wife and 6 children.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 167
Also two slate slabs engraved with effigies to John
Maddern, 1620, and to Thomas Fleming, 1631.
(Registers, 1577.)
Maker (St. Macro). — Chancel and nave, with
continuous aisles of 5 bays, further S. aisle of 3
bays, S. porch, and W. tower. The whole is 15th
cent, granite. Restored in 1874. Old wagon roofs
retain original plastering between timbers; chancel
bay is enriched with carving ; on bosses are port-
cullis badge, a crowned M, rose, fleur-de-lis, &c.
The filled-up openings in arcades for passage to
rood-loft may be noted. Each side of E. window
of S. aisle is a trefoil-headed image niche. Font,
a fine example of late Norm, of Caen stone, is of
Bodmin type, and was brought here from church
of St. Merryn. The buttressed three-staged tower
is 65 ft. high ; a splendid panoramic view from
summit. Numerous monuments to the Mount
Edgcumbe family, from 1607 to 1839. (Registers,
1630.)
Manaccan (Sis. Menaccus and Dunstan). —
Chancel, nave, continuous N. aisle of 6 bays, S.
transept, and W. tower. Originally a cruciform
Norm, church, of which walls of chancel, nave, and
transept yield evidence. There are two lancet-
headed lights on S. side of chancel, and one in the
E. wall of the transept; jambs of these windows
are Norm., the E.E. builders probably substituting
pointed heads at the time when they were glazed.
Piscina niche, with credence shelf in transept, is
1 68 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
also E.E. S. doorway is an interesting Norm,
example of 3 orders, but has obviously been re-
constructed ; it probably served originally as a
W. doorway, and was much repaired during restora-
tion of 1888. The two-staged tower is good 14th
cent., with exception of later slight battlements and
pinnacles ; much childish curiosity is excited by a
fig-tree growing out of S. side of nave ; it is con-
stantly doing mischief to the fabric. N. aisle, with
arcade supported on monolith granite piers, is late
15th cent. Font is modern; old font was ejected
by rector about half a century ago, and used as a
garden flower-pot; see Arch. Journal, 1861, p. 45.
Rood-stairs are in N. wall. Traces of a passage
squint in transept angle. (Registers, 161 5.)
Marazion, formed into a parish out of ancient
parish of St. Hilary in 1893, had a chapel or church
(St. Catherine) consisting of chancel, nave, S. aisle,
N. transept, and bell-turret ; but having lost its
transept and become generally dilapidated, it was
taken down and a new church (All Saints) built on
site in 1861, after Dec. style.
Marhamchurch (St. Marvenne). — Chancel, nave,
continuous N. aisle of 5 bays, S. transept, N. porch,
and W. tower of 3 stages. This is one of frequent
instances of Norm, cruciform church losing its
character by absorption of one transept in a 15th
cent, aisle. Fabric has lost much interest in a
series of repairs and alterations, extending from
c. 1840 to a careful restoration of 1907. During
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 169
one of these earlier refittings the church lost an
old screen and many bench-ends. In 1890 some
portions of screen, in good condition, were found
in a wall of the parsonage, and are carefully
preserved. Note a 4-holed cresset stone ; l Norm.
base of a corner shaft, recovered from rectory
garden; 15th cent, piscina in transept; stoup in
porch; 15th cent. S. door, closing- ring of which
is absurdly termed a " sanctuary ring " ; and pulpit
c. 1670. (Registers, 1558.)
St. Martin-by-Looe. — Chancel, nave, S. aisle, S.
and N. transepts, N. porch, and W. tower. Restored
in 1882, and again on more careful lines in 1907.
Norm, church was probably cruciform. In doorway
within modern porch is richly ornamented Norm,
work of 4 orders. Curiously carved Norm, font,
28 in. square and 10 in. deep, stands 30 in. high ;
part of base has clearly belonged to another font,
said to have been brought from West Looe. Several
carved Norm, stones came to light during recent ~
restoration ; also an E.E. lancet light W. of S. «
arcade. This small window and a few other traces ^
of 13th cent, work tell of the church re-dedicated by *
Bishop Branscombe in 1268. Two lower stages of "~
tower are Dec, c. 1325 ; top stage, with square turret
rising 10 ft. above parapet, at S.E. angle, is 15th
cent., to which Perp. period, with its good wagon
roofs, belongs most of rest of fabric. In chancel is
trefoil-headed 14th cent, piscina niche, also good
1 Figured in Reliquary, N.S., xi. 59.
170 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Laudian altar-rails. E. end of S. aisle is enclosed
by an interesting parclose screen, dated 1612 ; it
bears a long Latin inscription stating it was erected
by Walter Langdon, and the Langdon arras. Many
monuments in this aisle ; oldest are those of Philip
Maiowe, 1590, with quaint epitaph, Stephen Med-
hope, rector, 1636, and Walter Langdon of Keverell,
"the last of that loyal, antient, and honorable
family," 1676. (Registers, 1571.)
St. Martin-in-Meneage. — Church, a plain rectan-
gular building, was rebuilt, save low tower of two
stages, in 1830. (Registers, 1 571 .)
St. Mawes. — Old borough town of St. Mawes, to
the N. of Falmouth, is in parish of St. Just-in-
Roseland. Ancient chapel of St. Mawes or Mauduit
mentioned in Bishop Lang's register in 1427. Leland,
temp. Henry VIII., visited this "fischer town caullid
S. Maws," adding " there is a chapelle of hym and
his chaire of stone a little without and his welle ;
they call this Sainct there S. Mat., he was a bishop
in Britain and was painted as a scholemaster." This
ancient chapel was desecrated and used as a dwelling-
house in irreligious Elizabethan days. Duke of
Buckingham built a chapel-of-ease here in 18 12, but
not being endowed it was not used for service until
1837 ; it was rebuilt in 1883-4.
St. Mawgan-in-Meneage (St. Maucan). — Chan-
cel and nave, continuous S. aisle of 6 bays, shallow
S. transept, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower. It
seems to have been a 13th cent, cruciform building;
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 171
chancel walls are E.E., and there are two (renewed)
lancet lights in the S. wall ; S. transept used to
show undoubted 13th cent. work. E. window of
chancel and S. window of transept are Dec. N.
aisle is c. 1450, and tower and N. transept c. 1500.
The 2 arches at entrance to S. transept are modern.
Note finely carved wagon roofs ; E.E. font on 5
shafts ; arcade of porcelain stone, with rudely carved
capitals; and carved grani te jambs of E. window of N.
chancel aisle. Most interesting feature is the squint-
passage through angle of transept and chancel, with
its 3 small arches and low-side window. The 3-
staged unbuttressed tower, with lofty pinnacles of
clustered shafts, is the best in W. of Cornwall.
Jambs of W. doorway are cunningly carved in con-
tinuous bands of foliage springing from crowned
heads. On tower are arms of Carminow, Reskymer,
Ferrers, and Vyvyan. In S. transept are defaced
freestone late 13th cent, effigies of knight and lady.
Knight is in chain mail, with crossed legs, and a
bend on his shield ; in all probability it represents
Robert Carminow, who was in Palestine with
Edward I. In N. aisle are many monuments of
Vyvyans of Trelowarren, 1665 to 1844. Sword and
helmet of Sir Richard Vyvyan, Bart. (1665), which
he used during Great Rebellion, hung on ironwork
of tomb; but they have been removed to Trelowarren
owing to damp of church. (Registers, 1678.)
St. Mawgan-in-Pyder. — The picturesquely situa-
ted and beautiful church of St. Maucan consists of
172 THE CHURCHES OE CORNWALL
chancel, nave of 4 bays, N. transept, continuous
S. aisle of 6 bays, S. porch, and W. tower. The
cruciform plan of this church is 13th cent., and that
is the date of lower part of tower. Two arches of
S. chapel of chancel, of Catacleuse stone, are c. 1375 ;
but arcade of St. Stephen stone of nave aisle is
late 15th cent. This, too, is period of S. porch, and
of the raising of the fine tower, with lofty turreted
pinnacle over newel of S.E. angle, to a height of
70 ft. Font, of Pentewan stone, is a comparatively
plain example of late Norm., type of Bodmin and
St. Austell, shafts below angle-heads are new, rim
has zigzag ornament, and there are 4 uncharged
shields on bowl. Pulpit is peculiarly interesting,
being Marian work of 1553; the 6 panels bear
symbols of the Passion. A squint connecting N.
transept with sanctuary is 13th cent. Late 15th
cent, screen of much interest has been carefully re-
coloured from the original remains ; it is of unusual
type, without tracery in bays, like that of Crantock ;
it retains its carving with a vine-tendril cornice, and
bears arms of Arundell quartering Carminow. Up-
wards of 40 of 15th cent, carved bench-ends remain ;
they are exceptionally well carved, including every
variety of Passion symbols. In chancel is a well-
preserved brass of a priest of first half of 15 th cent.
Against S. wall are various Arundell brass inscrip-
tions, with coats of arms ; the oldest are to the
memory of George and Isabell Arundell, 1573 ;
Cyssel Arundell, 1578; and Edward Arundell, 1586.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 173
In churchyard, to N.W. of the church, stands a 15th
cent, cross, of Catacleuse stone ; head, carved with
the Annunciation, Crucifixion, and saint subjects.
Church somewhat over-restored by Mr. Butterfield
in 1861; it is kept in excellent and worshipful order,
and cannot fail to delight all reverent-minded church-
men. (Registers, 1686.)
St. Mawnan (Sts. Mawnan and Stephen). —
Chancel, nave, aisles with arcades of 5 arches sup-
ported by monolith granite piers, and W. tower of
two stages. S. porch removed in 1830 to extend
aisle westward, and other clumsy alterations about
that date; thorough scheme of restoration in 1880.
A 13th cent, lancet window on S. side of chancel.
The N. aisle windows are 14th cent.; as both arcades
are 15th cent., it would appear that these windows
were removed from N. wall of nave when this aisle
was thrown out. Tower late 14th cent. ; rest of
church, including small octagonal granite font, late
15th cent. Rood-stairs on S. side. One side of old
rood-screen remains, including painted panels of
Sts. Peter, Andrew, James, and John. A 17th cent,
shaft alms-box, with iron lid and 2 padlocks, is
inscribed "Remember the Poore." (Registers, 1553.)
St. Mellion. — Chancel and nave, with continuous
N. aisle of 5 bays, S. transept and porch, and W.
tower; thorough restoration in 1862, also consider-
able recent repairs. Old wagon roofs happily suffered
to retain ceiled panels. Originally a Norm, cruciform
church ; lowes part of walls of chancel, S. transept,
174 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
and S. side of nave give evidence of this. In an
angle of transept a few stones have been built up
which form the jamb of a Norm, doorway. Chancel
and transept were rebuilt at end of Dec. period,
temp. Richard II. ; the ogee-shaped cinquefoil-
headed piscina niche of transept and trefoil-headed
niche of chancel are of that date ; the windows
have been renewed. Late in 15th cent, a N. aisle
was thrown out, with square-headed windows, a
S. porch, and a W. tower. The three-staged tower
is of granite, but moulded work of Roborough stone,
near Tavistock. Octagonal Perp. font is of the
same material. Pulpit is a well - carved early
Jacobean example. In N. aisle an elaborate late
brass with effigies of Peter Cory ton, 1551, his wife
and 24 children, with 3 shields of quartered arms ;
above it hang helmet, sword, dagger, and spur.
In chancel is an imposing mural monument to
William Coryton, 165 1, and Elizabeth his wife,
1656, with their kneeling effigies. Opposite to
this a like monument with kneeling effigies of Sir
William Coryton, 171 1, and his wife Susanna, 1695.
(Registers, 1558.)
Menheniot (St. Neot). — Chancel, nave, aisles of
J 5 bays, N. and S. porches, and W. tower and spire.
*** Chancel projects a bay beyond aisles. Arcades are
-'; supported by monolith granite piers. Whole church
£• rebuilt c. 1450 ; all the windows good examples of
Perp. work. Chancel retains sedilia and piscina
in S. wall. Tower of 2 stages, 45 ft. high, has
FONT OF ST. MERRYN'S CHURCH
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 175
diagonal buttresses and a square newel projection
on N. side ; and below the battlements is a corbel
table; certain features show it to be 13th cent,
date, but much altered in 15 th cent, when octagonal
spire was added. Chancel roof new, but rest of
wagon roofs with original plastered panels are old,
and have good wall-plates. Square font of Caen
stone, supported on octagonal shaft and 4 smaller
pillars, has been much retooled and looks modern.
Letter of Charles I. in N. aisle. Good floor brass
to Sir Ralph Carminow, 1386. (Registers, 1536.)
St. Merryn (Sts. Merryn and Thomas of Canter-
btiry). — Chancel, nave, N. transept, S. aisle, N. and
S. porches, and W. tower. Originally a Norm, cruci-
form church ; the lower part of walls of transept
and of N. sides of chancel and nave are of that date.
Substantial low tower, though much altered in 1 5th
cent., shows traces of late Norm. Transept rebuilt
in 13th cent.; jambs of archway are E.E. ; trefoil-
headed lancet window in E. wall. S. aisle added
in 15th cent., absorbing former transept; arcade
of 7 arches are of dark local Catacleuse stone.
Beautiful early 15 th cent, font, with the 12 Apostles
round bowl, is of same stone. It closely resembles
that of Padstow, and was brought here from neigh-
bouring ruined church of St. Constantine, when old
Norm, font was transferred to Maker. Note holy-
water stoups, just inside both N. and S. entrances;
rood-stairs in transept ; ringers' rhymes, with figures
of 5 ringers on a black and white floor and bells
176 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
above, under tower; royal arms of Charles II. in
plaster; and 8-holed stocks in S. porch, 2 sets for
men and 2 for women. (Registers, 1688.)
Merther. — Small church of St. Cohan consists of
chancel, nave of 4 bays, S. aisle and porch, and W.
tower. Clumsily " restored and re-arranged " on a
cheap plan in 1844. S. arcade of St. Stephen
stone. Traces of Norm, period in chancel, but old
work is chiefly Perp. A figure of St. Anthony was
found on site of well-chapel of St. Cohan about
1880, and placed in a niche N. of altar (R.I.C.,
vii. 53.) Old Norm, font transferred to chapel-of-
ease at Tresillian. This church now only used for
mortuary purposes. (Registers, 1658.)
Mevagissey (Sts. Mewan and Issey). — Chancel,
nave, N. aisle, S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower.
Originally cruciform; chiefly 15th cent., but good
3-light Dec. window S. wall of transept. Much
— restored in 1888; ruined tower raised with saddle-
's0 back roof. Note circular Norm, font, with cable
"^ and star mouldings ; N. arcade of Pentewan stone ;
cl monument of Otwell and Mary Hill, 16 17, effigies
- resting on elbows, one above other; and arms of
Charles II. (Registers, 1598.)
St. Mewan. — Chancel, nave, continuous S. aisle
of 5 bays, S. porch, N. transept, and W. tower.
Probably a Norm, cruciform church, but present
old work is mainly 15 th cent. Base of octagonal
font is Norm, but bowl c. 1400. In chancel is 13th
cent, piscina niche. Buttressed tower is now only
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 177
of 2 stages, with pyramidal slate roof. Much re-
stored in 1854. (Registers, 1893.)
St. Michael Caerhays. — This small church, re-
stored in 1864 and again in 1883, was of Norm,
cruciform design; it was re-dedicated in 1259.
Walls of chancel, nave, and N. transept chiefly
Norm. Blocked-up N. doorway is Norm., with
Agnus Dei in relief on tympanum ; round font, of
Pentewan stone, with good foliated work on bowl,
is late in same period. S. chancel aisle of 2 bays,
S. porch, and unbuttressed W. tower of 3 stages
added in 15th cent. Arcade of chancel is hung with :?
helmets, and a sword said to have been used by Sir ■<*
Hugh Trevanion on Bosworth Field in 1485. In <?
this aisle, too, is unseemly spectacle of a life-sized f}
naval officer holding a real sword, modelled in ^
Coade's cheap patent imitative stone ; said to com-
memorate one of the Bettesworth family, but only
inscription is "Coade & Sealy, London, 1812."
Good piscina niche with crocketed finials, c. 1400,
in chancel. In transept are rood-stairs and a
founder's sepulchral recess. (Registers, 1580.)
St. Michael's Mount. — A church was founded
here for Benedictines, as a cell of Mont St. Michel,
by the Confessor in 1044 ; it became a great place
for pilgrimages. Church or chapel was rebuilt in
15th cent., and possessed fine screen and many
features of value, but it was so constantly altered
in 19th cent, that almost all antiquarian interest
has vanished. From the top of S.W. angle of
M
178 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
central tower projects a kind of seat above the
precipice, known as St. Michael's Chair ; it formerly
served for a beacon light.
St. Michael's, Penkevil. — Chancel, nave, tran-
septs, S. porch, and W. tower. Re-dedicated by
Bishop Branscombe in 1261. In 1320, Sir John de
Trejago founded here a college for 4 priests, when
transepts, porch, and tower were added. Whole of
the church rebuilt by Mr. Street in 1862-6 at great
cost, whereby much interest has been lost, but care
was taken to reuse old material and to re-erect with
precision the more important parts.1 Chancel and
nave retain much of their 13th cent, character. In
N.E. angle of chancel is dedication stone placed here
by Bishop Walter Branscombe ; it is a block of granite
2 ft. 6 in. by 2 ft., and 6 in. thick ; it is inscribed :
SCS
WAR
MJCHA
EP!
AR
CHA
Dedication Stone, 1261
Transepts, separated from nave by two centred
1 R.I.C., i. 33-7 ; ii- 38-43-
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 179
arches, contain remarkable architectural arrange-
ments of unusual character. Below S. window of
S. transept is a sepulchral recess, and eastward are
2 cinquefoil-headed sedilia, and adjacent piscina in
E. wall. In this transept are lower and upper rood-
stair doorways ; above former is image niche,
whilst immediately below latter a triple niche,
richly sculptured. N. transept has similar arrange-
ments, but sedilia are threefold. In E. wall of each
transept are 3 arched recesses, with delicate tracery
in panels, forming reredoses for side altars; door-
ways flanking these sculptures, formerly filled with
imagery, apparently show that rood-screen was
continued through transepts. A small doorway in
each transept communicates with diminutive cell,
5 ft. by 3 ft., behind the altars, covered outside by
projecting stone weathering. Of course the foolish
suggestion has been made that these tiny rooms
were constructed as confessionals ; but their true
use was to contain the valuables belonging to these
chantry altars. Altar for daily mass of 4th col-
legiate priest was in exceptional position. The
2-staged 14th cent, tower, surmounted by lead-
covered spire, has newel staircase opening to room
over porch, but proceeding to tower chamber below
the bells, 50 ft. from ground. Here, in arched
recess in E. wall, with piscina niche to right, stands
an altar, mensa of which is 4 ft. 6 in. by 2 ft., and
2 ft. 6 in. high. On the slab now rest many carved
fragments found by Mr. Street during rebuilding.
180 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
On floor of S. transept is another old altar slab.
Font is modern. Monuments include two late 13th
cent, coffin slabs of Purbeck marble with foliated
crosses ; brass effigy in S. transept to John
Trenowyth, 1497 ; and in N. transept, brass
effigies to John Boscawen, 1564; to Edward
Boscawen and wife, 1619; and to Mary, widow
of Peter Coffin, 1622. (It has often been asserted,
and still is in Kelly's Directory, that registers begin
in 1 5 16; but this is a careless misreading for 1576!
See Cox's Parish Registers ', p. 235.)
St. Michael's, Rock. See Porthilly.
Michaelstow, — Chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch,
and W. tower. Gradually restored between 1868
and 1888. On N. side of chancel are traces of
former anchorite's cell; outside is a small niche
2 ft. from ground ; inside is a diamond-shaped
stone pierced with a quatrefoil, 4 ft. 8 in. from
floor, which served when open as a squint for the
recluse. Fabric is entirely 15th cent. N. aisle
with arcade of 4 arches, about 50 years earlier than
S. aisle, which has 5 arches ; both arcades have
monolith granite piers, some capitals are Caen
stone and others Pentewan. S. doorway under
porch is of greenstone, with flowers in hollow of
mouldings. Octagonal chalice-shaped font is 15th
cent. The 3 -staged tower, 56 ft. high, has pro-
jecting stair-turret on N. side. Wagon roofs con-
tain some good carving. Fine and varied series
of old bench-ends. Oldest memorial in slate is
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 181
to John Brod, 1577; one at E. end of N. aisle to
Jane, daughter of John Killiow, wife of Thomas
Meredith, 1662, is quaintly carved with figures of
2 women, one about half the size of the other.
(Registers, 1544.)
Minster (St. Methiana). — Chancel, nave, S. aisle
of 5 bays, S. porch, and W. tower reduced to one
stage with saddle-back roof. Traces of Norm,
masonry in chancel and a 13th cent, window.
Circular font is late Norm. S. aisle, with mono-
lith granite piers, is 15th cent. Fabric was for
long in disgraceful state of ruin ; far too thoroughly
restored and much rebuilt in 1869-71, when a
fine rood-screen was ejected. There are many
memorials ; oldest are those to Hender Roberts
(brass), 1602; John Hender, 161 1; and William
Cotton, precentor and canon of Exeter, 1656.
Several wall-paintings were discovered at restora-
tion, but destroyed. (Registers, 1677.)
St. Minver (St. Minefredd). — Chancel, nave, N.
aisle, S. aisle of 7 bays, S. porch, and W. tower and
spire. Severe restoration of 1872 involved a new
tower and spire. The old roofs, with the exception
of the porch, were destroyed, and high-pitched pine
roofs substituted. Fine rood-screen was cleared
away in 1837, but portion has been replaced within
tower arch. Narrow N. aisle has an E.E. arcade,
c. 1220, of 4 arches supported on stout octagonal
piers of thin stones from which original plaster has
been stupidly stripped. S. arcade consists of 7 fine
1 82 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
15 th cent, arches supported on monolith granite
piers ; aisle is continued for 2 bays to form chancel
chapel. Traces of Norm, masonry in side walls of
chancel. Note good octagonal Perp. font ; rood-
stairs, N. aisle ; fine series of arabesque bench-ends,
^•-1535 ; portions of slate table-tomb E. end N. aisle;
kneeling effigies of Thomas Stone, 1604, and wife
Elizabeth, 1636, with arms of Stone, Harris, and
Whitelinge ; good brass, with effigy, to Roger Opy,
1 5 17; King Charles I.'s letter, and royal arms,
1660; six-holed stocks in porch. (Registers, 1558.)
St. Morvah. — Church of St. Morwetha, re-dedi-
cated in 1409, was rebuilt as a plain square structure
in 1828, but retaining a two-staged, unbuttressed,
14th cent, tower. During recent repairs traces of
an aisle arcade of 3 bays came to light. Of the
1828 church Mr. Thurstan Peter has well remarked
that " its ugliness is almost profane." (Registers,
1617.)
Morval {St. Wenn). — Chancel, nave, N. aisle, S.
transept and porch, and W. tower of 3 stages.
Probably cruciform in 13th cent. Plain octagonal
font E.E. S. aisle and tower are early 16th cent.
Curious mural memorial in transept to Walter
Coode, 1637, last of the Coodes of Morval House.
Estate then passed to the Buller family; over
private entrance to transept is "I. B., 167 1."
(Registers, 1538.)
MorwenstOW. — The finely situated church of
St. Morwenna consists of chancel with modern N.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 183
vestry, nave with aisles, S. porch, and W. tower.
Chancel Norm., with later angle buttresses. The
3 westernmost arches of N. arcade are good late
Norm., and so too is fine S. doorway.1 The 2 arches
of N. arcade further E. are E.E. c. 1220. The 5
arches of S. arcade are c. 1500, at which period
old Norm, doorway was taken down and rebuilt.
Rude circular font, with band of cable moulding
round the centre is supposed by some to be Saxon,
but more likely early Norm. Two- staged tower is
15th cent. S. arcade partly rebuilt in 17th cent.;
one capital bears date 1664 in Roman numerals,
usually misread as 1564. The once fine rood-
screen, of early 16th cent, date, has been altered
and realtered, and so modernised as to lose most
of its interest. Fine set of bench-ends of 15th
and 1 6th cent, dates. Wagon roofs retain much
good carving. Roofs used to be entirely covered
with oak shingles, but only a few now remain.
On N. wall of chancel is the painted figure of St.
Morwenna giving benediction to a kneeling priest ;
date c. 1250.2 This ancient church, with church-
yard abounding in records of the shipwrecked, is
often visited through its association with the noble-
hearted though eccentric Cornish poet, Stephen
1 Norm, work of this church is well and fully described and
illustrated by Mr. E. H. Sedding in Norman Architecture in
Cornwall, 1909.
2 Arch. Journal, l89l,p. 61 ; illustrated in Western Antiquary,
vi. 143.
1 84 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Hawker, who was vicar from 1834 to 1875.
(Registers, 1558.)
St. Mullion. — Granite church of Si. Melan con-
sists of chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower.
Inscription on chancel cornice records its re-erec-
tion in 1500 by Robert Luddra, vicar.1 Remains
of 13th cent, work in both chancel and tower.
Chancel restored in 1840, when a considerable
collection of fragments of 15th cent, glass was
placed in E. window; but these have now (191 1)
given way to modern window. Tower has large
blocks of serpentine intermingled with granite ;
over W. window a small rood carved in granite.
Octagonal panelled font, a good 15th cent, example.
Entrance jambs of porch are panelled, and there
is a well-preserved stoup. Considerable restora-
tion, c. 1880, preserved well-carved wagon roofs,
retaining original plaster of panels; chancel roof
has 5 small angels attached to wall-plate on each
side. Skeleton of base of old rood-screen remains ;
panels, 6 on each side, have gone. Two small
carved " saints," wrongly supposed to have been
connected with rood-screen, are worked up into
a lectern ; figures are sibyls, and of Elizabethan
date. Rood-stairs are in the N. wall ; a very small
squared opening in N. arcade. Church justly cele-
brated for number and wealth of carving of old
bench-ends, especially of those which bear symbols
1 The writer did not notice this inscription in 191 1, but it is
mentioned by Gilbert, Blight, and other Cornish authors.
South Door. St. Mull ion
1 86 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
of the Passion ; on others occur initials, busts of
monks and soldiers, and grotesques. Woodwork
of both N. and S. doors original ; the latter door
is unique in having at base, 2\ in. from ground,
a diminutive latchet door 1 1 in. square ; it was
probably contrived to expedite ejection of dogs.1
Royal arms of Charles II., in plaster, over N. door.
(Registers, 1598.)
St. Mylor. — Church, re-dedicated in 1308, con-
sists of chancel, nave, S. aisle, transepts, and square
embattled turret on W. gable. A reckless and ex-
tensive restoration of 1869-70 involved much re-
building and erection of new S. transept and vestry.
There is also a detached belfry tower, 50 ft. to W.
of church, built about 1636 for hanging of 3 bells;
lower part of stonework matted with ivy, upper
stage wood. A cruciform Norm, fabric stood here,
c. 1 100; N. and W. doorways are of that date,
showing tympana with Maltese crosses ; lower
part of N. walls of nave, N. transept, and chancel
Norm. ; windows each side of N. doorway poor
imitations of that period. Font, with octagonal
bowl, 13th cent. The 15th cent. S. aisle, with 4
arches into nave and 2 into chancel, absorbed old
S. transept ; arches and piers are Caen stone, but
stand on granite bases and have granite responds.
The sea almost laps the churchyard walls, and
there was an old quay close at hand, so that
this Normandy stone could be readily landed. A
1 See Reliquary, N.S., vii. 128.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 187
current idea that this arcade came from dissolved
collegiate church of Glasney is merely a bit of
fond imagining. The 15th cent, porch has semi-
octagonal panelled jambs, and head of entrance
has simple bold tracery. Base of rood-screen in
position, with narrow panels richly carved in
scrolls and foliage, c. 1525. Above panels on N.
side are painted words, Iarys Ionai Jesw Crest.
A former vicar (Rev. J. W. Murray) read this to
mean a Cornish version of "The grace of Our
Lord Jesus Christ," a version, however, which is
not accepted by other scholars. No sound solu-
tion has been obtained.1 Rood-stairs are in angle
of N. transept, and here, too, is a blocked-up
squint. In the arcade is narrow opening (rebuilt)
for passage to loft of former S. aisle screen. Note
also 13th cent, carving of the Crucifixion in outer
recess on N. side of chancel; 15th cent, shaft
piscina, like the one at Bodmin ; two old bench-
ends in chancel seating ; good Elizabethan pulpit ;
17th cent, shaft alms-box, with iron lid and 3
hasps ; Charles I. arms, and copy of his letter on
S. wall; and Charles II. arms in vestry. A fine
picture of St. Christopher on N. wall was destroyed
in 1 8 19, together with other valuable wall-paintings
{R.I.C, vol. iii. pp. 163-173). (Registers, 1673.)
1 The letters seem to have been repainted and probably cor-
rupted; see R.I.C, iii. 168-70; iv. 53; xiv. 394-417, where
Mr. Thurstan Peter supplies a fully illustrated account of this
church.
1 88 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
In churchyard stands far the highest of the
ancient crosses of Cornwall. Its full height is 17
ft. 6 in., but unfortunately, when re-erected in
1870, nearly 7 ft. were buried in the ground.
According to tradition, this great monolith used
to stand over grave of St. Mylor, who was mar-
tyred in 411. For illustration and description, see
Langdon's Old Cornish Crosses, pp. 342-3.
St. Neot. — Church of St. Neot, re-dedicated in
1321, is a large building of 15th cent, granite, con-
sisting of chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch, and W.
tower. Embattled S. aisle, with fine range of 6
four-light pointed windows is c. 1425 ; and this too
appears to be date of massive tower, 71 ft. high,
with angle buttresses and stairway projection at
N.E. corner; lowest stage groined in granite. N.
aisle, with range of square-headed windows, is c.
1520. Arches of arcades are 7 on each side, two
opening into chancel. Easternmost arch on N. side
is reduced in size to leave space for what has once
been a nobly carved canopied recess. Conjectured
that here was a shrine of St. Neot, but there can
be no doubt that it served as an Easter Sepulchre.
Porch has upper chamber, both doors to stairway
are original ; roof beautifully groined with granite
ribs rising from 3 shafts on each side ; central boss
has 4 heads conjoined. Font 28 in. square, of
Pentewan stone ; date of bowl with 8 traceried
panels is doubtful, but central and 4 supporting
shafts are E.E. Stairway to rood-loft projects on
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 189
N. side; a modern screen right across church, but
not on old level ; Charles I.'s letter at E. end of N.
aisle.
The special glory of this church consists in the
glazing of so many windows with ancient glass; they
were restored at great cost in 1824, but not in good
style. About half the glass of 15 stained windows
is old; they are of 15th and early 16th cent, date, and
are known as the St. Neot's window, St. George's,
the Young Women's, the Wives', the Harris, the
Callawaye, the Tubbe, the Chancel (the Lord's
Supper), the Creation, the Noah, the Borlase, the
Motton, the Redemption, the Acts, and the Armorial.
There is a slate tomb to William Bere, 1610,
displaying kneeling effigies of husband, wife, and
two daughters. (Registers, 1549 ; Churchwardens'
Accounts, 1601.)
St. Newlyn. — Church of St. Newetina, re-dedi-
cated in 1259, consists of chancel, nave, transepts,
continuous S. aisle, S. porch, and W. tower ; ex-
tensive restoration and rebuilding in 1883. Origin-
ally Norm, cruciform design ; masonry of that
period in E. wall of N. transept. Two arches
between chancel and S. aisle early 14th cent. ;
6 granite arches of nave 15th cent. Of this latter
date are S. transept and porch, the 2 arches into
N. transept (probably beginning of a N. aisle), and
three-staged W. tower. Late Norm, font good
example of Bodmin type ; bowl carved with tendril
work; angle shafts new. In chancel is 13th
1 9o THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
cent, double piscina. Chamber over porch has
disappeared, but stairs remain. Four coloured
traceried panels from old rood-screen worked up
into S. parclose screen ; rest of screen-work new.
Note rectangular rood-stairs in N. transept, which
now serve for pulpit. Various old bench-ends re-
used in seating. (Registers, 1559.)
North Hill (St. Torney). — Chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch with groining and room above, and three-
staged W. tower with double buttresses and lofty
pinnacles; fine example of 15th cent, granite build-
ing. Chancel over-restored c. 1870. Arches of nave
arcades supported on granite monoliths. Note stoup
in porch ; circular font of native elvan on granite
base ; Easter Sepulchre recess N. of chancel ; rood-
loft stairs on N. wall ; excellent carving of wagon
roofs of nave and S. aisle, retaining ceiled panels.
Remarkable table-tomb of slate with kneeling effigies
of Thomas Vincent, 1601, wife Jane, and 15 children.
(Registers, 1555.)
St. Nighton was a distinct parish in mediaeval
days, and thus remained temp. James I. ; now for
long time attached as chapelry to St. Winnow.
Church of St. Nectan consists of chancel, nave,
N. and S. aisles, S. porch, and base of tower at
W. end of S. aisle. S. aisle is 15 th cent., with
original windows and good archway into tower.
Nave has lost all old work except parts of wagon
roof; chancel comparatively modern, save for a
piscina niche with stone shelf and curious faces
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 191
as terminals to acutely pointed hood-mould; this
niche is c. 1250-60, and must have been moved
here from old chancel. Porch an excellent
piece of 15th cent, work; inner doorway good
massive granite with well-carved spandrels, and
wagon roof exceptionally well carved. Bowl of
font square, with ribs at angles, and is either late
Norm, or Trans. Double - buttressed 15th cent,
tower has lost 2 upper stages, and has slated roof
and bellcote for single bell. This destruction oc-
curred in August 1644, when Civil War was raging
round district, but by which side mischief was
effected is not known. By the side of a small
gateway in W. wall of churchyard is one of the
old tower pinnacles, and another is laid flat on
its side, whilst five steps are formed from bases
of pinnacles. A third pinnacle has found its way
to Boconnoc tower. Up to 1820 this church re-
mained in a semi - desolate condition. In that
year the sum of £4 18, us. ofd. was raised by
parish and in subscriptions, and church was enlarged
to extent of 120 additional sittings. This enlarge-
ment resulted in addition of a N. aisle ; no arcades
to nave, but roofs are supported by thin iron pillars.
Otterham {St. Denis). — Chancel, nave, S. aisle
and porch, and W. tower; restoration, or rather
rebuilding, of 1889-90 so severe that little of in-
terest remains.1 There used to be a N. transept.
1 There is a ground-plan and a S. elevation of this church in 1884
in R.I.C., vol. xi.
i92 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Considerable remains of painted rood-screen, with
base in situ} and many good bench-ends have dis-
appeared. Impost mouldings of tower arch are
Norm. ; bowl of a font in rectory garden, and
possibly base of one now in use are of same period.
(Registers, 1687.)
Padstow. — Large rectangular church of St.
Petrock consists of chancel, nave, continuous N.
and S. aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Arcades
of Caen stone have 7 arches each side; the 2
opening into chancel somewhat lower. S. aisle,
which has that great rarity in Cornwall, arch into
chancel, is c. 1375; 2 good flamboyant windows
to chancel aisle wrought in Catacleuse stone. N.
aisle c. 1400. Lower stage of tower 13th cent.,
and upper 15th cent. Three buttresses of S.
chancel chapel have large heraldic figures — (1) a
lion, (2) a human figure holding an impaled coat
of 3 lions passant and a chevron between 3 wings
for Coswarth, and (3) a talbot ducally gorged.
Wagon roofs are well carved, especially S. aisle ;
8 small angels each side of wall-plates of S. chapel.
Two late 15th cent, bench-ends form chancel seat;
on one a fox preaching to geese. The 16th cent,
pulpit is richly carved with symbols of the Passion.
On chancel floor is brass to Laurence Merther, vicar,
142 1. Rood-stairs are in N. wall Beautiful cir-
cular Catacleuse font has the 12 Apostles under
an arcade; it exactly corresponds with font now
in neighbouring church of St. Merryn. Against
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 193
W. wall of S. aisle is a large monument, good of
its kind and repainted, to Sir Nicholas Prideaux,
1627, wife and 4 sons, with kneeling effigies. In
porch are stocks with 8 holes. As to the highly
interesting chartered sanctuary rights of this
church, ignored by all Cornish writers, see Dr.
Cox's Sanctuaries and Sanctuary Seekers (191 1),
pp. 220-6. (Registers, 1599.)
St. Paul. — Church, re-dedicated to St. Paulinus
of York in 1336, consists of chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower. Registers begin with
following entry : —
Jesu spes et Salus mea.
A register of the names of all those that were baptised,
married, and buried in the Parish Church of St. Paule
in the Countie of Cornwall from the 23d Daie Julie,
the year of our Lord God 1595, on the which Daie the
Church, toure, bells, and all other things pertaining to
the same, together with the houses and goods, was
Burn'd and spoil'd by the Spaniards in the said parish,
being Wensdaie the date aforsaid, in the 37th yeare of
the Reigne of our Sovereigne Ladie Elizabeth by the
grace of God of England, Fraunce and Ireland, defender
of the Faith.
Per me Johannem Trewearne, Vicarium Ejus.
Two first entries record burial of two parishioners
killed by Spaniards. This petty invasion gave rise
to siege and capture of Cadiz in following year. It
is obvious, however, that fire did little more than
N
i94 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
gut the church, and cause tower and other parts
to undergo repair. Granite tower of 3 stages a fine
example of 15th cent, work; double buttresses
ascend to summit ; newel staircase of N.W. angle
crowned by turret which rises above parapet.
Between nave and N. aisle is a small arched
opening, 3 ft. 6 in. above floor, possibly for Easter
Sepulchre, but if so, in an unusual place. Much
restoration in 1892-3. In N. aisle is mural
monument of William Godolphin, 1689, over which
hang two swords, helmet, and other armour ; one
sword is inscribed Nicholas Godolphin arm. sepultus
est Feb. 16, anno 1633. In churchyard a small
obelisk to Dolly Pentreath, 1777, said to have been
the last person able to converse in the Cornish
language. (Registers, 1595.)
Pelynt (Si. Nunn). — Chancel, nave, N. aisle, S.
transept, S. porch, and W. tower; severe restora-
tion in 1882. Arcade mock Norm., probably dates
from 1680. Tower, 62 ft. high, mainly close of
14th cent. Tomb with effigy and inscription in
brass to William Achigm, 1589; and effigies in
relief of Francis Buller, 161 5, his wife and 12
children. Also good series of Trelawny monuments
from 1630 to 1756. Sir John Trelawny, celebrated
Bishop of Exeter, who died in 172 1, buried in this
church ; here is preserved model of his crosier, in
gilded wood with copper ornaments. (Registers,
1678.)
Penryn. See St. Gluvias.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 195
Penzance. See Appendix of modern churches.
St. Perran-Arworthal. — Chancel of church of St.
Piran rebuilt in 1841-2; much mischief done under
guise of restoration in 1885. Three-staged tower
and remainder of old work mainly 15 th cent.
About the only object of interest is part of a Norm,
tympanum over S. entrance. (Registers, 1754.)
St. Perran-Uthnoe. — The church of Sts. Piran
and Nicholas consists of chancel, nave, and N. aisle,
S. transept and porch, and W. tower. Drastically
restored and to great extent rebuilt in 1883.
Tower and N. aisle (extinguishing a N. transept)
are 15th cent. There is a squint from transept.
Rood-stair turret is on N. side, but there are other
stairs in transept. Mutilated figure of St. James
over S. entrance came from old chapel of St. James,
Goldsithney, in this parish, which was destroyed
about 1840. (Registers, 1562.)
St. Perran-Zabuloe. — St. Piran-in-the-Sands was
a small church or oratory erected on edge of coast
over remains of an early Saint who came from Ireland
in 5th cent, on a mission to Cornwall. This oratory,
buried for centuries in the sands, was never quite
forgotten, but it was rediscovered and cleared in
1835. The interior dimensions are 25 ft. by 12 ft.
broad in nave, and 13 ft. in chancel. The masonry
rude, and only ornamental work, heads over semi-
circular S. entrance, are now in Truro museum.
Height of walls was 13 ft., and that of E. and W.
gables 19 ft. A stone seat, 16 in. high and 14 in.
196 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
wide, ran round building, interrupted only by door-
ways and altar. There was but one small window,
on S. side. Altar was of rubble, with slab on top,
and there were traces of a canopy over it wherein
was kept head of saint. Headless skeleton of St.
Piran lay beneath altar. The building may be said
with confidence to be of 6th or at latest of 7th cent.
Small illustrated books on this intensely interesting
early church were published by Mr. Trelawny
Collins in 1837, and by Mr. Haslam in 1844,
the latter quite unreliable. Much to discredit of
churchfolk of Cornwall, no steps were taken for
a long time to check vandalism of both natives
of district and visitors. Nearly three-fourths of
old building as unearthed in 1835 have now dis-
appeared. My own notes, taken respectively in
1876 and 1900, show shameful spoliation during
that quarter of a century.1
It is supposed that this oratory was overwhelmed
in 9th cent., when another church was built on
further side of stream which restrained the drifting
sands. This second church was rebuilt on a large
scale in 1462, but course of stream having been
turned about a century ago for mining operations,
fabric was seriously threatened by sands. Accord-
ingly church was removed piecemeal, and re-erected
2 miles further inland in part of parish called Lam-
bourne during 1803-5. Church consists of chancel,
nave, S. aisle, transepts, and W. tower of 3 stages.
1 See A'.l.C, xvi. 133-143-
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 197
Arcade and transept arches are of St. Stephen
stone. Several 15th cent, bench-ends; letter of
Charles I., with royal arms in wood ; and old square
font, sculptured with the Virgin and Child and 3
of the Apostles. (Registers, 1603.)
Little Petherick. — Church of St. Petrock much
restored, and in main rebuilt in 1858; it was ex-
tended a bay westward, and this involved taking
down and reconstruction of tower.1 A further resto-
ration in 1902, and it has recently been furnished
with a good rood-screen and loft. It consists of
chancel, N. aisle, nave, S. porch, and W. tower.
Arch separating chancel from N. aisle dates from
1858, and is formed of Catacleuse stone taken from
ruined church of St. Constantine in St. Merryn
parish. A Purbeck marble 13th cent, sepulchral
slab was found during restoration, and recess on
N. side of chancel constructed for its reception.
Norm. -French inscription (usually misread) is Sire
Roger Lemporu gist id; stone bears a cross in
relief, surmounted by human head, like those of
Tintagel and St. Breock. Octagonal font is 15th
cent. There are 3 chained vols, of Foxe's Martyrs.
(Registers, 1706.)
South Petherwin. — The church of St. Patemus
consists of chancel, nave, continuous aisles, N. and ,'
S. porches, and W. tower. Considerable restoration \
in 1889, when roofs were entirely renewed. Fabric *
was obviously rebuilt throughout in 15th cent. ; U
1 See R./.C., xi. 108-111. at*
198 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
arcades of S. arches are supported by monolith
granite piers, which in some cases have capitals
of Polyphant stone. N. doorway is Norm, though
mutilated, and W. respond of N. arcade is of same
period. Arcaded circular font of Polyphant stone,
supported on central shaft, and 4 smaller ones, is
late or Trans-Norm. A 15th cent, small altar slab
of Polyphant stone, measuring 46 in. by 27, and 8£
in. deep, was taken up in 1889 at S. door, where it
served as a step. Surface much worn and con-
secration crosses obliterated ; moulding of 3 sides
of mensa sculptured with bold paterae. Slab is now
mounted at E. end of S. aisle. Fine tower of 3
stages, double-buttressed up to battlements, has
usual octagonal pinnacles with crocketed finials.
Newel projection is at N.E. angle ; plan of tower is
oblong, the walls being wider E. and W. than N. and
S. Large doorways for rood-stairs and slight
outward projection on S. side. Some remains of
old rood-screen, including parts of a vine cornice,
were skilfully worked up into tower screen in 1901.
Six old carved bench-ends are utilised in front of
quire stalls. Pulpit, with original stand, is a good
example of 163 1 ; reading-desk is made up of some
Jacobean pewing. Under tower are 2 early 13th
cent, sepulchral slabs. In a window of S. aisle are
2 old shields of 15 th cent, glass, one of which is
Tremayne. Royal arms of James I. over S. door-
way. (Registers, 1656.)
Phillack {St. Felicitas). — Chancel, nave, aisles,
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 199
S. porch, and 15th cent. W. tower. Rebuilt
1856-7, except tower. Small altar slab, discovered
during rebuilding, now serves as credence table.
Pulpit is partly constructed of fragments of old
rood-screen. Font is Trans.-Norm., but much re-
tooled. In gable of porch is an old stone, probably
early 5th cent., bearing the Chi-Rho monogram in a
circle;1 it came to light in 1856. At same time a
rude pillar stone was found in chancel foundations,
with inscription CLOTUALI MOBRATH in two lines ;
it now stands in S. of churchyard.2 In churchyard
there is also fine early granite cross, 5 ft. 10 in.
high, with circular 4-holed head having 5 bosses ;
4 sides of the shafts ornamented with plaitwork,
and on front is the Crucified Lord in tunic ; well
described and fully illustrated in Langdon's Old
Cornish Crosses ( 1 896), 3 89-39 1 . ( Registers, 1 560.)
Philleigh (St. Felix). — Chancel with S. aisle of
3 bays, nave with S. aisle of 6 bays, N. transept,
S. porch, and W. tower ; considerably restored and
partly rebuilt in 1867. The long 15th cent. S.
arcade is well moulded in moorland granite, piscina
niche in E. respond. Octagonal arcaded bowl of font
early 13th cent.; base modern. Two-staged tower
late 13th cent. (Registers, 1733.)
Pillaton. — Church of St. Odulph^ re-dedicated in 4-
1259, consists of chancel, nave, continuous N. aisle, ^
S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower; restored in •
1878. Transept, though it has later windows, ,
1 See under St. Just-in-Penwith. "
2 Both these stones are illustrated and described in Vict. Co. "~
Hist, of Cornwall, vol. i. 419, pi. iii.
2op THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
yields certain traces of 13th cent, origin, but
church was almost entirely remodelled in 15th
cent. ; tower of 3 stages, of good ashlar granite,
has double buttresses reaching up to battlements ;
octagonal embattled pinnacles have crocketed finials.
N. arcade of 8 arches, supported by monolith
granite piers. Large passage-squint in transept
angle, in splay of which are rood-stairs. At E.
end of aisle is round-headed piscina niche, within
which stands an old domestic mortar, imagined,
we suppose, to be a holy-water stoup. There is
similar piscina niche in transept. Plain octagonal
font is 15th cent. Roofs of nave and chancel are
new, but wagon roofs of aisle and transept remain ;
latter is well carved, especially the wall-plates,
with vine pattern. Porch roof is also good, of like
work to transept. In it are 6-holed stocks, small
and large alternatively, as though to accommodate
3 married couples by a single leg ! Royal arms of
1663, and also of 1729. (Registers, 1557.)
St. Pinnock. — Chancel, nave of 4 bays, N. aisle,
S. transept and porch, and W. tower of 3 stages ;
severe restoration in 1882. In the main 15th cent.,
and of no special interest. The 4 arches of arcade
supported by monolith granite piers, with capitals of
Pentewan stone. Square Norm, font, with human
heads at angles, stands on octagonal shaft. (Regis-
ters, 1566.)
Porthilly. — Church or chapel of Si. Michael,
near village of Rock, stands on a creek of Camel
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 201
estuary opposite Padstow. A chapelry of St.
Minver, but like other chapelry of St. Enodoc, it
has for centuries possessed its own baptismal and
sepulchral rights, and may therefore be fairly
reckoned among churches of Cornwall. After con-
siderable period of partial disuse, half-hidden
among shifting sand, this little church was re-
stored to its sacred purpose in 1865-7. ^ now
consists of chancel, with S. aisle, N. vestry, nave,
S. transept, and S. porch, which forms base of
small gabled tower. Here was a small Norm,
cruciform building. In 13th cent. S. transept was
enlarged, lancet window placed in its E. wall, and
piscina provided. Towards end of 15 th cent, a
very small chapel was added on S. side of chancel,
and other minor alterations effected. Not possible
to say when N. transept disappeared ; its founda-
tions came to light at time of restoration. N. and
W. walls entirely rebuilt at that period, as well as
most of upper part of S. walls. Porch with tower
over it is new ; formerly a W. bellcote for a single
bell.1 Small circular Norm, font almost exactly
resembles that of St. Enodoc in the same parish ; bowl
was found under flooring at restoration, it is 25 in.
in diameter. Remains of rood-stairs at what was
angle of N. transept and chancel. The frame-
work of rood-screen, c. 1475, has been retained in
situ; it does not appear to have ever had tracery ;
pillars are curiously carved, with paterae in relief.
1 From information given us by the vicar of St. Minver in 1876.
202 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Oak pulpit has linen-fold panels, and is clearly pre-
Reformation, c. 1525. There are some well-carved
bosses left in roofs of both nave and transept.
Against N. wall of nave is a slate slab, with good
engraved rose-slips at angles, to "William Rounse-
wall Gent," 1659.
Poughill {St. Olave). — Chancel, nave, continuous
aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. The plain square
font, standing on circular shaft, and stoup in porch
are Norm. Nave arcades noteworthy; they differ
from general Cornish treatment. Four arches on
N. side are of Caen stone and 14th cent. Arch of
S. chancel aisle is same date as material, but 3
arches of nave are 15th cent, granite. Handsome
15th cent, tower of 3 stages is double-buttressed;
octagonal embattled pinnacles with crocketed finials
exceptionally good. Wagon roofs original and well
carved, and panels remain plastered ; enriched work
over where the rood stood. Old 15th and 16th
cent, seating is retained, with a wealth of well-
carved bench-ends, chiefly symbols of the Passion.
Piscina and almery of S. chancel aisle discovered
during restoration in 1889; they are 13th cent.
Two striking wall-paintings of St. Christopher, on
N. and S. walls respectively, were then brought to
light ; both have been too vividly recoloured ; they
are c. 1470. The vicar mistakenly thought that
one was St. Olave, and added a crown, not in
original painting.1 In S. aisle is Charles I.'s letter
and royal arms. (Registers, 1538.)
1 See Arch. Journal, March, 1901 ; also R.I.C., vol. xiv., with 2
plates.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 203
Poundstock (5/. Neot). — Chancel, nave of 4 bays,
N. aisle, S. transept, and W. tower; restored with
care in 1896. Lower part of transept walls show
Norm, masonry. Square Trans.-Norm. font has
arcaded sides ; and there are remains of a possibly
Norm, stoup. N. aisle of 15th cent., continued
flush with chancel, destroyed N. transept. The 3-
staged, unbuttressed tower 14th cent., but battle-
ments, with octagonal embattled pinnacles and
crocketed finials, are 15th cent. Old wagon roofs of
nave and aisle are good. Several old bench-ends
are worked up into chancel seatings, and 6 panels
of old rood-screen remain. Two very interesting
wall-paintings were uncovered on N. wall in
1901. Central subject was mutilated; that on
W. represented a tree of the Deadly Sins, and
that on E. Christ blessing Trades.1 (Registers,
1615.)
St. Probus. — Church of Sts. Probus and Grace, a
collegiate foundation dating back to 926, consists of
chancel, nave of 5 bays, aisles, N. and S. porches,
and W. tower. It has suffered many things at
hands of restorers, notably by Mr. G. E. Street in
1851, and Mr. J. P. St. Aubyn in 1886 and 1888; -
yet again in 1893, and finally in 1905. Present ,-0
structure, except for much unnecessary modern ,"; <
work, is entirely 15 th and early 16th cent. The at- o
tributing tower to reign of Queen Mary is a baseless 2^
fable. The fact has been established that it was
1 See Arch. Journal, March, 1 90 1.
204 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
gradually built in the reign of Henry VIII., subse-
quent to 1514.1 S. arcade has 5 arches, E. 7 arches.
Chief interest is the justly celebrated and hand-
some tower, 108 ft. high to battlements, whilst the
crocketed pinnacles, each supported by 4 lesser
pinnacles, have additional height of 13 ft. Entirely
built out of surface of moorland granite; a con-
siderable portion of wall surface has traceried
panellings and other carvings, which show great
skill in dealing with so hard a substance. On N.
and S. sides, above upper plinth, are 3 large niches
with elaborately carved canopies. Font and most
of fittings are modern. Old rood-screen was pulled
down in 1723. In N. wall are the rood-stairs.
Present chancel screen was worked up in 185 1 out
of portions of old screen and bench-ends ; it bears
the date 1 591, and the words — " Ihs hear us thy
people and send us Grace and Good for ever."
Other bench-ends are used up in a vestry screen.
In an almery in N. wall of chancel are 2 skulls,
found under altar in 185 1, imagined to be those
of the 2 patron saints. An old altar slab with 5
consecration crosses is still in use. At E. end of
S. aisle are sedilia and piscina. In this aisle is
brass with effigies to John Wulvedon, 1514, and
to Cecilia his wife, 15 12. Church retains copy of
Charles I.'s letter, and a set of stocks. (Registers,
1644.)
Quethiock (pronounced "Gwithick"). — Church
1 R.I.C., ix. 484-9.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 205
of St. Hugh consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays,
N. aisle, N and S. transepts, S. porch, and W. tower.
Originally a Norm, cruciform church. The 15th
cent, builders, when designing N. aisle, happily left
small portion of E. end of that transept. Font,
28 in. square, Norm., but base modern. S. door-
way and other work on that side is 14th cent., in-
cluding cinquefoil-headed holy-water stoup. Slender
looking unique tower, rising over W. gable of nave,
is also of Dec. date. In N. wall of N. transept is
an ogee-headed 14th cent, sepulchral or founder's
recess, but it lacks any effigy ; another sepulchral
recess in S. transept. Large squint from S. tran-
sept has stairs to rood-loft in passage, as at Pillaton.
Considerable remains of old wagon roof of nave.
At entrance to S. transept is a valuable brass with
effigies to Roger Kyngdon, 1471, Joan his wife,
and their 16 children ; 1 son has a crown on left
shoulder, representing Walter, a Yeoman of the
Guard. On wall of this transept are brass effigies
of Richard Chiverton, 1617; Isabel his wife, 163 1 ;
and their 1 1 children. In the porch are 6-holed
stocks. (Registers, 1574.)
Rame. — Church of St. German consists of chan-
cel with N. vestry, nave, continuous S. aisle, N.
transept, N. porch, and W. tower and spire. Con-
siderable restoration of 1884-5 brought to light
tympanum of a Norm, doorway, carved with 3 cir-
cular ornaments. Circular mutilated base stone
of font is also Norm. Church was rebuilt and
206 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
consecrated in 1259 on a cruciform plan. Of this E.E.
church there are remains in 2 over-repaired lancet
lights in N. wall of chancel, and in small unbuttressed
tower with lancet lights in both stages ; the low
broached spire has 4 small dormer lights. Tran-
sept was altered c. 1300, when a three-light window
of interesting uncusped tracery was inserted in E.
wall. S. transept disappeared in 15th cent, when
Tympanum, Rame
aisle of five granite arches of usual type was added
on S. side. To that period, too, belong E. windows
of chancel and aisle, and one in N. wall of transept.
Upper and lower doorways to rood-loft remain in
S. wall, and external squared projection to cover
stairs. Plain octagonal font is 14th cent., and domed
cover, crowned with a dove, 18th cent. Cinquefoil-
headed piscina niche of chancel is 14th cent., and
there is one of next century in S. chancel chapel.
Near latter is an imperfect stone slab with moulded
edge, measuring 48 in. by 25 in. On wall above it is
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 207
painted — " This altar slab of 13th cent, was found in
1884." There is a large squint from the N. transept.
Good well-carved timbers of wagon roof of S. aisle
retain plaster in panel spaces ; the porch also retains
old timber roof. Shaft of alms-box is dated 1633.
Several stout 15th cent, benches with traceried
ends remain. Jacobean altar-rails were unhappily
discarded at restoration; but present rector has
recovered the gates, and caused a few rails to be
made on same pattern ; these now serve as entrance
between chancel and S. chapel. Several floor slabs in
aisle, with marginal inscriptions and arms in centre,
to Trevill family ; oldest to Stephen Trevill, 1625.
In centre alley of nave several other 17th cent, slabs
with like marginal inscriptions, including memorials
to Robert Warren, rector, 1608, and Robert Seamon,
rector, 1644. (Registers, 1653.)
Redruth. — Parish church of St. Uny about half
a mile out of the town, was rebuilt, except the tower,
on the old site in 1768. The pinnacled tower, temp.
Henry VII., is beautifully proportioned. Interior of
church considerably renovated in 1878, when foun-
dations of small Norm, church with an apse came to
light. (Registers, 1560.)
Roche. — Church of St. Gonandus was rebuilt
after a plain rectangular fashion in 1822, except the \
three-staged 15 th cent, tower. Restored or rather r<
rebuilt at considerable cost in 1890, when S. ^
arcade of 6 bays was re-erected on old foundations.
Tower is 83 ft. high, and built of surface granite. 5s
208 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Fortunately church retains a fine example of a Norm.
font of Bodmin type. In churchyard stands one of
the earliest and most curiously ornamented of all
Cornish crosses ; its total height is 8 ft. 8 in. ; fully
illustrated and described in Langdon's Old Cornish
Crosses, 344-5. (Registers, 1572.)
St. Ruan-Lanyhorne. — Church of St. Rumon, re-
dedicated in 1 32 1, consists of chancel, nave of 6 bays,
N. aisle, S. transept and porch, and W. tower. Parts
of transept masonry are Norm., and square font of
Pentewan stone appears to be of same period. In
transept is demi-effigy in Purbeck stone of an ecclesi-
astic within a cusped arch of late 13th cent, date; it
was found during a severe restoration of 1866, and is
supposed by some to be " the shrine of St. Rumon,"
but it is only part of a sepulchral stone to some dis-
tinguished ecclesiastic. Two-staged tower is 14th
cent. Aisle and other parts of church are 15th cent.
There is a squint from transept. Old roofs were
destroyed at restoration, but a few timbers were un-
naturally worked up into a font cover. Pulpit is
formed of late 15th cent, panelling from backs of old
seats. (Registers, 1685.)
St. Ruan Major. — Small church of St. Rumon
was rebuilt in 1866, except tower, when aisles were
pulled down. Two 13th cent, windows replaced in
S. wall ; octagonal font is of same period. The
destruction of this highly interesting church is much
to be lamented ; full illustrated account of its plan
and details can be studied in Blight's Churches of
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 209
West Cornwall (1865), pp. 90-95. Tower presents
a curious chequered appearance, being built of alter-
nate blocks of granite and serpentine. See also
Arch. Journal, 1861, pp. 331-3. (Registers, 1682.)
St. Ruan Minor. — Small church of St. Rumon
originally consisted of chancel and nave as far as
modern porch. N. aisle and low tower of a single stage
were added in 1 5th cent. Font is Norm. Great blocks
of serpentine are employed in the construction of the
low walls. Restored in 1834-5. (Registers, 1653.)
Saltash. — Chapel of Sts. Nicholas and Faith
(formed into an ecclesiastical parish in 1881) con-
sists of chancel, nave, N. aisle and chapel, S. tran-
sept, S. porch, and tower on N. side ; restored
in 1869; this was obviously a Norm, cruciform
building. Norm, work now standing is most of lower
part of chancel walls, lower parts of S. and W. walls
of the nave and S. transept, and two lower stages of
small tower. N. chancel aisle built c. 1325, whilst
in 15th cent, were added a N. aisle of 5 bays,
top stage of tower and a good S. porch, together
with insertion of various windows. Blocked-up
S. doorway is Norm., with unsculptured tympanum.
Arch into transept is plain semi-circular without
imposts ; from transept is a large round-headed
squint, and above it doorway to rood-loft and two
steps. In S. chancel wall is a large deeply splayed
late Norm, light. Over doorway into Corporation
chapel is inscribed : "This chappie was repaired in
the maioralty of Matthew Veale gent. Anno 1689."
O
210 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
On W. side of porch is an unusually large holy-
water stoup ; niche is 24 in. by 18 in., and basin 6 in.
deep. Font, like a big stoup with 4 projecting ribs,
is said to have originally stood in ancient chapel of
Wadgworthy in this parish, and was placed here in
1870. It is, however, highly improbable that the
chapel had baptismal rights, and we believe it to
have been a domestic vessel. (Registers, 1694.)
St. Sampson, or Golant, has a church consisting
of nave and S. aisle and porch, and W. tower. Parish
was formerly chapelry of Tywardraeth, and did not
obtain burial rights until 1507. Chapel was built
and dedicated in 1509, to which date whole fabric
pertains. Nave and S. aisle are of about equal size,
and form a rectangular building separated by 7 four-
centred arches chiefly of Pentewan stone. Chancel
and its chapel were formed by screen-work. A de-
structive " restoration " and partial rebuilding took
place in 1842, when screens were ejected, and a few
old carved bench-ends worked up into pulpit and
reading-desk. At that date old arrangement of
church was obliterated, S. aisle being turned into a
quasi-nave by moving altar to its E. end. Building
is faced with granite throughout ; granite tower is
of two stages. Octagonal font also of same material.
On W. side of porch is an arched-over well of good
water ; former passage to it unhappily destroyed
when porch was rebuilt. Carvings of wagon roofs
are good ; the inscribed wall-plates were unhappily
rearranged in 1842, and meaning much confused.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 211
They show, however, that church was built at charge
of the gilds of Sts. Katharine, James, John Baptist,
All Saints, and Eloy, and by members of the families
of Colgnite, Hood, and Gully. In E. window of aisle
are too small figures of Sts. Sampson and Anthony
in old glass. (Registers, 1568.)
Sancreed. — Church of St. Crida used to consist
of chancel, nave, S aisle, transept, S. porch, and
W. tower, but plan was much altered and windows
renewed during costly restoration of 1891. There
seems to have been a cruciform church here in 14th
cent., to which period two-staged tower belongs.
Late in 15th cent, a S. aisle obliterated S. transept;
arcade of 5 arches is supported on monolith granite
piers. Remarkable old panels of the base of rood-
screen are well illustrated in Blight's Churches
of West Cornwall, p. 39. The font, of Ludgvan
granite, has 4 angels, with crosses on their fore-
heads, bearing shields; it resembles that of St.
Buryan's, and is of early 14th cent. date. The
porch has a good wagon roof, and contains perfect
stoup in trefoiled niche. Two remarkable early
crosses stand in churchyard ; see Langdon's Old
Cornish Crosses, pp. 359-365. (Registers, 1556.) ,
St. Sennen. — Small low church, consists of n
chancel, nave of 4 bays, S. aisle, N. transept, S. 'J*
porch, and W. tower. Fabric was clearly cruci-^
form in 13th cent., but S. aisle was added in 15th «*
cent.; church being re-dedicated in 1 441, as recorded -
on inscription on font. Church was restored in
212 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
1867. A mutilated image of the Blessed Virgin,
3 ft. 2 in. high, stands on a bracket in transept ;
it retains traces of gold, red, and blue. Also
remains of a large painted canopy on E. wall of
aisle. A fine early cross was moved to cemetery
adjoining church in 1890. (Registers, 1 710.)
Sheviock. — Church of Sts. Peter and Paul, re-
dedicated in 1259, consists of chancel, S. transept,
N. aisle, N. and S. porches, and W. tower with
spire. Plan of E.E. church in all probability
cruciform. The 13th cent, tower, surmounted by
octagonal broached spire, is of three stages, and
lighted by small lancets ; they closely resemble the
tower and spire of neighbouring church of Rome.
Font of same date is a plain circular example
standing 37 in. high, with diameter of 24 in. Con-
siderable rebuilding and extension of fabric c. 1340.
Five-light E. window of chancel and two S. windows
of same are of that period. Lead spouting of chancel
bears initials G. P. C, and date 1902; the chancel
was restored by the rector, Rev. Gerald Pole-
Carew. There is also good work of 14th cent in
S. transept, and on S. side of nave. In 15th cent,
a N. aisle to both nave and chancel was erected,
to destruction of N. transept. Four-light W. window
of this aisle was obviously reused from old transept.
Arcade of this aisle consists of 6 granite arches sup-
ported by monolith piers. Five three-light windows
on N. and four-light window at E. end, with granite
mullions and tracery, are good examples of Perp.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 213
work c. 1460-75. In chancel are 3 sedilia of
equal height, and piscina niche with ogee cinque-
foiled head. In N. jamb of E. window is trefoil-
headed image niche. Note also large squint and
piscina niche of S. transept ; and holy-water stoup
niche by S. entrance. Upper and lower doorways
to rood-loft are in N. wall, with a squared projection
to cover the stairs ; the steps are much worn and
have been recapped. Wagon roofs of N. aisle and
porch have exceptionally well-carved timbers. Many
well-carved old oak seats, with good tracery patterns
at ends, chiefly 15th cent., but some later ones show
Renaissance designs. Parts of S. door are original,
including a closing-ring of the kind so often errone-
ously termed sanctuary rings. In N. porch stand
old six-holed stocks. Under S. window of S.
transept is a raised monumental recess with
groined canopy, where rest stone effigies of Sir
Edward Courtenay, of Godlington, 3rd son of
Hugh, 2nd Earl of Devon, and of Emmeline his
wife, daughter and heiress of Sir John Dawney,
who died about 1370, The rebuilding of so much
of the church in 14th cent, probably took place
about time of Courtenay and Dawney marriage.
In N. aisle is effigy of another knight, closely
resembling in details that of Sir Edward Courtenay;
the two are generally said to be father and son, and
if so, this may represent Edward, 3rd Earl of Devon ;
but identification of N. aisle effigy is doubtful ; it is
more likely to be father or brother of Emmeline.
214 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
In Carew's Survey of Cornwall (1602) it is
stated of Sheviock : —
"In the church there lie two Knights of that
(Dawney) name, and one of their ladies by her husband's
side, having their pictures embossed on their tombes in
the side walles, and their Arms once painted round about ;
but now by the malice, not of men, but of time defaced.
They are held to be father and sonne, and that the
sonne, slayne in our warres with Fraunce, was from
thence brought home to be here interred. There runneth
also a tale among the parishioners, how one of these
Daunyes ancestowrs undertook to build the Churche and
his wife the barne adjoyninge, and that casting up their
accounts, upon finishing of their workes, the barne was
found to cost three halfepence more than the Church :
and so it might well fall out, for it is a great barne and
a little Churche."
A lofty gable of this great 14th cent, barn still
stands, a little to S.W. of church. (Registers, 1666.)
Sithney. — Chancel, nave of 4 bays, aisles, tran-
septs, S. porch, and W. tower. Cruciform Norm,
plan was much obliterated in 15th cent, by aisles;
arcades each consist of 6 granite arches. Two
carved Norm, jamb stones are built into porch ;
shallow N. transept and E. wall of chancel have
probably Norm, masonry in lower courses. S.
porch entrance has panelled jambs, and window
of N. aisle is also carved and panelled. The only
remains of old wagon roofing is in porch. Three-
staged tower has an elevation of 50 ft. Octa-
gonal granite font is 15 th cent. In chancel are
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 215
fragments of a fine brass cross to memory of Roger
Trewythynnyk, one of the King's justices, c. 1410;
also a brass inscribed to Walter Borlas, 1601.
(Registers, 1664.)
South Hill. — This church, the mother-church
of Callington, re-dedicated to St. Sampson in 1333,
consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays, N. transept,
S. aisle, and W. tower; it was restored in 1871.
Norm, font an excellent example of Bodmin _
type. N. transept shows good Dec. work, doubt- ' :
less of 1333; there is a squint to high altar. r*
Chancel, with its double ogee-headed founders' 0
recesses, sedilia, and piscina, is also Dec. S. aisle £
was added in 15th cent., but E. respond bears
evidence of a Dec. S. transept. Two lower stages
of fine tower are Dec, and top stage, with the
12 Apostles below parapets, Perp. In nave is an
incised slab to memory of John Manaton, 1507,^'
and wife ; at the angles are coats of arms marked £ '
respectively Trecarrol, Manaton, Kendon,and Bicton.
(Registers, 1538.)
St. Stephen- in -Brannel. — Church re-dedicated
in 1261, consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays, aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower of local porcelain stone. Font
is a good example of Norm, font of Bodmin type.
S. doorway is Norm., but rebuilt and altered at
later date. A N. aisle was added c. 1425 to nave,
and chancel with arcade of 8 arches; tower, with
good octagonal crocketed pinnacles, is of same date.
S. aisle is later; S. chapel is a post- Reformation
2i6 THE CHURCHES -OF CORNWALL
addition. " The pulpit and desk are tastefully
panelled with ancient carving preserved from the
screen and bench-ends" (Parochial History of
Cornwall, 1870). This was part of the unhappy
restoration of 1854; it has since gone through
the restorer's mill on two other occasions. (Regis-
ters, 1694.)
St. Stephen-by-Launceston. — Church, re-dedi-
cated in 1259, consists of chancel with a chapel,
nave of 4 bays, S. aisle, transepts, S. porch, and
W. tower ; it suffered a " thorough restoration " in
1883, when tracery of most of windows was re-
newed. Circular font, 42 in. high and 33 in
diameter, is a good Norm, example; there is a
triple cable moulding round rim, and a hand-
some flowing pattern at base of bowl. Undoubted
indications of Norm, work in chancel and on N.
side of nave ; Mr. Sedding is also of opinion " that
the N. and S. walls of the transepts are part of the
Norm, church." A N. chancel chapel added to E.
of N. transept c. 1400. The early 16th cent, tower
of 3 stages, with double buttresses crocketed at the
set-offs, and octagonal pinnacles with crocketed
finials, is a noble instance of granite building;
it is about 90 ft. high, but looks higher from its
fine lofty situation. A beautifully painted pillar
of old rood-screen is fixed against wall of N. tran-
sept ; it is sufficient to show that screen was of
exceptional type, still extant at St. Mawgan-in-
Pyder, and of which there are remains at St.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 217
Crantock. Rood-stairway is on N. side of N. chapel.
The small stone coffin, 4 ft. long, near font
is 13th cent. A sacristy, which projected east-
ward from chancel, was unhappily taken down in
1883. Two doorways by which it was entered
from E. end of church can still be traced. Above
them, on exterior, are two early decayed stone
panels, supposed to be Christ in Majesty and
Christ in Humiliation, which came to light at that
time. The S. door of church is original ; the
exterior closing-ring is absurdly styled a "sanc-
tuary ring." There is a room over porch ; upper
door of newel stairway is also original. There
are two well-engraved slate mural monuments, the
one to Margaret Prout, 163 1, and the other to John
Bewis and wife, 1675. (Registers, 1569.)
St. Stephen- by- Saltash. — Chancel, nave of 5
bays, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. Norm, font
is of late Bodmin type; it is 32 in. in diameter and
37 in. high. Base of fine tower, at western end
of N. aisle, is of same period. The semi-octagonal
turret of tower, nearly in centre of N. side, rises 4"
above battlements to height of 100 ft. King -'•
Charles s letter is under the tower, and a brass /-
recording restoration of church in 1872. The u
15 th cent, arcades to aisles, 5 arches on S. and a,
4 on N., are supported by monolith granite piers.
Stairs to rood-loft are on S. Wagon roofs show
good carving ; some of the small supporting angels
remain in chancel. The 1 5th cent. S. door is original ;
^
218 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
N. doorway is bricked up, but has original door and
closing-bar in interior. Various curious 17th cent,
memorials ; also 3 volumes of Foxe's Martyrs (1684)
with chains to covers. (Registers, 1545.)
Stoke Climsland. — Church, re-dedicated in 1324,
consists of chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch, and W.
tower; poorly restored in i860. The 15th cent.
. aisle arcades continue each side of chancel ; S.
'\ arcade is the oldest. Handsome buttressed tower
^ of 3 stages, with crocketed pinnacles, is of mid
I 15th cent. Arch of S. porch, chancel piscina
h niche, and E. responds of both arcades are all of
Polyphant stone; they are remains of the 1324
church. (Registers, 1538.)
Stratton. — Fine church of St. Andrew consists
of chancel, nave of 6 bays, aisles, S. porch,
and W. tower. Late 15th cent. S. arcade has
6 arches, supported on monolith granite piers. The
14th cent. N. arcade used to consist of 6 irregular
arches with 3 piers of Polyphant stone ; but it was
rebuilt during a too drastic restoration in 1887-8,
and has lost much of its character. Stately tower
is a good 15th cent, example; it is 93 ft. to top of
pinnacles. Circular font Norm., but spoilt by re-
tooling. On old blocked-up doorway at W. end of
N. aisle is carved date 11 60, but it is in reality of
13th cent. date. In N. wall of chancel is a large
Easter Sepulchre recess. Old wagon roofs are good,
and 33 of old carved bench-ends remain. Pulpit
is Jacobean. On a window-sill of N. aisle rests
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 219
mutilated effigy of a knight, supposed to represent Sir
Ralph de Blanchminster, a 14th cent, lord of manor.
At E. end of this aisle is table-tomb of black marble
on which are effigies in brass of Sir John Arundell,
of Trerice, 1561, and of 2 wives and 12 children.
(Registers, 1687.)
St. Stythians. — Church of St. Stedian, built
throughout of local granite, consists of chancel,
nave, aisles, N. porch, and W. tower; chancel re-
stored in 1862, and rest of the building recklessly
treated in 1873. N. aisle, with small painted
windows and arcade of 5 painted arches, is of 1st
half of 14th cent. Rest of fabric is 15th cent.
S. arcade of 6 arches continues flush with chancel.
Both arcades are supported on monolith piers.
Tower is one of the best of granite ashlar ; it is
of 3 stages, double-buttressed, and has embattled
crocketed pinnacles springing from angel corbels.
Font is plain octagon. In N. wall of chancel is a
niche constructed in 1862, the semi-circular base of
which, projecting 8 in., is carved with two quaint
beasts; this work is undoubtedly Norm., and
appears to be part of bowl of an old font. In
N. wall of N. aisle is lower doorway to rood-stairs,
but stairs were destroyed in 1873. Roofs are all
new.1 Late 16th cent, brass plate in N. aisle bears
the following admonitory lines : —
1 A good early cross, 6 ft. high, with Crucifix in relief, was
moved into churchyard in 1910 from Seurah Mills in this parish.
See Langdon's Old Cornish Crosses, pp. 145-6.
220 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
The office sett to pastors true (by Chryst) hys flocke
to guyde
ys unto them hys worde to preache, and from bit
never slyde.
The duetye to the flocke assignd, god word ys to
obaye ;
and on the same to staye themselves, with faith and
hope allwaye.
For here on earth as pillgromes straunge, we dayly
seeke for rest ;
yett fyndinge none, because we be with sinfull fleshe
opprest.
No state on earth, no pompe may last, no fleshe can
longe endure ;
but beinge earthe to earthe, shall turn of thys we
be most sure.
Then (sith our dayes be few and ill, whyle we do
passe the same),
lett us redeeme them doinge good, not seekinge
prayse or fame :
But glory praise and honour due yeelde we to god
of righte ;
whose promise is (all darknes past) to give us hys
true light.
(Registers, 1623.)
Talland. — Church of St. Tallanus stands on side
of hill near inlet of sea called Talland Bay ; it con-
sists of chancel, nave of 6 bays, S. aisle, N. transept,
and detached tower on S. side. Almost entirely
rebuilt in 15th cent., but W. end of nave c. 1250,
and is of an unusual arrangement. There are
three E.E. buttresses, and above centre one is a
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 221
well splayed lancet light, whilst two other similar
lancets are on a lower level, one each side of
central buttress. S. aisle has arcade of 6 arches,
supported on monolith granite piers, capitals carved
with roughly executed foliage. Notable feature is
the wealth of old seating with carved bench-ends,
both of 15 th and 16th cents. Some have angels at
top holding various symbols; several have arms
emblazoned in colours, such as those of Beville and
Grenville. In aisle is table-tomb with full-length
effigy of John Bevyll, 1572, with Latin epitaph in
6 verses, and long genealogical statement in English.
Note lower half of large seated image E. end of
S. aisle, probably Our Lady ; a squint from the
same aisle ; portions of rood-screen (vine) utilised
in pulpits and in panelling of desk fronts ; parts of
Jacobean screen ; rich carving in roof of S. aisle ;
small octagonal 15 th cent, font, with metal 17th
cent, tap driven into W. side to serve as a drain ;
the lead lining is marked " 1672, W. M., W. T."
The 15th cent, tower of 3 stages, 55 ft. high, is
connected with church by a kind of large porch,
open E. and W., and is gained by 24 steps cut in
rock. Much clumsy and somewhat destructive re-
storation of this church was carried out in 1848,
when a fine series of wall-paintings were all
destroyed. (Registers, 165 1.)
North Tamerton (St. Denis). — Chancel, nave,
S. aisle and porch, and W. tower ; rebuilt through-
out in first half of 15th cent. Chief feature of
222 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
fabric is fine embattled tower of granite ashlar ;
total height, including octagonal crocketed pin-
nacles, is 90 ft. ; plinth well carved with various
devices. Granite font has plain circular bowl rest-
ing on octagonal shaft; it is coeval with fabric.
Numerous old carved bench-ends, including symbols
of the Passion, many pairs of initials, woodcock,
partridge, and grotesque heads. Aisle arcade of
5 arches rests on monolith granite piers. At
E. end of aisle is brass plate to Leonard Loves,
1576, "General receaver to ye Quenes Majestie of
all hur revenewes in the Cou'Hyes of Devon and
Cornwall." (Registers, 1556.)
St. Teath. — Church of St. Etha or Tetha con-
sists of chancel with side chapels, nave with aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower. A double-aisled church
of some size stood here in Norm. days. At W.
end of N. arcade there are traces of Norm, respond.
The considerable restoration of 1879 brought many
remains of that date to light ; two boldly carved
scolloped capitals are placed at E. end of N. aisle.
Plain rounded arch into tower is possibly early
Norm.; one expert has too hastily pronounced it
Saxon. Many stones of Norm, tooling in church
fabric, especially in tower; in 1900 present writer
discovered a considerable variety of moulded stones
of this period in walls or gardens of fully a score
of houses in immediate vicinity. Church was re-
built throughout in 15th cent. Arcades, with 6
arches on each side, are supported on monolith
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 223
granite piers. Three-staged tower, with projection
for newel stairs on N. side, has an inserted W.
doorway dated 1630, which has given rise to the
blunder in several guides that whole tower is 17th
cent. There is a projection in bay of N. wall for
rood-stairs. Image niches in E. jambs of two of
N. windows. Aisles have good carving in wagon
roofs ; nave and chancel roofs were mainly re-
newed in 1879, but the latter has two of a series
of small angels. Note, too, old glass in heads of
several of windows ; chancel desks of old linen-
fold panels, formerly part of chancel parcloses ;
Jacobean work at back of stalls ; central panel
of pulpit dated 1630, with Carminow arms, and
Cornish motto, Cala: Rag: Whetlow, "A straw
for a talebearer " ; good series of old bench-ends
in the aisles, IHC, crowned M, symbols of Passion,
heraldic, &c. ; remarkable early 17th cent, alms-
box, with painted figures ; and plain octagonal
15th cent, font of greenstone, diameter 2 ft. 6 in.
In sill of a window of S. aisle rests unidentified
14th cent, effigy of layman in cassock and gown,
with feet on lion, and head supported by 2 angels.
In new churchyard, on opposite side of road,
stands a fine old cross, 13 ft. out of ground, with
a four-holed head ; in height it is only surpassed
by that of Quethiock. It had been broken into
several fragments ; these were collected and in-
geniously pieced together in 1868. (Registers,
i558.)
224 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Temple. — On high moorlands, 6 miles from
Bodmin, is diminutive church (St. Catherine) of
this small parish, consisting of chancel, nave, N.
transept, S. porch, and W. tower. The present
writer visited the ruins, which had been utterly
neglected for about a century, in 1876; they were
overgrown with rank vegetation, bushes, and trees,
but clear evidences of its having been a small cruci-
form church of Norm, origin. Rebuilt and restored
to sacred uses in 1883. The circular Norm, bowl
of font, of Pentewan stone, 26 in. in diameter, is the
one relic of the old church. (Registers, 1882.)
St. Thomas-by-Launceston. — Parish church of
St. Thomas the Apostle stands near the remains
of Austin priory founded here in 11 26 by Bishop
Warelwast of Exeter. It consists of chancel, nave
of 5 bays, S. aisle and porch, and W. tower. Re-
built in 15th cent., to which period surviving old
work mainly pertains ; drastic restoration in 1871.
Chief feature of church is exceptionally fine Norm,
font of Hicks Mill stone, with heads at angles and
4 circular ornaments on bowl ; bowl is 36 in. square
and 20 in. deep on exterior. A Norm, tympanum,
carved with two circular designs, and having a
small Agnus Dei above them, has been built into
front of 15th cent. S. porch low down. The two-
staged tower, of somewhat mean proportions, is
14th cent., but a good deal altered at later periods.
A low tower screen has 4 pieces of old linen-fold
panelling incorporated in the work. On S. side
SOUTH DOOR, ST. THOMAS-KY-I.AUNCESTON
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 225
is a projection to cover rood-stairs. There is a cin-
quefoil-headed piscina within the chancel. Two wall-
paintings were uncovered at E. end of S. aisle during
the restoration. One of much interest illustrates a
legend of St. Roche, where a dog brings bread and
an angel anoints his sores ; the other is a foliated
design round a piscina. Both have been ingeniously
protected by hinged wood covers.1 Old ironwork
on the S. door is noteworthy; it is late 13th or
early 14th cent. date. A bad feature of restoration
was the ejection of 7 memorial slate slabs now
lying in churchyard; two oldest are dated 1576 and
1578. It ought to be mentioned that the various
fragments of old moulded stones on S. of churchyard,
stated by Mr. E. H. Sedding in his book on Cornish
churches (p. 216) to be "salvage from an extensive
restoration," are in reality fragments from the priory
ruins. (Registers, 1 563 ; Churchwarden Accounts,
1480.)
Tintagel. — The highly interesting church, jointly
dedicated to Sts. Marcelliana and Mattriana, on a
bleak cliff overlooking the sea, consists of chancel with
small N. chapel, transepts, nave, N. and S. porches,
and W. tower ; unhappily restored in 1 870-1, when
old roofs and considerable store of 15th cent, bench-
ends were swept away, levels altered, and other
mischief effected. The solidity of the walls, how-
ever, afforded no excuse for further interference,
and they yield proof of erection of a church early
1 See Journal R.I.C., iv. 57 ; xv. 145.
226 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
in nth cent., or possibly late ioth cent. A good
deal of undoubted Norm, work, of first quarter of
1 2th cent., also remains. This is the date of S.
doorway with differing jamb shafts and capitals,
porch over it rebuilt in 1870; of widely splayed
Norm, light on S. side of nave, with an opening
50 in. by 9 in. ; of jambs of chancel arch, carved
with geometrical patterns ; and of plain low impost
mouldings (possibly Saxon on one side) of former
arch into S. transept. The font, too, is Norm.,
and can fairly lay claim to that generally misused
word unique, for the bowl, 29 in. square, with
heads at angles, is supported by 4 octagonal shafts
set in an oblique or straddling fashion, in addition
to circular shaft in centre. Various Norm, moulded
stones were also found in walls of N. transept in
1870.
Pre-Norm. work is certainly to be found on N.
side of nave. Jambs of N. doorway are obviously
Saxon ; they slope somewhat inwards towards the
top, and are square, and formed of wide jointed
stones. Inside jambs are also built at right angles
to wall. Head of doorway is filled up with a plain
tympanum. In this wall there are also two little
round-headed lights, quite distinct in size and con-
struction from their round-headed fellow in opposite
wall. These lights, barely 5 in. in width, are
slightly splayed or chamfered outside, as well as
deeply splayed within. In chancel there are also
two small early lights which are either pre-Norm.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 227
or very early Norm. ; that on S. side has been
filled up all but head, and that on N. side has
been set back when modern organ chamber was
built. There seems to be no doubt that a late
Saxon cruciform church, with embryo transepts,
stood here, and that N. wall of nave and chancel
walls are mainly portions of that structure.1 Re-
cently, more than one able man (notably Mr. E. H.
Sedding) have argued that there is here no Saxon
work, but only two periods of Norm. Against this,
irrespective of architectural or structural considera-
tions, it is highly improbable, nay impossible, that
early Norm, builders would build so flimsily in such
an exposed situation that all the S. side would re-
quire rebuilding within a few years ! The truth
appears to be that Norm, lords of manors of
this extensive parish were content to use Saxon
church for some 40 or 50 years after the Con-
quest, but that they then much embellished the
church, improving it on S. side, enlarging tran-
septs, and probably erecting a low central tower
or lantern.
1 I have had the advantage of seeing this church both before and
soon after its restoration, as well as on three subsequent occasions ;
I also had the privilege of thoroughly discussing the fabric with
the late Prebendary Kinsman, vicar of Tintagel for over half a
century. In August 1900, when in Cornwall, I had a letter from
my late friend, Mr. Micklethwaite, about the best authority on
pre-Norm. church-work, confidently maintaining the Saxon view,
and this, too, was Mr. Kinsman's opinion up to the last. See also
the account of this church by Mr. H. Michell Whitley, C.E.
(X.I.C., iv. 46-9).
228 THE CHURCHES OE CORNWALL
It used to be supposed that the interesting little
chapel of St. Symphorian on N. of chancel (see
Building News, August, i860) was also of Saxon
foundation. Space forbids production of arguments
pro and con, but on the whole it seems more reason-
able to believe that it is mainly of Trans.-Norm.
date, towards close of 12th cent. The chapel
measures 1 1 ft. 9 in. from N. to S., and 10 ft.
from E. to W. The E. light, 39 in. by 5 in., is
slightly splayed outside ; it was probably moved
here from chancel wall when chapel was con-
structed. A third light opens into chancel. The
N. light is somewhat different and slightly larger.
Against E. wall is original altar, covered by mensa
or slab of slate, 52 in. by 26 in., with consecration
crosses clearly incised; it is now only 21 in.
high, but level of chapel was raised over a foot
when restored.
E. window of N. transept is early 13th cent.
The S. transept was enlarged and 2 two - light
trefoil-headed lancets inserted in E. wall late in
same cent. S. porch, previous to 1 870-1, was
also of this cent. N. porch is 14th cent. ; and this
is also the period of S. window of S. transept, of
pointed chancel arch, and of work on S. side of
chancel with founder's sepulchral arch. The
massive W. tower, of 3 diminishing stages and
no buttresses, is 15th cent.; newel stairs project
considerably on N. side. Other windows of nave
and chancel have been modernised.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 229
There is a good rood-screen, c. 1450-75, show-
ing grooves to carry loft on each side ; traces of
stairs on S. side. At restoration parts of 14 old
bench-ends were clumsily put together and painted
to form a reredos ; they were not noted during our
last visit (191 1 ), but we have since learnt that they
are behind present hangings. Certain carved stall-
ends in chancel were brought here from St. Teath,
when that church was restored in 1879. A slate-
covered seat or bench-table, 16 in. wide and 12
in. high, goes round W. and S. walls of S. tran-
sept. An exceptionally fine 13th cent, sepulchral
slab, 7 ft. long, tapering in width from 24 in. to
16 in., moved from S. transept to N. side of nave,
shows head of a priest and cross sculptured in
relief. On floor of S. transept is undated three-
quarter brass effigy of Joan, stated on inscription
to be the good mother of John Kelly, dean of
collegiate church of Crantock ; he was collated to
that office in 1430. An ancient Roman milestone
also stands in this transept. Ironwork of exterior
hinges of N. door is noteworthy ; it has been
reapplied to a modern door; they are not, how-
ever, Norm, as usually stated, but E.E., c. 1225.
(Registers, 1546.)
Towednack. — Small church of St. TewennoC) with
walls of great blocks of granite, consists of chancel,
nave, S. aisle and porch, and W. tower ; restored
in 1869-70, when all windows were renewed. The
only church in W. Cornwall with chancel arch ; it
230 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
is of Edward I. date, and consists of two chamfered
orders springing from corbels.1 Very low massive
tower is 14th cent., but battlements added when
aisle and porch were built in 15th cent. Tower
staircase on N. side is most unusual ; no newel, and
steps, carried up in square flights, lead direct from
N.W. angle of nave. Masonry of N. side of nave
Norm.; shafts and base of font are of that period,
but octagonal bowl is dated 1720. Two bench-ends
show medallion profiles of bearded and moustached
men with hats, and with names " James Trewhela,
warden ; Master Matthew Trenwith, warden."
E. bench of porch is a granite block 7 ft. long,
bearing on face incised double cross, obviously the
shaft of some upstanding cross. An early Norm.,
or possibly pre-Norm., altar slab of moor granite,
with consecration crosses, was recently rescued
from neglect in churchyard. (Registers, 1676.)
Tregony, former borough and seaport, had church
oi St. James, noted by Leland in 1533; small por-
tion was standing in 1741. Leland also mentions
chapel oi St. Anne in midst of town. Reformation
irreverence brought about desecration of both ; the
chapel was for some time used as a cloth hall, but
in 1777 became ruinous. Inhabitants now use parish
church of Cuby.
Tremaine. — Church, or rather chapel, of St. Win-
waloe — for Tremaine seems never to have attained
to ecclesiastical independence, and is now a chapelry
1 See illustration, Arch.Jmtma!, 1861, p. 233.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 231
of Egloskerry — is a small building consisting of
chancel, nave, S. porch, and two-staged W. tower.
Nave is but 12 ft. wide, and nave and chancel 44 ft.
long. Built-up N. doorway is Norm., tympanum
until recently pierced by hole for stove pipe ; it
used to be carved with a dragon, but that has been
hacked away. Small early Norm, font, bowl en-
circled by cable moulding ; shaft has been lowered.
The one window on N. side, and one of 3 on S. side,
have originally been Norm, lights, but much altered.
Other windows in S. wall are of square-headed
2-light granite design of 16th cent.; 3-light E.
window is cusped. Interior fittings were primitive,
and included rows of hat-pegs on walls. These
notes were taken in 1900, and at that date the
beauty of the old slate roof made a great impres-
sion. The following words respecting it are re-
produced from the present writer's notes in the
Guardian in 1901, but by that time church had
already been restored, and old roof had, alas, dis-
appeared : —
Tremaine is the one and only church throughout the
whole of this region, near the centre of which are the
famed old slate quarries of Delabole, that has an old
slate roof still remaining. The thicker and more un-
even slates of older days, of varying size, applied with
much liberality of mortar, and weathered by generations
of exposure, assume a beautiful silvery grey tone, and
are charming to the artistic eye. But with this solitary
exception (and we know not how soon this may go), the
232 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
architects and restoration committees have stripped
all the ancient churches here of their old coverings,
and have supplied their place with the thinnest and
smoothest of slates, all of a precise machine-made size and
pattern, and applied in lines of mathematical regularity.
The smug contrast between these prim roofs, usually
further embellished with cheap red ridge tiles, and the
old granite walls is often painfully vulgar. The reason
alleged for these sadly new and cheap-looking roofs
would no doubt be the sound one that the House of
God must above all be safely ceiled from the weather ;
but, nevertheless, that does not really justify the removal
of the beautiful, characteristic, and time-stained roofs
that we can remember so late as the early " seventies "
on several of these churches. A score of old manor-
houses (now for the most part farmsteads) and a few
cottages can be pointed out in this very district, per-
fectly sound and rain-proof, which still retain the whole
or most of their picturesque silvery-toned roofing. The
reason is that they have been carefully repaired from
time to time, and there has been no large sum forth-
coming to spend on a general smartening-up contract.
Restoration revealed some primitive shallow steps
in N. wall to gain rood-loft. (Registers, 1726.)
Treneglos. — Church of St. Werburgh, rebuilt in
1858, consists of chancel, nave of 4 bays, N. aisle,
S. porch, and W. tower. Good Norm, tympanum,
carved with two lion-like beasts facing each other
beneath a conventional tree, has been built into S.
wall over 16th cent, doorway. Aisle arcade rests
on monolith granite piers. Rood-stairs on N. side.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 233
Porch has some remnants of old carved timbers.
Norm, font has a plain circular bowl, and 4 rude
heads at corners of base. (Registers, 1686.)
Treslothan is an ecclesiastical district formed out
of Camborne in 1845. Church of St. John built in
1 84 1, but not, as often stated, on site of earlier
church or chapel. It contains, however, two in-
teresting mediaeval relics. The remarkable font,
apparently late 14th cent, was for some years in
Tehidy Park in Camborne parish ; thence it was
taken and placed for a short time in parish church ;
afterwards removed to Treslothan church, for it was
ascertained that it came originally from a chapel
in Pendarve's Park, now included in Treslothan
parish, of which fabric some traces remain. Bowl
of font is coarse sandstone ; it has an angel at each
corner; the wings are connected by bands, on which
are 16 separate letters, h. b. q. a.; i. k. n.c. ; c.s.b.e.;
1. e. s. c. Meaning of these letters has hitherto
baffled solution. Round rim is inscription, Ecce
Krisimi de deo vero baptizabunf"' spiritu sco,1 and
at base of bowl is a key pattern. The other relic
is a Nottingham alabaster panel of Adoration
of Magi; it is kept in vestry, and is sometimes
stated to be a relic "of the old church on this
site." Truth is that late Lord St. Levan, who had
acquired various old alabasters for chapel of St.
1 Compare like inscriptions at St. Anthony-in-Meneage and
St. Winnow.
234 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Michael's Mount, presented this panel to the then
incumbent of Treslothan.1
Tresmere. — Church of St. Winwaloe entirely
rebuilt, except tower, in 1880; it consists of
chancel, nave, S. porch, and W. tower. Described
in 1870 as " irremediably decayed." Some portions
of windows of Edward I. date yet remain, and a
curious early Norm, font hewn out of triangular
block of Purbeck marble. In chancel is piscina
niche with pointed head. Registers, which begin
in 1625, contain entries of John Wesley preaching
here in 1745, 1748, 1750, and 1751.
Trevalga (St. Petrock). — Chancel, N. transept,
nave, S. porch, and W. tower; restored in 187$.
Used to be traces of S. transept. Lower masonry
of nave, chancel, and N. transept appears to be
Norm. Large circular font, of Tintagel greenstone,
is Norm. Small Norm, piscina niche in transept
near squint. Round - headed arch into transept
seems to have been rebuilt ; transept windows
are 13th cent., and there used to be some diaper
colouring on walls of that period. The three-staged
unbuttressed tower is 13th cent., but W. doorway
and window above and battlements are 15th cent.
A few good bench-ends. Over altar is a good old
Renaissance reredos of Italian art, with 3 panels
of the Crucifixion, Annunciation, and Visitation.
(Registers, 1538.)
Trewen. — Small church of St. Michael consists
1 From notes kindly contributed by Mr. Thurstan Peter.
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 235
of chance], nave, N. aisle, S. porch, and W. bell-
turret ; it is chiefly early 15th cent., but E. window
of chancel is 14th cent. Restored in 1863-4.
Arcade of 4 low arches is supported on granite mono-
lith piers. Font is of Polyphant stone. In church-
yard is a granite slab to Ralph Honey, 1596.
(Registers, 16 16.)
Truro. — Church of St. Mary, rebuilt between
1504 and 15 18, consisted of chancel, nave, N. and
S. aisles ; tower and spire, rebuilt in 1769, and good
of their date, attained a height of 125 ft. Diocese of
Cornwall was revived in 1 876 ; in following year
Dr. Benson was consecrated its first bishop ; and in •
1880 foundation-stone of new cathedral was laid by f[
Edward VII., then Duke of Cornwall. The architect -
was the late Mr. Pearson, R.A. This fine building,"
which is now complete, is 303 ft. in length, and the rt
central tower and spire 217 ft. in height. The style
is E.E., but it leaves something of a French impres-
sion on the mind. The materials are in the main
local, but the style is alien to the county ; dignified
Perp., like the remnant of the destroyed church,
would have been far more characteristic. An un-
happy decision caused the cathedral to be erected in
the midst of mean streets, which press it in on all
sides, so that no decent view of its many architec-
tural beauties can be obtained, save from house-
tops, or from distant high ground. The condition of
crowded-up French cathedrals has been pleaded in
justification ; but the plea is amusingly futile, for
236 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
those cathedrals were originally erected in open
spaces, and the houses gradually crowded round
them. The excuse for this unworthy site, which can
never do justice to this costly pile, was the desire to
incorporate with it some portion of the old church,
and the finely built S. aisle of 7 bays was retained
for that purpose. Each bay has a 4-light window,
and the E. window is of 5 lights ; the boldly moulded
double plinth is separated by traceried panels, whilst
the summit of the wall has an enriched cornice and
battlements. It retains a good wagon roof and some
old stained glass. Other relics of the old church are
the good octagonal font of Caen stone, with well-
carved panels, the inlaid Chippendale polygonal
pulpit, and Charles I. letter. Monuments of old
church have been placed in N. transept ; they in-
clude a brass inscription to Thomas Haselle, 1 567 ;
an elaborate monument with semi-recumbent effigies
to John Robarts, 1614, and his wife ; the monument
to Owen Phippen, 1636, commemorating the capture
by him and ten fellow Christian captives in 1627 of
the ship in which they were confined by the Turks ;
and a variety of more recent Vivian tablets. In the
crypt are two 17th cent, life-sized kneeling alabaster
effigies, removed from the E. end of the old N. aisle,
and unidentified. (Registers, 1590.)
St. Tudy (St. Udd). — Chancel of 2 bays, nave of
4 bays, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower. This was
probably a cruciform Norm, church, but in addition
to many tooled stones of that period, there is nothing
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 237
obvious save late Norm, font with square bowl.
"Thoroughly restored" in 1873, when good wagon
roofs were unfortunately bereft of intervening
plaster ; tower repaired in 1 887-8. Fabric is ex-
clusively 15th cent. S. aisle extends whole length
of church, and has arcade on granite monoliths of
6 arches ; N. arcade has only 3 arches, two open-
ing into chancel and one into nave. The unbut-
tressed tower of 3 stages is 65 ft. high. A wealth of
1 6th and 17th cent, monuments, chiefly of slate, with
effigies and arms in relief. Most notable are those
to Alice Reskymer and 3 daughters, 1 564 ; to Hum-
phrey Nicoll, of Penrose, with wife and children,
1597; and to Anthony Nicoll, 1658, with wife and
4 sons. In S. aisle hangs a funeral helm, some
armour, and a dagger. An old coped gravestone in
churchyard is probably pre-Norm. (Registers, 1 5 59.)
Tywardreath. — Church re-dedicated to St. Andrew
in 1347, consisting of chancel, nave, S. aisle and
porch, N. transept, and W. tower of 4 stages, used
to retain many interesting features of middle of 14th
cent., but was, alas, almost entirely rebuilt, save
tower, in 1880. A stone in chancel floor com-
memorates Thomas Colyns, last prior of Tyward-
reath, who succeeded in 1507, and died in 1 539-
Priory of Tywardreath, a cell of the Normandy
abbey of Angers, stood near the church on S. side
of churchyard. Original altar slab, with the 5 con-
secration crosses, discovered in 1880, and replaced.
(Registers, 1642.)
238 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Veep. — The church of St. Veep, when re-
constructed in 1336, was re-dedicated by Bishop
Grandison to Sts. Cyrus and Julitta. Consists of
chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower.
S. aisle has arcade of 4 pointed arches and one four-
centred arch, supported by granite monolith piers ;
the pointed arches belong to 14th cent, church.
N. arcade has 4 four-centred arches of 15th cent.
Windows renewed throughout. Tower of 2 stages,
55 ft. high, has double buttresses ; newel stair pro-
jects on N. side, and only ascends to first stage ;
tower 14th cent., but altered and embattled in 15th
cent. At the time of our last visit (1904) it was
sadly overweighted with ivy. The granite porch,
early 15th cent., has fine entrance, with good carved
timbers in wagon roof; inner doorway 14th cent.
Octagonal chalice-shaped font on octagonal base,
with tracery on alternate panels of bowl, pertains to
Bishop Grandison's church. Wall-plates of roofs
retain some good carving. Old panels of Command-
ments are noteworthy, with border of rudely painted
roses, thistles, fleur-de-lis, and harps ; 6th Com-
mandment reads, " Doe no Murther." In S. aisle
are poorly painted arms of Charles II., 1661. Old
altar stone of Purbeck marble, with the 5 consecra-
tion crosses, has been restored to its right use.
Oldest mural memorials are to Nicolas Courtenay,
1589, and to Francis Courtenay, 1598. (Registers,
1538.)
Veryan (St. Symphorian). — Chancel with aisles
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 239
of 2 bays, nave of 6 bays, N. aisle, S. transept, S. and
W. porches, and tower on S. side of transept ;
" nearly rebuilt " between 1847 and 1850. Windows
new throughout, excepting those of tower and E.
window of transept, which is late 13th cent. ; S. and
W. doorways of nave also 13th cent. N. arcade of
chancel and nave, of 8 arches, is of porcelain stone
and early 15th cent. date. Some remains of screen
in vestry. Font a poor example of late Norm., of
St. Austell type. Tower, of 3 stages, is 60 ft. high ;
projecting newel turret rises above battlements ;
Charles I. letter. (Registers, 1683.)
Warbstow (St. Werburgh). — Chancel, nave of
5 bays, N. aisle, N. porch, and W. tower. Cruelly
"restored " in 1861, when S. transept was destroyed
and old roofs, seats, and screen ejected. Font Norm.,
of Altarnun type, square bowl, with heads at angles
and circular ornaments on sides. Good 15th cent,
tracery left in some windows, but church is of low-
lying type and of little interest. Tower of two stages
is 55 ft. high. (Registers, 1695.)
Warleggan (St. Bartholomew). — Chancel, nave,
S. aisle and porch, and W. tower. Chancel and
N. side of nave about middle of 13th cent., but only
one original cusped lancet remains. S. aisle, with
arcade of 5 arches on monolith granite piers, is
early 15th cent. Against N. wall royal arms of
Charles II. in plaster, 1664. Low two-staged tower
used to support spire, but it was destroyed by
lightning, 14 March, 181 8. S.W. corner of church
240 THE CHURCHES OE CORNWALL
damaged by fall, of which porch still shows evidence.
Oldest memorial is to Richard Bere, 1618. (Regis-
ters, 1540.)
Week St. Mary. — Chancel, nave, aisles, S. porch,
and W. tower ; over-restored in 1 880. Traces of
both Norm, and E.E. masonry in walls. S. arcade
of 5 bays has 3 arches c. 1400, and 2 altered at a
later date ; piers of Polyphant stone and granite.
N. arcade, c. 1475, has 5 four-centred arches on
monolith granite piers. Fine unbuttressed tower,
rising to height of 99 ft., has 3 stages separated by
a double band of quatrefoil tracery, and plinth is
somewhat similarly ornamented ; on second stage of
S. side is a large canopied niche. It seems to have
been begun at same time as S. aisle, but not finished
until 1543; repaired in 1887. Rood-stairs on N.
side ; portions of screen fixed to wall of S. aisle.
Aisles retain much of old wagon roofs. In porch
are some carved fragments, said to be parts of 15th
cent, reredos from N. aisle. Octagonal font bears
tracery, Tudor rose, and fleur-de-lis on panels. In
S. aisle are royal arms "C.R. 1683." (Registers,
1602.)
St. Wendron {St. Gwendron1). — Chancel, nave,
S. aisle, N. transept, S. porch, and W. tower ;
chancel repaired about 1850, and rest of church
extensively restored in 1868. Clearly a cruciform
1 There is an admirable and profusely illustrated account of this
church prior to restoration, with ground-plan, in Blight's Churches
of West Cornwall '(1865), pp. 98-108.
M
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 241
church in 14th cent., as is shown by transept, and
N. wall of nave, and chancel. E. window of chancel
and E. window of transept are notable examples of
Dec. work, c. 1345. S. aisle has arcade of 7 four-
centred arches (2 opening into chancel) of early
15th cent. The three-staged tower, with diagonal
buttresses and newel stairs in N.W. angle, is 15 th
cent. Latest work is fine battlemented porch, like
that of St. Buryan, with double buttresses crowned
with crocketed pinnacles. Here, as at Egloshayle and
one or two other churches, the 15th cent, builders
intended to carry out a N. aisle, but paused when
2 arches were constructed. Rood-stairs are in angle
of transept. In N. wall of chancel is a recess which
would serve both for Easter Sepulchre and for tomb
of 14th cent, refounder; slight projection in outer
wall to enable this recess to be constructed. The
14th cent, octagonal font is chalice-shaped, with
quatrefoils on 4 panels. Old altar stone is at en-
trance to chancel. Quaint set of 18th cent, bell-
ringers' rhymes hangs under tower. In chancel
are brass effigies of civilian and wife, with 15
children, c. 1580, supposed to commemorate Hill
family of Trenethick. Also fine but headless brass
to a pluralist priest, Warine Penhalluryk, LL.B.,
1535, prebendary of Glasney, rector of St. Just, and
vicar of St. Stythians and St. Wendron. Old roofs
and other woodwork disappeared in 1868; at same
time certain old wall - paintings were destroyed.
(Registers, 1560.)
242 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
St. Wenn consists of chancel (rebuilt in 1823),
nave, aisles, S. porch, and W. tower ; considerable
restoration in 1868. The 15th cent, nave arcades
have each 3 arches, supported by monolith granite
piers with well-carved capitals of St. Stephen
stone. Two-staged tower has double buttresses, and
plinth is elaborately enriched with quatrefoils and
heavy moulding ; was originally of three stages, but
highest stage destroyed and second much damaged
by lightning in 1663. Late Norm, font has bowl
ornamented around rim with treble chevron mould-
ings, and supported at angles by shafts with human
heads as capitals. (Registers, 17 16.)
Whitstone (St. Anne). — Chancel, nave, con-
tinuous aisles, S. porch, and W. tower ; consider-
able but necessary repairs of much dilapidated
building in 1864, and there was further restora-
tion in 1882. N. arcade has 5 arches, and S.
arcade 4 arches, both 15th cent., and supported
on monolith granite piers. Tower of 4 low stages
has 17th cent, inserted doorway, and window above
it. Late Norm, circular font has good band of
foliage round bowl. All windows are modern.
Sedilia and piscina of chancel also modern, but
to right hand of priests' doorway, of S. chancel
aisle, is an old niche containing a portable ribbed
mortar. This mortar looks domestic, but if cross
cut in relief on it is ancient, it may have served
as holy-water stoup. Some old bench-ends worked
into a seat on N. side of chancel. Aisle roofs show
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 243
remnants of former carved wagon work. Small
opening or window, \6\ in. square, in W. wall
of S. aisle, said to have been discovered in 1882,
but reconstructed, and of quite doubtful origin. At
W. end of church is an unusually early slate slab
to John Cornishe, priest, 1535. Against N. wall
of chancel is well-carved slate monument to George
Hele, 1652. Chancel screen of good design erected
in 191 1. In churchyard is ancient well of St.
Anne, within canopied arch, with niche at back.
(Registers, 1663.)
St. Winnow. — The beautifully situated church
of St. Winnoe, on the banks of the Fowey river,
consists of chancel, nave, S. aisle, N. transept, and
W. tower. Lower part of walls of chancel and
transept, as well as archway into transept, show
that there was here a Norm, cruciform church.
Late 15th cent. S. aisle, with arcade of 6 arches
supported on granite monolith piers, and St.
Stephen stone capitals, absorbed S. transept.
Tower of 3 stages, with double buttresses, is same
date as aisle. This is also date of font ; circular
granite bowl has shield-bearing angels, and fol-
lowing inscription : Ecce charissimi de Deo vero
baptizabuntur Spiritu Sancto. Rood-screen is a
fine example of traceried carving, c. 1520; narrow
panels of base are well carved in flowing designs.
Coved work to carry loft was admirably restored in
1907 by Mr. E. H. Sedding; at same time upper part
of screen across S. aisle was renewed. Rood-stairs
244 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
are in N. transept. There are 33 old carved
bench-ends chiefly of like date, with screen, but
Eppl
Bench-end, St. Winnow
a few are 17th cent. The most remarkable one
represents a ship. Pulpit of Elizabethan date well
carved in arabesque work. Some good bosses and
wall-plates in roofs of both aisle and transept, and
THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL 245
also in porch. In transept stands a Jacobean
altar-table. The E. window of aisle is a remarkably
interesting example of early 15th cent, glass, care-
fully restored in 1867. In upper lights and at base
are arms of Courtenay and others ; in addition to
kneeling memorial figures, there are two rows of
saints; upper tier has St. George, Our Lady and
Child, St. Christopher, and St. Michael ; lower,
St. Winnow, Our Lady, St. Mary Magdalene, and
St. Leonard. The E. window of the chancel has
isolated figures of the Rood with Sts. Mary and
John (16th cent.), with the words in capitals
below: — Absit ut \gld\rier nisi in cruce. Charles I.'s
letter is in transept. Under tower are ringers'
rhymes dated 18 10. In S. chapel is a mural slate
memorial to William Sawle, 165 1, with exception-
ally good engraved borders. (Registers, 1622.)
Withiel (vSV. Clement). — Chancel, nave, aisles,
S. porch, and W. tower; re-roofed and generally
repaired in 1820. Old work is throughout 15 th
cent. S. arcade has 6 arches and N. 3 arches,
all of granite. The 15th cent, font has octagonal
bowl sculptured with symbols of the Passion ; part
of base apparently belonged to a Norm. font. Granite
tower of three stages is double-buttressed ; battle-
ments have handsome crocketed pinnacles. In E.
window of S. aisle are arms of Prior Vyvyan, of
Bodmin Priory, who is said to have built this
aisle as well as rectory house. Royal arms 1707.
(Registers, 1567.)
246 THE CHURCHES OF CORNWALL
Zennor (St. Senara).1 — Chancel, nave, continu-
ous N. aisle, S. transept, S. porch, and W. tower.
S. side of nave, to W. of porch, is Norm., with a
light 36 in. high by 6 in. wide, and interior splay
of 39 in. Transept and chancel are Dec; and
aisle, porch, and tower Perp. Aisle has arcade of
6 arches, 2 of which open into chancel ; granite
piers are octagonal. The tower of 3 stages is 49
ft. high up to battlements; and over W. window,
tracery of which is of Catacleuse stone, is an ogee-
headed niche. Octagonal 14th cent, font has quatre-
foiled panels. Two old bench-ends remain, on one
of which is a mermaid. (Registers, 1592.)
1 See ground-plan and good illustrated account in Blight's
Churches of West Cornwall (1865), pp. 15 1-6.
APPENDIX
New churches, with the date of their erection; those with
an asterisk are Chapels of Ease; the rest are churches
of newly formed ecclesiastical districts.
Baldhu, 1848
Balventon, 1848
Bude, 1835
Carnmenellis, 1850
*Cawsand, 1878
Chacewater, 1837
Charlestown, 185 1
*Coverack, 1805
St. Day, 1828
*Delabole, 1879
Devoran, 1856
*Dobwalls, 1839
♦Downderry, 1854
Falmouth, All Saints,
Flushing, 1842
Godolphin, 185 1
Gunnislake, 1881
Halsetown, 1866
*Harrowbarrow, 1871
*Hea, 1892
Hayle, 1888
Herodsfoot, 1850. (A
E.E. font.)
♦Kingsand, 1882
Lannarth, 1885
1890
good
* Leeds Town, 1882
*Marrifield
*Merrymeet, 1905
Mi 11 brook, 1895
Mithian, 1846
Mounthawke, 1878
Nanpean, 1847
♦Nanstallon, 1884
Newlyn-by- Penzance, 1866
Newquay, St. Michael, 1857
„ St. Peter, 191 1
Par, 1849
Pencoys, 1881
Pendeen, 1851
Penpounds, 1846
*Pentewan
Penwerris, 1827
Penzance, St. Mary, 1789 ,?-*
St. Paul, 1843
„ St. John Baptist,
1881
Perranporth, 1872
♦Polperro, 1837
♦Polruan, 1891
*Ponsanooth, 1880
:48 THE CHURCHES OE CORNWALL
*Porthlevan, 1842
*Porthpean, 1884
♦Redruth, 1828
Tideford, 1843. (Norm, font
from chapel in St. Neot's
parish.)
Torpoint, 1819
Treleigh, 1846
*Tresiilian, 1904
Treslothan, 1 84 1 . (Old font,
see under church.)
Treverbyn, 1850
Truro, St. George, 1843
„ St. John, 1828
* ,, St. Andrew, 1900
„ St. Paul, 1848
Trythall, 1885
Tuckingmill, 1884
* Upton Cross, 1887
*Zelah, 1889
INDEX
Achigm, William, 194
Achym family, 64
Adams family, 71
Advent, 8, 11, 15, 18, 19, 33, 52
Agnes, St., 26, 31, 52
Alabaster work, 103, 140, 162, 165,
233, 236
Allen, St., 16, 48, 52-3
Alms-boxes, 42, 63, 87, 99, 151,
162, 173, 187, 223
Altar-rails, 53, 151, 170, 207
f _ ,, slabs, 28-9
~f~Altamun, 12, 24, 29, 36, 40, 53
Anthony, East, 12,29, 33i 42. 5°.
54-5
Anthony-in-Meneage, St., 9, 15,
19, 20, 26, 35, 48, 55, 119
U. Anthony-in-Roseland, St., 15, 16,
18, 26, 56
Archedekne, Sir Warin, 55, 132
Armour, 97, 162, 171, 174, 177,
195. 237
Arundell family, 82, 94, 172, 219
„ Margery, 55
Arwenack family, 127
Assheton family, 74, 75
Aubyn family, St. , 88
,, Mr. St., 128, 203
— Austell, St., 10, 13, 16, 17, 24, 31,
33. 35. 36, 37. 4°. 4i. 45. 48,
56-8
Awmarle, Thomas, 78
Baldhu, 247
Balsam, John, brass effigy of, 59
Balventon, 247
Barrett family, 166
Bassett family, 123
Beer stone, 81, 83, 125, 127
Bell Ringers' Rhymes, 49, 58,
97-8, 140, 143, 175, 241. 245
Bells, 48-9
Bench-ends, 6
Benches, oak, 37-41
Bennet family, 150-1
,, Priory, St., 139
Benson, Archbishop, 235
Bere, 12
,, family, 189, 240
Betterworth family, 177
Beville family, 221
Bewis family, 217
Bicton family, 215
Billing, William, 70
Bishops of Cornwall, 3
Blackfriars Bridge, 8
Blagge, Margaret, 68
Blanchminster, Sir Ralph de,
219
Blazey, St., 25, 59
Blight's Churches of West Corn-
wall, 208, 211, 240, 246
4-Blisland, 13, 15, 16, 25, 28, 30, 32,
36> 37. 42, 44. 47. 5*i 59-6°
Bluet famiiy, 81
Boconnoc, 15, 30, 36, 60-1, 191
■--"Bodmin, 11, 13, 16, 17, 22, 24, 29,
34. 36- 40. 43. 44. 48, 61-5
Bodmin Priory, 63, 70, 245
Boll^st family, 73
Bond and Camm's Roodscreens,
128
Borlase's The Age of the Saints, 2
Borlase, Dr., 164
Borlas, Walter, 215
Bosahan Chapel, 83, 84
Boscastle, 39
Boscawen family, 127, 180
Botus Fleming, 10, 15, 18, 43, 50,
65-6
Bovgins family, 122
Boy ton, St., 36, 66
249
250
INDEX
Bradock, 15, 16, 38, 66-7
Branscombe, Bishop, 3, 81, 90,
109, 131, 134, 169, 178
Brantinghani , Bishop, 85
Brasses, 42
Bray family, 127
Breage, St., 6, 15, 23, 37, 45, 67-8
Breoca, St., 116
Breock, St., n, 13, 15, 32, 42, 43,
44. 68-9
Breward, St., 8, 14, 15, 16, 28, 36,
37. 38. 39. 43. 44. 69-71
Brod, John, 181
Broke, Lord Willoughby de, 76
Bruere, Bishop, 85
Bude, 247
Budock, St., 15, 23, 35, 36, 40, 42,
46, 71-2, 103
Buller family, the, 182, 194
,, M. P., John, 158
Burrough, Nicholas, 70
~( Buryan, St., 2, 12, 23, 24, 25, 32,
3S.36.37.43.72-4. "9. I28> 166
Butterfield, Mr., 173
Caen stone, 10, 11, 12, 23, 29, 95,
165, 166, 167, 175, 180, 186,
192, 202, 236
Callington, 9, 10, 11, 21, 23, 26,
28, 32, 37, 42, 43, 74-6, 136
Calstock, 9, 45, 76-7
Calwodley family, 122
Camborne, 11, 15, 28, 29, 45, 49,
77
Carantoc, St., 84, 85, 86
Cardinham, 9, 40, 42, 45, 47, 49,
77-8
Cardinham, Robert de, 163
Carew family, 55
,, Sir John, 54
Carew's Survey of Cornwall, 113,
214
Carminow family, 122, 139, 171,
172, 175, 223
Carnmenellis, 247
Casowarth, John, 81
Catacleuse stone, 5, n, 13, 52,63,
68, 95, 97, 103, 104, 123, 135,
151, 166, 172, 175, 192, 197, 246
Cavell, John, 133
Cawsand, 247
Chace water, 247
Chamond, Sir John, 148
Champernowne family, 112
Champernowal, Sir John, 76
Chancel arches, 21
Charles I. letter, 45-7
Charlestown, 247
Chi-Rho monogram, 129, 199
Chiverton family, 205
Churchwarden Accounts, 58, 82,
189, 225
Churches, Modern, Appendix,
247-3
Civil War, the, 161, 164, 191
■^Cleer, St., 9, 10, 16, 24, 32, 37,
50. 78-9
Clement, St., 11, 15, 33, 48, 50, 80
Clerestory windows, 104
Clether, St., 9, 14, 16, 29, 48, 80-1
Clies, Ralph, 125, 126
,, family, 166
Clock-face, 58
Cody, John, 139
Coffin family, 180
Colan, St., 36, 42, 48, 81
Colgnite family, 211
Collins, Mr. Trelawny, 196
Colshill arms, 94
Columb Minor, St., n, 12, 13, 17,
24. 36. 47. 82-3
■fVColumb Major, St., 10, 11, 12, 15,
18, 24, 25, 28, 37, 40, 41, 42, 48,
81-2
Colyns, Thomas, 237
Conan, St., 11
Constantine, St., 7, 9, 30, 36, 42,
83-4. 175. 197
Coode family, 182
Corentin, St., 3
Cornelly, 33, 84
Cornishe, John, 243
Coryton family, 174
Cotton, William, 181
Courtney family, 57, 136, 140,
213, 238
Coverack, 247
Cox and Harvey's Church Fur-
niture, 162
Cox's Parish Registers, 147, 180
, , Sanctuaries and Sanctuary
Seekers, 74, 193
Crantock, St., 15, 16, 18, 30, 36,
37. 5*i 84-6. 217
INDEX
251
-^Creed, St., ix, 15, 18, 22, 24, 28,
29, 36, 44, 45, 48, 51, 86-8
Crosses, Early, 2, 14, 78
Crosses, early churchyard, 91 , 188,
199, 208, 2ii, 212, 219, 223, 230
Crosses, mediceval churchyard,
64, 76, 150, 173
Crowan, St., 9, 42, 88
Cruciform churches, 14-16
Cubert, St., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 27,
30, 88-9
Cuby, St., 15, 17, 30, 36, 89-90
Curteys, Tristram, 162
Cury, St., 3, 11, 15, 16, 17, 26,
28, 34, 67, 90, 135
-f- Davidstow, 36, 37, 38, 43, 44, 92
Dawney family, 158, 213
Decorated work, 18-19
Delabole, 231, 247
Delank quarries, 8
Dennis, St., 25, 48, 92
Denys family, 87
Devoran, 31, 247
Dobwalls, 247
-i Dominic, St., 18, 33, 36, 45, 92-3
Doors, 42
Downderry, 247
Doydon Head. 129
Duloe, 10, 15, 18, 25, 31, 36, 43, 93
Dunkin's Monumental Brasses of
Cornwall, 42
Dunkin's Bells, 48
Early English work, 17-18
East Anthony, 29, 33
Eden, F. C, 37, 60
Edgcumbe family, jj, 167
Edward VII., 235
Eglos Ros, 3
Egloshayle, 3, ii, 15, 22, 24, 29,
32, 44, 49, 95-6, 241
Egloskerry, 3, 12, 15, 16, 17, 29,
43. 96-7
Eliot family, 109
Endellion, St., 8, 11, 13, 32, 37,
97-8, 129, 151
Enoder, St., 11, 15, 36, 40, 98
Enodoe, St., 13, 15, 18, 25, 27, 36,
98-9
Erisey family, 118
Erme, St., 11 , 30, 42, 99
[ Erney, St., 19, 48, 100
j Erth, St., 19, 23, 45, 100
I Ervan, St., 18, 48, 100
! Eval, St., 15, 16, 27, 36, 37, 40,
101
j Ewe, St., 15, 16, 17, 26, 28, 35,
36, 44, 45, 102
j-tFalmouth, 102-3
All Saints, 247
Fan-tracery , 61
Farningham, 164
Feock, St., 11, 13, 15, 25, 47, 48,
103
Ferrars family, 171
Fleming, Stephen St., 65
,, Thomas, 167
Flushing, 247
Fonts, 12, 13, 17, 18
,, inscribed, 55, 135, 211, 233,
243
Font covers, 63, 93, 141, 143, 208
Forrabury, 12, 13, 15, 16, 24, 37,
103
Fowey, io, 13, 21, 24, 26, 30, 42,
45, 48, 103-5, 160
Foxe's Martyrs, 197, 218
Gennys, St., 10, 16, 31, 105, 126
Gentleman's Magazine, The, 14
German, St. Bishop, 106
-^-Germans, St., 12, 13, 16, 21, 24,
36, 105-15
Germoch, St., 116
Germoe's Chair, St., 116
Germoe, St., 9, 15, 16, 19, 67,
115-16
Gerrans, St., 15, 26, 1 16-17
Gerveys family, 84
Giles-in-the- Heath, St., 36
Glass, painted, 45, 132, 139, 145,
146, 189, 198, 202, 203, 223, 245
Gluvias, St., 42, 117
Godolphin, 247
,, family, 68, 166, 194
,, second Earl of, 122
Godwin, E. H., 50
Golant, 10, 30
Goran, St., 10, 15, 16, 24, 40, 42,
117
Grade, St., 12, 15, 17, 42, 48, 118
Grampound, 118
252
INDEX
Grandison, Bishop, no, 127, 158,
238
Granite, 6-10, 12, 55, 55, 65, 67,
69, 83, 119, 128, 164
Granville, John, 134
,, Sir Bevill, 134
Grenville family, 221
Grylls family, 142, 143
Gully family, 21 r
* Gulval, St., 13, 15, 29, 118-19
Gunnislake, 247
Gunwalloe, 19, 20, 23, 25, 33, 36,
48, 67, 119-20
Gwennap, St. , 25, 45, 120
Gwinear, St., 18, 25, 36, 38, 45,
120
Gwinedoc, St. , 98
Gwithian, St., 15, 29, 121
Halsetown, 247
Hamley family, 166
Hammond, Canon, 57
Harrowbarrow, 247
Haselle, Thomas, 236
Haslam, Mr., 196
Hawker, Stephen, 184
Hayle, 247
Hea, 247
Hele, George, 243
Helen's Chapel, St., 129
Helland, n, 15, 43, 49, 121-2
Helston, 9, 42, 49, 122
Hender family, 181
Herodsfoot, 18, 247
Hicks Mill Greys/one, 12, 74, 224
Hilary, St., 18, 26, 122
Hill family, 176, 241
Hody, Henry, too
Honey, Ralph, 235
Hood family, 211
Huxley, Professor, 1
Illogan, St., 9, 19, 42, 45, 123
Issey, St., 11, 15, 31, 123
Ive, St., 9, n, 15, 18, 26, 29, 30,
32. 34- 44. 47. 123-4
A Ives, St., 7, 9, n, 22, 24, 31, 34,
40, 42, 124-6
Jacobstow, 12, 13, 30, 31, 126
John, St., 16, 19, 48, 126
Juliot, St., 15, 23, 24, 36, 40,47,127
! Just-in-Penwith, St., 6, 10, 12, 19,
23, 34, 36, 45, 48, 127-9
•ff Just-in- Roseland, St. , 15, 18, 23,
25. 29, 33, 35, 42, 129-31, 170
K.EA, St., 17, 45, 48, 49, 131
Kelly family, 229
Kelynack, 128
Kemp family, 59
Kendall family, 141
,, William, 64, 163
Kendon family, 215
Kenwyn, 12, 48, 131
Kersanton stone, 5
Kestell family, 96
Keverne, St., 25, 26, 35, 38, 40,
45, 50, 131-2
Kew, St., 25, 30, 31, 32, 34, 36,
45. *32-3
Keyne, St., 16, 48, 133
Keyser's South Kensington List
of Mural and other Painted
Decorations , 44
Killigrew family, 72
,, John, 71
Killiow family, 181
Kilkhampton, 16, 31, 40, 41, 133-4
Kingsand, 247
Kingston, Sir Anthony, 126
Kinsman, Prebendary, 227
Kitsell, T. Roger, 142
Kynance, 12
Kyngdon family, 205
Lacy, Bishop, 74, in, 125
Ladock, St., 9, n, 12, 15, 36, 134
Lambourne, 196
Lamorran, 13, 15, 25, 135
Landewednack , 12, 15, 16, 19, 24,
26, 32, 48, 135-6
Landrake, 12, 13, 15, 16, 24, 25,
26, 42, 44, 136-7
Landulph, 22, 25, 36, 38, 40, 42,
45. 137-8
Laneast, 12, 14, 15, 22, 29, 33,
36, 38, 40, 50, 138-9
Langdon family, 170
Langdon's Early Christian
Monuments, 3, 89, 90, 129
Langdon's Old Cornish Crosses,
3, 91, 188, 199, 208, 211, 219
Langeford, Robert, 79
INDEX
253
Lanhydrock, 44, 47, 139
Lanivet, 2, 6, 11, 44, 139-40
Lan livery, 10, 15, 24, 33, 36, 42,
44. 45, 49. 140-1
Lan n art h, 247
-^-Lanreath, 10, 15, 28, 30, 36, 37,
43.44.45-47. 5°. 5«. J4i~4
Lansallos, 15, 32, 33, 40, 43, 48,
5°. 144
Lanteglos-by-Camelford, 15, 19,
25- 3i. 32. 33. 44. 144-5
Lanteglos-by-Fowey, 10, 16, 18,
19, 22, 25, 32, 40, 42, 47, 48,
129, 145-7
Launcells, 36, 38, 40, 147-8
7 - Launceston, St. Mary Magdalene,
9. 24, 30, 31, 49, 148-50
Launceston, St. Thomas, 30,
150
Lavethan Chapel, 59
— Lawhitton, 12, 13, 25, 30, 33, 40,
1 50-1
Leeds Town, 247
Lelant, n, 23, 44, 45, 125, 151
Lepers, 27
Leper hospital, 157
Lesnewth, 15, 16, 28, 152
iMter of Charles I. , 45
-i-Levan, St., 15, 18, 19, 36, 40,
152
Leveson-Gower, Rev. , 166
Lewannick, 10, 13, 17, 40, 152-4
Lezant, 16, 154
Linkinhorne, 6, 24, 28, 31, 45,
iS5
Liskeard, 16, 19, 24, 30, 155-7
Little Petherick, n, 37, 43, 48,
197
Looe, East, 157-8
West, 18, 158, 169
■ Lostwithiel, 10, 13, 18, 19, 21, 25,
26, 42, 49, 50, 104, 158-63
Loves, Leonard, 222
Loveybond, John, 95
Lower family, 137-8
Low-side windows, 26-8
Lucombe family, 166
Luddra, Robert, 184
Ludgvan, 13, 31, 44, 163-4
Ludgvan granite, 211
Luxulyan, 9, 13, 17, 23, 25, 32,
164-5
Mabe, St., 12, 23, 31, 165
f^Mabyn, St., 10, 11, 24, 31, 32,
44. 5°. l65"6
Maddern, John, 167
,'Madron, St., 12, 15, 19, 23, 29,
36, 40, 42, 44, 166-7
Maiowe, Philip, 170
Maker, 12, 17, 50, 167, 175
Manaccan, 15, 16, 18, 31, 167-8
Manaton family, 215
Marazion, 168
Marham, 15
Marhamchuich, 30, 42, 168-9
Marrifield, 247
Martin-by-Looe, St., 15, 16, 25,
36, 169-70
Martin-in-Meneage, St., 170
Martin of Tours, St., 3
Mawes, St., 170
Mawgan-in-Meneage, St., n, 15,
26, 27, 43, 170-1
Mawgan-in-Pyder, St., ir, 15, 24,
3°r32. 35. 36- 40. 42. 48, 171-3.
216
Mawnan, St., 19, 36, 46, 47, 173
Medhope, Stephen, 170
Mediceval Hospitals of England,
28
Mellion, St., 15, 30, 32, 42, 43,
173-4.
Menheniot, 12, 18, 26, 29,31, 32,
33. 42. 45. I74-S
Merry meet, 247
Merryn, St., 11, 13, 15, 36, 43, 47,
50, 167, 175-6. x92
Merther, 11, 31, 48, 176
,, Laurence, 192
■■^-Mevagissey, 10, 15, 47, 176
Mewan, St., 11, 16, 176-7
Michael Caerhays, St., 16, 48, 177
Michael's Chair, St., 178
„ Mount, St., 48, 177-8,
234
Michael Penkevil, St., 18, 24, 29,
42, 178-80
Michael's Rock, St., see Port-
hilly
Michaelstow, 10, 11, 18, 38, 40,
44, 48, 180-1
Millbrook, 247
Mills family, 154
Minster, 13, 42, 43, 181
254
INDEX
Minver, St., 10, i8, 22, 26, 31, 33,
36, 39, 40, 42, 44, 45, 47, 50, 98,
18 1-2, 201
Mithian, 247
Mohun family, 60, 146
Molesworth family, 96
Monumental remains, 43
Morvah, St., 182
Morval, 16, 18, 19, 42, 182
Morwenstow, 16, 31, 36, 40, 45,
182-4
Mounthawke, 247
Mullion, St., 12, 23, 32, 34, 36,
38, 40, 42, 184-6
Murray, Rev. J. W., 187
Mylor, St., 12, 16, 23, 25, 29, 30,
36- 43- 45. 47. 48- T3°. t8°-8
Nanpean, 247
Nanstallan, 247
Neot, St., 19, 24, 34, 37, 42, 44,
45, 188-9
New lyn-by- Penzance, 247
Newlyn, East, 36
St., 16, 17, 24, 29, 35,
40, 44, 47, 189-90
Newquay, St. Michael, 247
,, St. Peter, 247
Nicoll family, 237
Nighton, St. , 8, 33, 190-1
Norman work, 16-17
North Hill, 9, 24, 44, 190
Ogam inscriptions, 153
Opy, Roger, 182
Otterham, 16, 31, 48, 191
Padstow, 11, 12, 13, 18, 19, 22,
30, 32, 34, 38, 42, 50, 175, 192
Paintings, panel, 53
Paleologus, Theodore, 137
Par, 247
Parker, Sir Nicholas, 72
Parochial History of Cornwall,
216
Parsons, Rev. G. M., 86
Paul, St., 9, 11, 25, 193-4
Pawley, Stephen, 151
Pearse family, 92
Pearson, R.A., Mr., 235
+ Pelynt, 16, 31, 42, 44, 194
Pencoys, 247
Pendarves family, 77, 84
Pendeen, 247
Penhalluryk, Warine, 241
Penheale, 97
Petulant stone, 125
Penpounds, 247
Pentewan, 247
,, South, 13
Penteivan stone, 10, 13, 57, 94,
104, 117, 129, 132, 139, 146, 150,
160, 172, 176, 177, 180, 188, 200,
208, 210, 224
Pentreath, Dolly, 194
I Penwerris, 247
I Penzance, 48
St. John Baptist, 247
[1 ,, St. Mary, 247
St. Paul, 247
Perpendicular work, 19-23
Perranporth, 247
Perran-Arworthal , St., 17,31,48,
i 195
■ Perran-Uthnoe, St., 12, 16, 31,
i *95
: Perran-Zabuloe, St., 40, 45, 195-7
j Peter, D. B. , 88
,, Thurstan,74, 127, 165, 182,
187, 234
Petherwin, South, 10, 13, 16, 29,
30, 36, 47, 197-8
Petit family, 127
Peyne, John, 126
Phillack, 2, 29, 30, 36, 129, 198-9
Philleigh, 16, 18, 45, 199
Phippen, Owen, 236
Piers, granite, 10, 21-2
Pillaton, 9, 13, 16, 19, 26, 32, 33,
47. 5°. 199-200
Pincerna family, 132
Finnock, St., io, 16, 200
Piscina, 29
Plate, church, 30-31
Plympton Priory, 56
Pole-Carew, Rev. Gerald, 212
Polgoner, Prior, no
Polperro, 247
Polruan, 247
Pohvhele's History of Cornwall, 88
Polyphant, 13
Polyphant stone, 10, 13, 59, 71, 75,
79. 105, 150, 153, 198, 218, 235,
240
INDEX
255
Ponsanooth, 247
Porches, 23-4
Port Eliot pew, the, 114
Porthilly, 16, 36, 44, 180, 200-2
Porthlevan, 248
Porthpean, 248
Poughill, 12, 16, 19, 32, 40, 45,
47, 202
Poundstock, 6, 16, 29, 36, 40, 45,
203
Praed family, 151
Precheur, John, no
Prideaux, Sir Nicholas, 193
Prideaux-Brune family, 69
-f-Probus, St., 9, II, 24, 29, 36, 40,
42, 45, 50, 203-4
Prothus church, St., 59
Prout, Margaret, 217
Pulpits, 29-30
Purbeck stone , 12, 17, 53, too, 114,
136, 145, 180, 197, 208, 234, 238
QUETHIOCK, 16, 19, 26, 42, 50,
204-5
Rame, i6, 17, 18, 19, 26, 29, 48,
205-7
Rashleigh family, 105
Redruth, 207, 248
Reliquary, 41, 48, 131, 148, 151,
152, 153, 169, 186
Reskymer family, 171, 237
Reynolds family, 59
Robarts family, 236
Roborough stone, 174
-; Roche, 9, 16, 17, 24, 207-8
Rogers family, 70
Roma?i work, 16-17
Romilly Allen's Early Christian
Symbolism, 129
Roofs, 31-4
Rous family, 93
Royal Arms, 47-8
Ruan-Lanyhorne, n, 16, 30, 42,
43, 208
Ruan Major, St., 12, 18, 36, 51,
208-9
Ruan Minor, St. , 12, 209
Rysbraeck, sculptor, 109
Saints of Cornwall, 2
Saltash, 16, 19, 25, 209-10
Sampson, St., 30, 48. 210-n
Sancreed, 13, 16, 19, 31, 34, 36,
211
Sawle, William, 245
Saxon work, 14-16
Scott, Sir Gilbert, 59, 134
Screens, chancel, 34-37
Seamon, Robert, 207
Sedding's Norman Architecture
in Cornwall, 17, 53, 78, 80, 81,
82, 84, 86, 103, 135, 145, 154,
183, 216, 225, 227, 243
Sedding, E. H. , 17, 19, 37
Sedilia, stone, 29
■+Sennen, St., 16, 45, 211-12
Serpentine Cliffs, the, 12
Sewrah Mills, 219
Sheviock, 12, 16, 18, 23, 26, 29, 34,
35. 37. 40, 50. 212-14
Sithney, St. , 16, 23, 34, 42, 45, 214
Snell, Thomas, 154
Some Popular Archaeological
Errors and Fictions, 27
■''South Hill, 16, 17, 43, 74, 129, 215
,, Petherwin, 10, 13, 16, 29,
30, 36, 47, 197-8
Speccott family, 97
Spires, 26
Spry family, 56
Squint passages, 26, 27, 28
Stannary Records, the, 164
Stapledon, Bishop, 101
Stephen, St., 13
Stephen-in-Brannel, St., n , 16,
17, 30, 215-16
Stephen-by-Launceston, St. , 9, io,
14, 16, 17, 24, 36, 42, 44, 156,
216-17
-V-Stephen-by-Saltash, St., 25, 34,
36, 42, 43, 45, 50, 217-18
Stephen stone, St. , 10, 13, 59, 87,
98, 122, 140, 165, 172, 176, 197,
242, 243
Steven family, yj
Stocks, 49-50
i-Stoke Climsland, 10, n, 48, 218
Stone family, 182
Stratton, 10, 25, 30, 40, 42, 43, 49,
218-19
Street, G. E., 88, 134, 160, 178,
179, 203
Stythians, St. , 9, 19, 30, 46, 219-20
2$6
INDEX
+ Talland, 16, i8, 25, 36, 40, 44,
50, 220-1
Tamerton, North, 25, 31, 40, 42,
221-2
Tamorze, Sir Nicholas, no
Tartan Down, 13
Teath, St., 13, 16, 19, 30, 32, 37,
38, 40, 42, 43, 44, 222-3, 229
Tehidy Park, 233
Temple, 3, 16, 31, 224
Thomas- by- Launceston, St., 12,
17, 42, 44, 45, 224-5
Tideford, 248
Tintagel, 14, 16, 18, 29, 36, 39, 42,
225-9
Tintagel greenstone, 13, 66, 105,
126, 234
Tirrell family, 102
Torpoint, 248
Towednack, 3,9, 10, 21, 29, 31,
48, 229-30
Toivers, 24-26
,, granite, 9
Trecarrel, Sir Henry, 9, 148, 155,
215
Tredeneck family, 69
Treffry family, 105
Trefusis family, 154
Tregony, 230
Trejago, Sir John de, 178
Trelawny family, 194
Treleigh, 248
Tremaine, 48, 230-2
Tremayne family, 198
Trencreek family, 100
Trendenham family, 102
Treneglos, 16, 17, 34. 232
Trenowyth, John, 180
Trenwith aisle, 125, 126
Tresillian, 176, 248
Treslothan, 19, 233-4, 248
Tresmere, 17. 48, 234
Trevalga, 16, 18, 31, 48, 234
Trevanion, Sir Hugh, 177
Treverbyn, 36, 248
Trevill family, 207
Trewen, 48, 234-5
Trewythnnyk, Roger, 215
Trythall, 248
-I Truro, 12, 30, 42, 43, 45, 49. 235-°
Truro, St. Andrew, 248
St. George, 248
,, St. John, 248
,, St. Paul, 29, 248
Tuckingmill, 248
Tudy, St., 2, 13, 16, 32, 44, 236-7
Tympana, 16-17
Tywardreath, 16, 29, 36, 40, 237
Upton Cross, 248
Veep, St., 19, 29, 34, 47, 238
Ventergan, 13
Veryan, 16, 25, 36, 45, 238-9
Victoria County History of Corn-
wall, 3, 17, 89, 90, 153, 199
Vincent family, 190
Vyvyan family, 171
,, Thomas, 63, 64, 245
Wadebridge, 95
Wadgworthy, 210
Wall-paintings, 6, 44-5, 53, 67,
80, 128, 140, 155, 164, 221, 241
Warbstow, 12, 13, 239
Ward's Architecture of the Re-
naissance in France, 5
Warelwast, Bishop, 224
Warleggan, 47, 239-40
Warren family, 207
Webber familv, 133
Week St. Mary, 9, 25, 36, 47, 240
Wendron, St., 3, 16, 19, 23, 29,
31, 42, 240-1
Wenn, St., 17, 242
Wesley, John, 234
West Looe. 18, i;8
Whitley, H. Michell, 227
Whitstone, 37, 44, 242-3
Willoughby family, 76
Wills family, 136
Windows, granite, 22
Winnow, St., 10, 16, 30, 31, 34,
36, 37, 40, 45. 5i. I9°. 243-5
Withiel, 245
Wrey family, 124
Wulvedon family, 204
Zelah, 248
Zennor, n, 15, 16, 19, 22, 38, 40,
48, 246
Printed by Ballantvne, Hanson & Co.
Edinburgh dr" London
toy
THE LIBRARY
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA
Santa Barbara
THIS BOOK IS DUE ON THE LAST DAI
STAMPED BELOW.
WRC. AFTER JUL 20 19
.
3 1205 00579 6378
UC SOUTHERN REGIONAL LIBRARY FACILITY
A 000 647 719 4